We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic motel.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El Rancho Dolores Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added El Rancho Dolores Motel to your Saves list
El Rancho Dolores Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   73352 Twentynine Palms Hwy., Twentynine Palms, CA 92277   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
TRIPADVISOR SPECIAL!
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Twentynine Palms
Fife
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very basic motel.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Basic, clean, cheap. Friendly front desk. Bed was a bit hard with springs uncomfortable. This might be improved with a mattress topper. Parking outside room as usual. Close to Joshua Tree National Park so very handy. couple of restaurants and bars within walking distance. Not much else to say really.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elrancho29palm, Webmaster at El Rancho Dolores Motel, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your kind comments about our value-priced hotel offering clean rooms and a great customer experience as well as an enviable location. I apologize if the bed didn’t meet your expectations, but I’m pleased that you didn’t allow this to detract too much from your stay. We’ve made changes and improvements since your stay and look forward to showing you next time you’re in the area how we’re better than ever before.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    6
    11
    7
    4
See reviews for
7
16
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Billings, Montana
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Plus: we got a nice big family room for a cheap rate. The grounds were well kept. It was quiet and the bed was comfortable. No bugs.

Negative: ugh! To start with, we were not told it was a smoking room and we were just too tired to deal with it by the time we discovered this fact. The kitchenette door was locked and we mistakenly thought it would still have a microwave and fridge - wrong! Worse, it was not clean. Carpets were dirty near furniture, fan had not been moved to vac. There was even a bottle cap at the edge of the tv stand!.

Towels are grey and thin. No hangers in the scary looking, unusable closet. A broken towel rack was thrown in the top of the closet.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elrancho29palm, Webmaster at El Rancho Dolores Motel, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your kind comments about our large rooms and great rates and comfortable beds. We’re also pleased that you enjoyed our well-tended grounds and quiet location. I apologize that you came at a time when we weren’t at our best, however. We’ve changed and improved in many ways since your stay, the issues you experienced have been corrected. I hope you’ll be staying with us again soon to see how we’re better than ever before.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Since we planned to spend most of our time in Joshua Tree National Park, we were interested only in having a reasonably priced, clean place to sleep and shower. El Rancho fit the bill. My boyfriend had stayed here twice in the previous year and had no complaints. We stayed two nights in a room with a king-sized bed, small refrigerator and microwave (no coffeemaker, no hairdryer). The room was clean and incredibly quiet. I never heard a sound from the occupied rooms on either side of ours - a rarity when it comes to inexpensive hotels, especially the large chains. Great deal for budget travelers who just need a clean, quiet place to stay while enjoying the desert.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
1,151 helpful votes 1,151 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

we stayed in this motel only 1 night. we arrived in late evening in Twentynine Palms looking for a room and we found it in this motel. The price was fine (64$). I was a little scared reading the rewies but we were too much tired to look for another motel ! in any case, at the end we're pleasantly surprised: the room was basic but clean and, above all, there were no cockroachs !! :o)

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Stayed here for one night in September 2012 as we were travelling from Los Angeles to the grand canyon. Thought it looked ok. What a dive. The room was small and the bathroom was tiny. Anyone with weight issues would not have been able to use the bathroom. The aircon struggled to cool the room. The worst thing was no hot water. When I asked at reception I was told it would be ok in the morning. Guess what, it wasn't. Very basic facilities. Would not recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elrancho29palm, Webmaster at El Rancho Dolores Motel, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for commenting. I’m sorry that you visited at a time when we were experiencing some maintenance issues. Fortunately, the issues you mentioned have been addressed in recent changes and improvements. I hope you’ll visit again soon and see how we’re now better than ever. You’ll be glad you did.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gdansk, Poland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

We were looking for something reasonable in 29 Palms and we were lucky to have found this nice motel. The price was average for a motel room, but better than in other motels in this town, probably due to the fact that it is so close to Joshua Tree NP . The room was clean, we had a working microwave and a fridge, the bed was comfy and large, sheets clean. Shower was hot and had ok pressure and they provided a little bar of soap and some shampoo. The wi-fi worked very well and was fast, we could park the car just outside of the room. It was a very hot day and we decided to take a dip in the pool. It's a very nice, well kept pool under the palmtrees and it is open all night long so we went there at 11 pm and had the whole place to ourselves! There are lights there so the time of the day was not a problem. It was great. The young man who checked us in was helpful and gave us some tips about where to go out and buy groceries and get cheap gas. The aircon was a bit loud but this is the only thing that could have been better. All in all, I recommend this place, it's a great, budget friendly choice in Twentynine Palms.
It also seems that the independent movie "Twenytinine Palms" used this motel as one of the filming locations. I am 99% sure.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

Our one night stay was clean and comfortable and we were happy with the price. We didn't expect frills and there were none. They did provide shampoo and soap. The front desk was helpful and although we didn't swim, the pool looked inviting. Parking was available directly in front of our room - which was a plus with a car load of camping equipment. Located close to Josha Tree NP.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Rancho Dolores Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rancho Dolores Motel

Address: 73352 Twentynine Palms Hwy., Twentynine Palms, CA 92277
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Twentynine Palms
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Twentynine Palms
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — El Rancho Dolores Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A long established 29 palms Motel in this area, the El Rancho Dolores has played host to travellers and tourists alike from all over the world since 1940. Many types of room are available, from small singles to larger suites with kitchenettes. Several rooms have their own drive-in car ports and private patios. Landscaped gardens and manicured lawns are also a feature of our motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your El Rancho Dolores Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rancho Dolores Hotel Twentynine Palms

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Rancho Dolores Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.