We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 29 Palms Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel 29 Palms Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Hotel 29 Palms Inn & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   71809 Twentynine Palms Hwy, Twentynine Palms, CA 92277 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Twentynine Palms/Joshua Tree)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Twentynine Palms
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Diego, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“OK stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I had expected a better place from the other reviews. The receptionist was nice, it was clean, and the breakfast was better than expected. However, I was not able to sleep. The air conditioning fan was so so loud that it woke me up every time it came on during the night. The bed and pillows were not comfortable either - way too hard.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    78
    23
    2
    2
See reviews for
43
82
13
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, AZ
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I stayed 2 nights while spending quality time at Joshua Tree Nat'l Park. I had good access to both the northern and western entrances as well as more the isolated 49 Palms trail and Indian Cove campgrounds. I was upgraded to a room with a couch. The bed was comfortable and the pillows were pretty good. The room was very clean and overlooked the pool. Staff was very helpful. Breakfast was satisfactory. On Wed night, a taco dinner was provided free. I think Twentynine Palms is an easier town to stay in than Yucca Valley.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wappingers Falls, New York
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Location :
On the main thoroughfare (CA 64),which runs parallel to the northern border of Joshua Tree National Park, not far from it.
Since the building is perpendicular to the road only a couple of rooms, or so, face the road. The rest are either facing the inner yard or the side. I had a room which faced the inner yard and there was no noise.

Building :
An older building, but kept up very well. Nothing faded or worn, everything looks
spotless and fairly new.

Service :
The front desk personnel always responded with a smile and good attitude.

Rooms :
I had a room with one king size bed.
The room was large, the bathroom was simply spacious.
Nicely furnished. Decent looking and comfortable bed. Good size table.
Large flat screen TV. Microwave. Refrigerator (larger than generally found in a hotel room). Bench on which you can put your suitcase. Iron & board.
Coffee maker w/supplies (located in the bathroom).
Heating/cooling is supplied by a unit located under the window. Gives the usual hushing sound when working.
Free Wi-Fi works well.

Breakfast :
Large cheerful room.
All the usuals, such as bagels and English muffins, cream cheese, some pastries,
cereals, yoghurt, juices, waffle maker, etc., etc.
In addition, "hot breakfast" items, such as breakfast sausage patties, biscuits w/sauce, omelets. The omelets were likely made from prepared frozen ones,
but they were fairly tasty. I had some both mornings.
Coffee, tea, hot chocolate, which are also available all day long.
Also all day long there is a large bowl full of apples in the breakfast room.
In the afternoon cookies at the check-in counter.

Special tip :
Right next door, very easy walk-over, is a Stater Brothers supermarket. Go near the road and turn left.
Nice selection and good prices.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This hotel is in close proximity to the entrance of Joshua Tree National Park.
Within a short walk is a large supermarket and some eating places.
The hotel itself is very friendly,welcoming,clean and offers a hearty warm breakfast.
Fruit and cookies are readily available and free.
The outdoor pool and hot tub are a joy to come back to after a day out walking and exploring.
We could not speak more highly of this establishment.
Our six nights there were truly outstanding and it made for a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

When I called this hotel it was by mistake . But I was so impressed by the lady who was at the front desk I decided to stay there. She was so helpful she gave me the number to the holiday inn down the street $150.00 per night btw. I called back and booked the room,89.00 for a larger room . The staff has it down Service, Service,service. The let us have late check out, served cookies, and offer breakfast. Don't be fooled just because its not a national chain it's still good.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We had a very nice 4 night stay at this hotel. It was very clean, the beds and pillows were comfortable, and it was very quiet-we couldn't tell that there were people in the room next to ours. We had a nice view of the mountains and pool area. The jacuzzi and pool were clean and we, as did many other guests, took advantage of using them. The workout room leaves a bit to be desired. The staff was very nice and helpful--we will happilty stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We usually seek hotels for a comfortable place to sleep and a hot shower in a clean environment, at a reasonable price, nothing fancy. At Hotel 29 Palms, however, we found more and felt like it was a mini-vacation to celebrate New Year's eve and rock climbing at Joshua Tree. The room was larger than expected and well lit. In the evening, in the hot tub, we met people interested in having a conversation, and the pool was well heated. We liked the breakfast buffet, and we enjoyed sharing a table with a couple traveling with a busload of Chinese tourists. The staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel 29 Palms Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 29 Palms Inn & Suites

Address: 71809 Twentynine Palms Hwy, Twentynine Palms, CA 92277 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Twentynine Palms/Joshua Tree)
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Twentynine Palms
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Twentynine Palms
#6 Family Hotel in Twentynine Palms
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 29 Palms Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel 29 Palms Twentynine Palms/Joshua Tree is a two story FEMA approved safe interior corridor hotel. All the rooms and common areas have smoke detectors, sprinklers and fire alarms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Choice Hotels, BookIt.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel 29 Palms Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 29 Palms Inn And Suites
Hotel 29 Palms Twentynine Palms
Holiday Inn Twentynine Palms
Holiday Inn Express Twentynine Palms
Twentynine Palms Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel 29 Palms Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.