We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant in 29 Palms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 29 Palms Inn

29 Palms Inn
73950 Inn Avenue, Twentynine Palms, CA 92277
+1 760-367-3505
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $45
Cuisines: Seafood, Healthy, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Our relaxed, art-filled restaurant serves up exceptional meals featuring fresh seafood, steaks and prime rib, pastas, salads and delicious vegetarian dishes. All breads, dressings, soups and desserts are house made. When available we harvest seasonal fruits and vegetables from our garden and incorporate them in our dishes. We offer poolside dining, a full bar featuring wines and beer from the west coast and creative seasonal cocktails inspired by garden fresh ingredients. Enjoy live acoustic music every night of the week starting at 6:30pm.
Los Altos, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in 29 Palms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We ended up here by accident while trying to kill some time and happy the person at the visitor center recommended it. A cute hotel and garden in a small oasis. The restaurant is not fancy but serves fresh food, including organic produce grown in their garden. I had the cassoulet which was well seasoned. My son's salmon was surprisingly good as well. And it was positively cheap compared.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    70
    22
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Busy place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

It was lunchtime so hubby had the "Grunt Burger" and I ordered the "Lite Side Combo" consisting of homemade tomato soup, salad (from their own garden) and a turkey sandwich. Generous, tasty portions.

Also stopped there on two different evenings for cocktails and appetizer. We had their homemade pizza both times - each was different and scrumptious. Nice atmosphere. Live music was pleasant, sorta jazzy - made me want to dance.

The busiest time is between 6-8 p.m. Make a reservation!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pa
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Good place, but not special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

After a bit of a wait in a Sunday night, we finally got seated next to the kitchen door, so we were in a high traffic zone. Service was good and the wait staff was able to attend to all of our needs. The food was OK, but nothing special. The chicken marsala was tasty, but swimming in a slightly too fatty sauce, as if the bed of linguini had not actually been drained before serving. The cassoulet was more like a bean soup than a stew. I got the sense that the chef has his/her own take on dishes and you have to throw out your expectations based on experience. Good atmosphere- relaxed with live music from local musicians.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

A recommendation from our hotel and so pleased we followed it up. Very good food and very fresh, great service and an excellent atmosphere. We sat indoors, but there was live music by the pool for the outdoor seating. We had reserved fortunately, as it is very popular - justfiably so. We didn't feel rushed over our meal. We will certainly return here on our next visit. Should be first on the list!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, WA
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Great, for the locale”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We stopped in between lunch and dinner service and asked about the best to arrive for dinner. Between 5-6 was suggested because it was St. Patrick's Day. When we arrived at 5:30, we got one of two remaining tables, so the advice was spot on. Entrees include salad (made with fresh greens and local garden radishes) and starch choice, which includes a baked yam. Steaks were very good, although the ribeye seemed fattier than usual. Crème brulee desert was not special. Singer/guitarist was average. For the locale, however, this place was great.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 29 Palms Inn also viewed

Twentynine Palms, California Desert
Twentynine Palms, California Desert
 
Twentynine Palms, California Desert
Twentynine Palms, California Desert
 

Been to 29 Palms Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 29 Palms Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.