We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Eat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 29 Palms Inn

29 Palms Inn
73950 Inn Avenue, Twentynine Palms, CA 92277
(760) 367-3505
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Place to Eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Great food, friendly staff. Sit by the pool, misters will keep you cool and comfortable.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    64
    51
    19
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sausalito, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Back in Time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Having grown up in So Cal in the 60's, I thought I'd been transported back in time when we saw this place. Fifty's architecture right down to the vintage pool with pink coping and concrete deck, unpaved sandy parking area under palm trees just like the funky desert and beach places my parents always seemed to find when we were kids.... All that was missing were the '55 Chevy and Pontiac convertibles - somehow a shiny new XJ Jag out front just didn't fit in.
Food was above average but at least it wasn't fresh from the microwave like nearly every other place in 29 Palms, but then, who comes to 29 Palms to eat in the first place? Rib Eye was thinner than I like, but the fries were crispy and the salad ample (Thousand Island standard; Blue Cheese if you want to go gourmet). Wine list better than expected and the only concession to 2012 that was welcome: waitress even offered my wife tastes of their 3 non-Chard whites. Nice. Service was otherwise leisurely, but who's in a hurry when it's 95 degrees at 8 PM and there's absolutely nothing to do in 29 Palms but to return to your motel room and read? All in all, if we ever come back this way (Joshua Tree NM is beautiful) I hope this place hasn't changed.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“nice place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

its a cute oasis in the desert, small pool area the restaurant is pretty small too inside but in the cooler month you can sit outside by the pool. The food is ok, not out of the ordinary except the prices which are fairly steep for 29 Palms

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

29 Palms Inn is a wellknown place in the area. Diner was very good - they have an excellent cook and our waitress was very friendly and quick.
What we didn`t like was that we couldn`t find the entrance (mechanism) in the dark (there was no hint). We were not guests of the inn, so perhaps thats why the owner didn`t come to our table (as he did with the other guests in the small restaurant). This made us feel a bit like not the same way appreciated...

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twentynine Palms, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“By far our favourite place to hang out in the desert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

We LOVE 29 Palms Inn!
We are yet to have a meal there but have been for breakfast-amazing a great value, and regulary stop for coffee when we are looking for somewhere to just "hang out".
Unfortunely we can't use the pool, a bit of a tease on a hot day, but everything else makes up for it.
The staff are awesome and the quality of food is beyond expectations. Try their very yummy carrot cake...Mmmm

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 29 Palms Inn also viewed

Twentynine Palms, California Desert
Twentynine Palms, California Desert
 
Twentynine Palms, California Desert
Twentynine Palms, California Desert
 

Been to 29 Palms Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 29 Palms Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.