We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in wonderful location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Point de Vue

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Le Point de Vue to your Saves list
Hotel Le Point de Vue
Rue du Fort 6 | Chiny-sur-Semois, Florenvill 6810, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Florenvill
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in wonderful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

I cannot praise this hotel enough. The setting is idyllic and peaceful, the design of the bedrooms and public spaces is subtly inspired and tasteful - it has the welcoming feel of a country house hotel. But what makes it so good is the personal element provided by mine hosts, the three Dutch musketeers - Stephan and Richard as front of house are genuinely warm, amusing and considerate hosts, while Eddy in the kitchen presents imaginative and tasty dishes. We awoke (and went to bed) to a peaceful view of the river and forest with not a house or car in sight! We walked directly from the hotel by the river and through the forest in total peace, and returned for a nice beer or two in the garden. We don't often say we will return, but this is one definite exception!!

Room Tip: All are delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
26
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

This place was great. We stayed in the area because we wanted to do the orval tour and we had been in Bastogne earlier in the day. This place had a great view and great 4 course dinner/ halfboard. Definitely recommend. Mike and Jess

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bornem, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

This hotel features a superb view of the semois. The 3 dutch hosts were very friendly (and witty) and hospitable. This hotel was perfectly situated for our visit to the festival of chassepierre but the location is also perfect for kayaking and hiking. The food was excellent as well. We will be visiting again!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steenokkerzeel, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights during our recent motorbike tour to the Ardennes.
Stunning view over the Semois meander...
Stunning food, prepared by host Eddy, with a lot of originality and taste...
The room did not have a TV, but who needs TV if you have such surroundings??
We're definitely coming back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

What a wonderful place. The view is truly amazing, in the midst of the Ardannes, and by the Semois River. First, you are made to feel very welcome by Stephen and Richard (Eddy, the third owner we didn't see much, but his meals were outstanding). The spot is idyllic. There is a lot of space for mingling or just being comfortable--comfy chairs, warm setting, and always the hosts. Both the common areas and the rooms have been designed with comfort in mind but also very chic. Loved the bedroom and bathroom. No TV, but I believe in this setting that was a plus (and there is a TV in the lounge downstairs). We had a gourmet meal each night we were there and they were wonderful, with local products and locally hunted game. I would love to go back to the area and stay there again. My only regret is that because we were taking in the sights in the area, we didn't have one day to just sit around, explore and enjoy.

Room Tip: each room is individually designed. Very lovely, and the beds are super comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

From the moment we arrived at Hotel le Point de Vue we were made very welcome and instantly relaxed after a longish drive from the channel tunnel. The bedrooms are individually styled, spotlessly clean, with modern charming bathrooms. The garden looking down at the meandering river and the forest is full of tables and loungers, which invite you to sit and order a local Belgian beer and either read a book, or just sit and enjoy the view.

Dinner is a quite formal affair with adventurous cuisine using local ingredients presented with panache. The interior of the hotel is full of cosy areas to read or chat. Here the owners have invested in a really interesting collection of designer chairs, which mix very effectively with classics.

All in all a really good place to spend a few days, made special by the three enthusiastic owners.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

This B&B benefits from a terrific location on top of a hill overlooking the Semois river - a very picturesque spot.

We received one of the friendliest welcomes that we've had at any hotel or B&B. The owners went out of their way to be helpful in planning our stay in the region and even adjusted their evening menu slightly to accommodate my wife being pregnant.

Very impressive and would certainly stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Point de Vue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Point de Vue

Address: Rue du Fort 6 | Chiny-sur-Semois, Florenvill 6810, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Wallonia > The Ardennes > Luxembourg Province > Florenvill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Florenvill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Le Point de Vue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Point De Vue Belgium/Florenvill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Point de Vue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.