We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Belated Babenbergerhof Review” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Babenbergerhof

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Modling
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Babenbergerhof
Save
You added Hotel Babenbergerhof to your Saves list
Babenbergergasse 6, Modling 2340, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Modling
Chepstow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Belated Babenbergerhof Review”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I stayed here regularly while working in the area a number of years ago (probably late '90's early 2000's - not Dec 2011 - clearly Trip Advisor don't expect reviews this far back!). Excellent service from enthusiastic and friendly staff, including the most attentive head Barman from Runcorn! Loved the walks out the door and 200 yards round the block into the Vienna Woods and also the Christmas Markets. Moedling is a lovely thriving Market town with something for everybody. V Good train access to Central Vienna.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    25
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
7
4
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

The hotel is clean, in a good position (1/2 hour far from Wien), the rooms are big & confortable & Modling is a small but very nice town!during my stay (end of November) there was a nice Xmas atmosphere in town with a lot of tipicall market-houses in various squares. Excellent breakfast & good connection quality/price!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

I have stayed here many times and always enjoyed my stays. My last one, just last week was no exception. The recent room renovation has really spruced the place up. The staff are always very friendly and ready to chat or make food or drink recommendations, I've never been disappointed with the recommendations, the often have seasonal specials of wine and foods. the last few weeks have been the wild autumn harvest and I had the venison. The meal was sublime, a venison filet in a sauce that defies description with the best red cabbage I've ever had and well seasoned roast potatoes. The best ingredients, simple cooked, amazing results. Most of the wines they have are from within 10 or 20 miles, the selection is red and white of a good selection of grapes. I think Austria is keeping these wines a secret as they want to keep it to themselves. I will no doubt be going back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hongkong
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

That's a small nice hotel 30 minutes outside from Vienna. Mödling is a small town near the countryside. 5 Minutes away you will find the biggest shopping Mall in Austria the SCS.
It's a historic hotel with new renovated rooms. Nice and stylish.
The breakfast is good. The people are very friendly.
You also can get your lunch and diner at the hotel, they have their own restaurant.
Very good original austrian food.
They have a little sauna, but I did not see it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2009

We were pleasantly surprised by this town and the Babenbergerhof. Less than an hour by train to Vienna, it was a great base for touring this part of the country, yet it had a lot to offer right on the doorstep. A good variety of restaurants and shops kept our interest and the hotel bar and restaurant were good places to unwind at the end of the day.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2009

I really enjoy visiting Modling - it has a charming holiday feeling to it. The Babenbergerhof is very well located right next to the restaurants and bars, and there are some good woodland hilly walks to work up an appetite for that Austrian food.

The rooms are a little small, and perhaps need refurbishment (although I understand the rooms in the refurbished wing are really nice). The bar and restaurant are very good.

Compared to some hotels in Gumpoldskirchen 4 miles down the road, I give it 3 stars for the rooms and value, however I would recommend it if being near the bars and restaurants was important.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2007

This place I would recommend to anyone. Reasonably priced with a nice easy going atmosphere. I had single which was small and already populated by an extremely large teddy bear, but it was all i needed. The hotel had building work next door and as a result they had given all guests a small wooden hammer. Although the instructions were in German, the girl behind the bar prompted me for it on ordering my first beer. A free beer a day as compensation for the workmen starting about 7am. Where else have you ever heard of this? Great friendly hotel bar, my only complaint they sell Jagermeister in small miniatures which they ran out of. Probably a good thing as my hangover was huge. Great breakfast buffet, and friendly efficient staff. A good base in a nice town and a easy commute into Vienna.

  • Liked — Sexy staff
  • Disliked — Teddy Bear
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Babenbergerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Babenbergerhof

Address: Babenbergergasse 6, Modling 2340, Austria
Location: Austria > Lower Austria > Modling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Modling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 70

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Babenbergerhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.