We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY Family Friendly and Warm/Friendly Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Arlberghaus

Save Saved
You added Hotel Arlberghaus to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Arlberghaus
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zurs 126, Zurs A-6763, Austria   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Zurs
GreenLeadersSilver level
Munich, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“VERY Family Friendly and Warm/Friendly Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2009

I have stayed at a different hotel on a yearly basis my entire life - but because my preferred hotel was closed, we chose to give the Hotel Arlberghaus a try.

I must say - the level of personal service that the hotel offers its guests is absolutely second to none. Zürs can be a very "ritzy" type of town, getting even more so now these days - but this hotel keeps the Austrian family run hotel charm alive and well, in the heart of some absolutely world class skiing.

I personally used to the Fitness Room, and my father used to Sauna every evening - and we both loved the amenities. The wifi internet connection is not free (it is free if you join their hotel "membership" for a small annual fee - which gives you a few advantages IIRC, including the free internet, a % off of their shop downstairs near the lobby - which is the best little store for everything in Zürs), but the internet works well.

Rooms are well kept and clean, as was the bathroom we had in our room. It looked recently renovated (read: new) and was very nice.

The ski room is nice too, as they have a boot warming rack so your boots get dryed out every night, as well as the possibility to lock up your skiis on the ski rack.

The food was good, not excellent, but very enjoyable.

Zürs, the town this hotel is located in is not very big - maybe a half a kilometer long at most, but the Hotel Arlberghaus is perfectly located dead center in the town, making getting to it from any slope in Zürs absolutely ideal.

I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a very friendly and cozy stay in Munich, especially if you want to stay away from the super ritzy other hotels in Zürs. They also speak excellent english, and treat you like family when you stay there.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
16
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2009

Just returned from my second visit to Arlberghaus (the first being Jan 2008). This hotel provides a truly wonderful experience. Family owned and run, the attention to customer services is superb. Nothing is too much trouble, the staff are friendly and welcoming, the hotel is spotlessly clean and the food is wonderful. Having spent two extremely enjoyable weeks there over the past two years, I would fully recommend this hotel. Arlberghaus is situated directly adjacent to a good and friendly ski hire shop and access to slopes is just a short (less than 100 yards) walk to a ski lift or gondola. Thomas Eglar and his family make everyone welcome, from families to groups or single travellers and his fully stocked wine cellar and knowledge of Austrian wines will help even the most discerning wine lovers discover the hidden joys and qualities of Austrian reds and whites. The hotel has a boot-room with heated boot racks, while skis, poles and boards can be stored and locked safely free of charge. There is a fitness room, sauna, solarium, steam-room and relaxation area together with pre-bookable massage facilities. The rooms are clean and comfortable with satellite TV and free safe, while the hotel has full Wi-Fi network coverage. The restaurant provides a six course meal each night and the breakfast buffet is large and varied and caters for every type of breakfast choice. I have thoroughly enjoyed my stays here and would recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Quality of customer service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2008

We booked the Arlberghaus thinkng we are booking a 4* hotel. It wasn't one. The people are very nice but the hotel is understaffed; waiting at the reception for any kind of queries was too long as a single employee was trying to help customers, answer phones and take bookings, all at the same time. (If you are travelling with more than two bags, be prepared to carry your own bag to your room when you arrive...) The decoration is ugly (very 90s); do not expect an Austrian Alpes style, cosy, experience and do not expect common areas suitable for a 4* hotel. The restaurant was OK and the food -mostly- above average with a good wine selection and good service. The bar area is a dump, with bad service as a single barman is trying to satisfy clients on all floors. The room was large and comfortable (except for the aging waterbed); the room and the service at the restaurant were the good part of the experience. In short, this place advertises one more star than it deserves and is priced accordingly. As I very much enjoy skiing at Zurs-Lech, I looked around and I know now that there are much better places for almost the same price. I am not returning to the Arlberghaus...

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2008

Thought the place was great. Loved the food and the service was second to none. Covinced me that family run hotels are the way to go.

  • Stayed March 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2008

I have taken the time to set up a TripAdvisor account because I just had to let people know about the amazing time we had at the Arlberghaus. It is a small family-run hotel and the owner Tomas goes out of his way to make you feel at home, organising guided ski days, wine-tasting evening, barbecues featuring produce from local farmers, checking in with you at mealtimes to see how your holiday is going - it really was a wonderful experience. The food was the best I have ever had on a holiday anywhere. 6 course meals every evening, all immaculately presented, always something new and just delicious. The location of the hotel is superb - the ski hire shop and ski lifts are just outside the door of the ski room, and of course you can ski back to the door of the hotel. If the many runs in Zurs are not enough for you, you can grab the free bus to Lech from right outside the door. The rooms were lovely and comfortable but really what most most impressive was the very very high standard of personal service from Tomas, Musa the head waiter, Tom at the bar, Klaus our waiter, Mannfred and Stephanie at reception and everyone there who made our stay such a wonderful experience. We will definitely be going back!

  • Liked — The excellent high standards of warm personal service
  • Disliked — Absolutely nothing to complain about
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Arlberghaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arlberghaus

Address: Zurs 126, Zurs A-6763, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Vorarlberg > Zurs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Zurs
#1 Green Hotel in Zurs
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zurs
#3 Family Hotel in Zurs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Arlberghaus 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you in the Arlberghaus since 1931 our family owns and runs the Hotel Arlberghaus****. We warmly welcome you and your family in our hotel to enjoy our superb ski area. Take advantage of the central location, ski in and ski out. Do not hesitate to contact us we gladly help you out with information about the area and the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Arlberghaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arlberghaus Hotel Zurs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Arlberghaus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.