We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed August 2013 - wonderful !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Jakobwirt

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Jakobwirt to your Saves list
Hotel Jakobwirt
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Peter-Neuschmid-Strasse 1, Westendorf 6363, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Westendorf
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Stayed August 2013 - wonderful !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

August 2013.- first time in Austria and we fell on our feet. Westerndorf is stunning. The Jakobwirt hotel is clean and comfortable - and the service and staff are professional, polite and welcoming. Special mention for the restaurant, we were half board and the breakfasts we great but the dinners were really special; top quality meals every night. We would thoroughly and unreservedly recommend the Jakobwirt.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annemarie Z, Inhaber at Hotel Jakobwirt, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear guests,
thank you very much for your excellent write up. We are happy to hear you were
enjoying your holiday.
Any other time we like to welcome you again.
Kindest regards and best wishes - Annemarie Ziepl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    19
    6
    0
    6
See reviews for
22
44
17
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

I have stayed at the Jakobwirt hotel for many winter holidays and must say I have never been disappointed with this hotel. Everything about is first class and you are made to feel special with the welcome you receive and also the service they provide.Excellent food and wine choice in the restaurant. A friendly kellar bar down stairs, which is non-smoking.What more can one ask for..

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annemarie Z, Inhaber at Hotel Jakobwirt, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Jim,
regards to Millport and many thanks for your compliments.
Take care and best from Westendorf.
Annemarie Ziepl and the Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Booked for a weeks skiing with Inghams as a solo traveller. Hotel is located in the centre of the town about 5 minutes walk from the nursery slopes. From there you can take the lift up and ski down to the main Alpenrose Gondola, otherwise it's about a 15 minute walk.
My room was large for a single room with enough space to have fitted a double bed in. The bathroom was large with a big bath which was great for relaxing in after a hard day's skiing. All was very clean and comfortable. The only slight downside was that the room was right next to the road and so there was a degree of traffic noise.This meant that it was not really very pleasant to sit outside on the balcony because of the traffic noise and it was close to the buildings across the road. There was also some noise from the cellar bar which had an entrance onto the street below my room. That said the noise did tend to die down after eleven o'clock and I was able to get a good 7-8 hours sleep as well as a nap in the afternoon. However other people may be lighter sleepers and be disturbed by this. I did ask the reception if I could move rooms but they said this was not possible even though the hotel seemed half empty.
The restaurant was excellent with the staff being very friendly and attentive. The food could not be faulted and was the best I have had on a Skiing trip in 20 years.
The swimming pool and Sauna were also very good.
All in all I had a very enjoyable stay and would consider returning but would stay on a different side of the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the main road or on higher floors are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annemarie Z, Inhaber at Hotel Jakobwirt, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Mr. Wisby,

Thank you for your detailed report and we are very happy to hear you had
an enjoyable holiday. Our Hotel is in the centre of the village and there will
be days with more traffic . All our windows have tripple glasing so we do hope
you were able to get a good sleep.
Best wishes and hope to see you again. Kindest regards - Annemarie Ziepl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

This hotel is centrally located with easy access to the slopes. The rooms are comfortable and very warm (this seems to be the case in the whole of the resort so take some t-shirts). The food was excellent - we stayed half board.... Breakfast was a typical continental affair with lots of choice. Dinner was five courses, although this was not overwhelming as portion sizes were managed. The food was excellent quality. Wine is very reasonably priced and I would recommend the Veltliner, reasonably priced. The staff at the hotel are very helpful and all speak good English....which is disappointing when you want to practise your German! Overall a really good holiday.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annemarie Z, Inhaber at Hotel Jakobwirt, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Miss Thompson and friends,
many thanks for your lovley report.
we are happy to hear you had an enjoyable holiday.
we like to be here any other time and kindest regards - Annemarie und Familie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Ideal central location in a small Tyrol Austrian town
It would be difficult to find such a well appointed hotel anywhere with the warmest of welcomes and cuisine only surpassed by the kindness of the three Ziepl sisters who are the owners of this fine establishment. The skiing was like icing on the cake. The non-smoking Campbell's cellar bar provided late night entertainmenrt and convivial chat with fellow skiers.
Every hotel should be like this one! I would love to live here ,

Room Tip: The staff were without exception professional couteous and attentive - Mobile phone reception was be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annemarie Z, Inhaber at Hotel Jakobwirt, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
dear friends,
many thanks for this wonderfull compliment to our house and our staff.
We try to work after our slogen - " come as a guest and leave as a friend !!
Stay well and best wishes - Annemarie Ziepl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Stylish, elegant, charming and friendly, the Jakobwirt perfectly reflects its owner, Annemarie Ziepl.
The staff are endlessly helpful, and the interior is a hymn to understated but heartfelt good taste.
The dinner I had there with friends was exquisite: the best fillet of trout I've ever tasted, and venison stew with pear and cranberry which was just as perfect. A gem in a town where everything is within walking distance, including access to the vast Skiwelt area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annemarie Z, Inhaber at Hotel Jakobwirt, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Merry and piecefull Christmas and a happy 2014 !!
Dear Jeff, many thanks for your compliments. Hope to welcome you again.
Kindest regards - Annemarie and the Ziepl Family
I am happy to hear you were able to enjoy the skiing too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Excellent family run hotel. Good bedrooms, excellent food and the staff can't do enough to help you. The village is lovely - although I have been to nicer and the gondola lift is a kilometre away. Although I was alone using my bus pass I visited the surrounding villages and had some splendid easy walking. What particularly impressed me is how much Westendorf and the nearby villages have done to attract young families in the summer. A load of activities in every one which my 10 - 12 year old grandchildren would have loved. Some nights when there had been an event on in the village it could be noisy as they cleaned up afterwards to ensure the village was pristine next morning.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annemarie Z, Inhaber at Hotel Jakobwirt, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you very much for this compliments to the house and our village.
We are happy to hear you had an enjoyable holiday.
Best wishes from here - Annemarie Ziepl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Jakobwirt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jakobwirt

Address: Peter-Neuschmid-Strasse 1, Westendorf 6363, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Westendorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Westendorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jakobwirt 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make yourselves at home in our family-run boutique hotel.Our hotel is ideally located in the center of Westendorf, but only a stone strow away from landscape! All sports- and leisure facilities are in walking distance!Come and enjoy our mountains, the crisp clear air, pure spring water and warm-hearted people. We'd like to take care of you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Jakobwirt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jakobwirt Hotel Westendorf

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Jakobwirt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.