We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best place to stay in soll” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tenne Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Tenne Hotel to your Saves list
Tenne Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Dorf 136, Soll A-6306, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 34 Soll B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“best place to stay in soll”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

i've stayed here many times with my family. and they remember us each year. the owners are great! very nice, very accommodating, i'm not sure when they have time to sleep. the breakfast is beautiful and the new sun room is lovely and relaxing. wouldn't stay anywhere else in soll

Room Tip: choose one of the newer ones facing the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    22
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
13
19
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

First - there seems to be some confusion in the reviews on TripAdvisor. For clarity, the hotel I'm reviewing is currently (January 2013) called Hotel Garni Tenne at Dorf 136 in Soll.

The location of this hotel is great, right in the centre, 1 min to the ski bus or ski hire shop and surrounded by nice restaurants and bars.

I went in a group of 6 for a ski trip. Four of us shared a 4 bed room which was spotlessly clean and although not huge was fine for a 4 day ski trip.

The included breakfast was fantastic, delicious meats, cheeses, fruit and some cooked items like eggs and bacon.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and made us feel at home.

The sauna area was really great for relaxing after a day's skiing. There was a Finnish sauna, aromatherapy steam room, infra-red sauna and a relaxation area.

Overall I thought this hotel was fantastic value for money and I would happily go back and stay there again next time I visit Soll.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

My wife and I have just spent 11 days hiking in the Austrian Tyrol and have had a fantastic time. We used Hotel Rubin (no longer called Tenne) as our base for exploring the neighbouring mountains and valleys. The staff are very friendly and although we considered this holiday as quite cheap in comparison to our usual holidays the food on half board was far better than I would have expected for the price in terms of both quality and volume. Even the chef took time out each evening to say hello to the guests in the dining room. Don't forget to take a tablet of soap with you since this hotel is typical of German/Austrian accommodation in not providing it as standard. There are a couple of bars on the bottom floor of the hotel which, we were told, get very busy and noisy in the Winter season but in the Summer they are quiet and definitely won't affect your sleeping habits. Soll itself is a delightful and incredibly picturesque village at the foot of a chain of mountains which are served by an extensive ski gondola system which is open in Summer too. To make the most of your time here you should make use of the ski passes which get very cheap if you want to use the lifts for more than four days of your holiday. Indeed, the free Kaiserjet bus service coupled with the extensive gondola system allows a freedom to explore the stunning mountain scenery rarely experienced on any other holiday I have ever taken. My wife and I would typically walk 8 to 10 miles a day (we are in our late fifties, early sixties) using these forms of transport at the beginning and ends of our walks to make a round trip which included many inaccessible places. The local supermarket is just around the corner from Hotel Rubin if you want cheap lunchtime snacks and drinks to eat on your walks or you can make your own pack lunches from the hotel's breakfast buffet for one and a half euros per person. All in all, the Hotel Rubin is ideally placed, its staff are warm and welcoming, food is very good and the beds are comfortable. The room is also of reasonable size for two people. One minor niggle is that when taking a shower the hot water takes a couple of minutes to come through the heating system. Once I realised this then it was easy to work round.

Review provided by Carl and Linda Stead from Surrey, England

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

Review of Hotel Rubin, Soll – Previously the Hotel Tenne, Soll

As you may have noticed there are not many reviews available for this hotel since its been renamed. Before I stayed here I was trying to look up reviews but unfortunately couldn’t find any so hopefully my report will help some of you looking for a review (and some Photos that I’ve taken )

Arrival- the Entrance to the hotel is on the left hand side of the building which is hidden and not easily found. The front of the hotel is the entrance to the Red Horse and Sports Bar (all one pub really). So you can get to the reception of the hotel through the bar or through the side Door at left of building. Its not a traditional reception at all, just a lobby area really but the staff were waiting there on our arrival with Keys waiting. Rooms were ready about 2pm. One great thing that I wasnt aware of it that the hotel has free WIFI for guests, no its wasnt a super fast speed but perfect for internet and posting some pictures

Rooms – the Rooms are typical Austrian Style which is clean, functional and basic enough but that was fine with us as we were off skiing during the day and didn't really spend much time in the hotel. We were allocated 4 rooms for 8 people. 3 twin rooms and 1 triple room. The Twin Rooms (207,208,209 in our case) had 2 twin beds, bed side lockers, a wardrobe, Colour TV with 30 channels mostly foreign channels but 2 BBC News channels which were in English. The Sink was in the main room with Mirror and there was a small room for the Toilet and shower. There was also a very large balcony facing the slopes with a fantastic view. The Triple Room(206) was definitely more spacious than the other rooms and the bathroom had the shower, toilet and sink all contained in the same bathroom. There was a Balcony also facing the slopes. The Showers were fantastic plenty of hot water and really strong pressure water. The rooms were cleaned daily to a good standard. You could hear the music from the Bars downstairs at nighttime and we were on the 2nd floor but it wasn’t too noisy you could just barely make out what song it was and I still slept every night without any problems but it is considered a Party hotel so what do you expect! The music will always finish up before 2am as a rule.

Food – We were staying here on a half board basis so Breakfast and Dinner were included in our cost. The Breakfast had a great selection of again a typical European breakfast of choice of 3 cereals (Corn Flakes, Muesli, and some other Bran Cereal), Tea, Coffees both Americano and Cappuccinos from a fancy coffee machine, hot chocolate etc. Boiled Eggs, 3 types of Breads, Cheeses and Meets and Jams, honey nutella etc. Orange and Apple Juice were available also. The Dinner wasn’t great quality but I have to mention that I have found this to be the case in most Austrian Hotels that offer half board in Austria– we’ve stayed in 4 star hotels and it has been the same standard. I wouldn’t say the food is bad or horrible but just very standard, I took some pictures of the menu’s available. The Soups and Desserts were always the nicest part of the meal for me. We ate in 5 nights out of 7 in the hotel (There are some really nice Italian restaurants that are very reasonable in the Village, Giovanni's being the best for food and prices)

Red Horse & Sports Bar – The Bars down stairs are very popular in the resort, the Back Red Horse bar is non-smoking which is a great relief from all the smokey bars. Its lively and great fun with music and a mixed crowd every evening. The front bar is the sports bar and shows most of the Football and Rugby from Sky sports etc. Like most of the Soll Bars the Pints are only €3.40 I should also note that there is a security door from the bar to the hotel for security that is locked most of the time and only rooms keys can enter the hotel part and rooms – this was a very important feature as the bars are very busy downstairs and ensures safety.

Staff – The staff were always helpful and welcoming in the mornings and evenings for dinner.

Location – The Location is right beside the main supermarket so great for dropping in next door – 1 min walk. Its approximately a 10 minute walk to the main Gondola in Soll but this hotel is one of the closest to the slopes from the village so most other hotels would take 15 mins plus. You are in the village and most bars and restaurants are no longer than 5 mins walk and the most. There are about 3 other hotels / guest houses that are right beside the Gondolas but then they are not in the village and it’s a 10/15 minute walk from there to the village so I personally preferred to be located closer to the village. We left our Ski /Snowboarding equipment in lockers at the bottom of the gondola for €14 for the week which saved us walking every morning and evening with our heavy equipment

Skiing/Snowing Boarding in Soll – The Skiing in Soll was good but as its not a very high resort the snow conditions weren’t the best, approx 1/3 of the mountain area was showing its grass and not covered by snow which was very strange. They had piested all the runs which were still intact but very strange skiing on snow and large patches of green alongside the slope. The do have snow machines which give a light fresh topping of snow but not great still, I would go for a higher resort to be guaranteed better snow. (The best snow and village area I have been is Saalbach in Austria). Also you end up having to do the same runs back to the Soll village every day which get get a bit boring.

Overall – This hotel is classed as a 2 star hotel so I think the standard is very very high for this rating. I have stayed in 4 star Austrian hotels that are very similar.

Enjoy the Photos!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

We've just returned from Soll where we stayed at the Hotel Rubin, formerly named Hotel Gasthof Tenne. The hotel is very clean and the rooms very comfortable. The food in the hotel was good. By far the best part of the hotel is the bar downstairs, the RED HORSE. This place will this season gain the title of 'The Best Bar in Soll' (instead of the self acclaimed Salvenstadl up the road) The staff in the bar are all great fun and really nice people. Brett and his team really know how to run a great bar and create a buzzing atmosphere with brilliant live bands such as the Lettuce Heads, Frog on the Tyne & Jabberwalky to mention a few. The beer's good and sensibly priced compared to other European resorts. Its worth bearing in mind that this is a lively hotel, so if you're after peace and quiet and don't like having a laugh, this may not be the ideal place for you. If you do have any problems with the hotel then tell the staff and they will sort them, not like one group who just made sly jibes under their breath all through the week we were there.........
The resort as a whole is brilliant. The combination of short flights, short transfers, cheap beer, great nightlife and good skiing makes this one of the best ski holidays that we've had in 10 years of skiing.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

Stayed here over Christmas, and can only say good things about the hotel which underwent a complete refurbishment over the summer. The bowling alley has now gone and the ground floor now occupies The Red Horse Bar and Soll Sports Bar which were both very good, been brought up to date, modern with an austrian twist. The food was very good in the hotel as well as in the bar downstairs which also serves food from 10am til late at night. The staff were excellent and kept the rooms very clean,they have all have been redone with new bathrooms, also the staff in the bars were very good too, keen for everyone to have a good time, the bar staff used to run the Whiskey Muhle so if you've been to Soll before as we had you will know them all from there, couldnt meet a better bunch of people.
Have to get back to work, but if you have already booked to stay somewhere else in Soll we would definitely recommend the bars for apres and a good night out after a day on the slopes.
Marg & Al

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teesdale
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

We stayed at the Hotel Tenne in July - and it's probably worth mentioning that there is a different hotel/guesthouse just around the corner with the same name of Tenne. The one we stayed is a Thomson/Crystal establishment and fronts on to the main 'through' road - which can therefore be noisy. Before we go further to tell how nice the hotel is and how welcoming the staff are, its worth mentioning that some major civil engineering work has now started in Soll to construct a tunnel for road traffic to improve the trafiic situation. This work had only just started in July 2010 and we understand it will take 2 years to complete.
Back to the hotel, Resi the owner, has a great team of staff who help make the stay as enjoyable as possible. The main elements of the hotel are all very good. Comfy austrian twin beds, powerful and hot shower, and food which has been carefully chosen to suit a british palate (for those of you who have experienced the austrian style soups - the ones served here are all decent). The breakfasts are easily the best we've experienced in Austria. Buffet style but really plentiful with a great variety of items, fruit juices, cereals, breads, cakes, yoghurts, boiled eggs. Plus for one euro each you can build yourself a sandwich (plus cake and goodies) to take out on your walks - beats having to hide stuff under the table at breakfast!
My only negatives about the hotel would be that some of the bedrooms are a bit small - large enough for your stay but don't both go wandering around the bedroom at the same time. Of course there is the location which is close to the main road and now there are road works taking place from 7am to 5pm on weekdays, but don't worry as the adjacent church bells will wake you up at 6.45am! Also the communual bar area is still a smoking zone. The eating area for residents is non smoking - but it's a shame you can't enjoy a drink with guests and locals as the Austrians and their German visitors still enjoy a cigarette or two. Fortunately, there are now restaurants and bars in Soll where smoking is prohibited entirely which is an improvement on previous years - but still a way to go.
The fabled bowling alley is in the area of the hotel where smoking is allowed - so that was ruled out for us too. Although the alley is on the ground floor there is a 'rumbling' that can be 'felt' as much as heard when the games are on. Fortunately it didn't continue beyond 10.30pm the one time it occurred on a night - and this was the tour company organised event.
Soll as the basis for a walking holiday would be pretty hard to beat - great travel links to other nearby resorts with the free 2 hourly bus service - plus a range of mountain lifts along the valley which can be used during the summer. A 6 day card for use of all the open lifts (we used 5 different ones in the week) was 44(ish) euros. And cards to include the additional services of the local buses and the swimming pools could also be purchased for a higher price (sorry don't know how much as didn't get one).
All in all an enjoyable stay during the summer - but I'm not sure what the winter experience would be like as its quite a way to the chair lift and only a few hotels in Soll are close to the lift - which is over the main road and quite a walk from the main part of the village.
We will almost certainly go back to the Tenne at some point - and it seems many british visitors do so year after year.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tenne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenne Hotel

Address: Dorf 136, Soll A-6306, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Soll
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Soll
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tenne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Tenne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tenne Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.