We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moedlinger Hotel & Sport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Moedlinger Hotel & Sport to your Saves list
Moedlinger Hotel & Sport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dorfbichl 30, Soll 6306, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Soll
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Mixed views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

5 of us stayed here the Christmas week 2012, ages varied from 17yrs - 57yrs. We arrived off the coach to be met by Herbert the owner who welcomed us to his hotel. He is a man of very few words and , we found during our stay he doesnt engage in chit-chat generally unless you approach him- then he is ok.
Our rooms were adequate, warm, and comfortable. Asked for extra pillows which we were given straight away. Cleaning lady was lovely and as another reviewer stated she was "Mrs Overall" look alikey. Only problem was that there were no tea/coffee facilities in the room which would have been nice instead of having to find a waitress and ask for cups of tea all the time. This became a tad annoying as you felt restricted when you wanted a drink. Charges were quite high for extra tea/coffee which we found at the end of the week when we received our charges.
Cash was also requested as no cards were accepted................wonder why?????? I will leave that for othere to speculate on.
Food wise, not a lot of choice for vegetariens, omellettes or cheese on toast..or one evening a turkey curry was offered! ha with pasta. Mostly the food was ok. Salads were fresh and varied each evening as a starter. Soft drinks at the table were very expensive so we tended to have water with meals.
Our teenagers found the hotel very boring....resembled an old peoples home, not very welcoming. Games that were in the hotel were very old, over used and not very exciting. You dont always want to go out pubbing every night after a hards days sking.
No-one on reception to greet you at all most of the time which made it less inviting. If you came back early it was deserted of staff.
As far as the Christmas decor was concerned it was very very minimal. Lovely Xmas tree in the Restaurant but everywhere else hardly a bauble in site.It would have been nice to have had a large decorated Christmas tree in the foyer when you returned from a days skiing like all the other hotels around. Looked a bit "Scrooge like"
Our experience on the whole was good but, I dont think we will stay at this particular hotel again in Soll.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    29
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
15
34
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Dave and Linda. Edinburgh

We have just returned from a week's stay at the Modlinger hotel. The room was pleasant affording great mountain views and the food very good except for the salad buffet which was minimal to say the least.
The owner of this establishment does not offer any advice as to the benefits you are entitled to with the Wilder Kaiser free pass you recieve and if you are arriving as a couple please be sure to ask for one free pass EACH as Herr Modlinger will only offer you one per couple which is not acceptable on the local postbus.
Also the proprieter is very hard to locate for the most part if you require assistance and basically you are left to fend for yourself.
This is a really good hotel in a great location but the couldn't care less attitude of the manager would put us off from going back in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Stayed here for a week beginning of Aug. Top class hotel with fantastic food made to order! Great choices always well cooked and served piping hot! Great desserts and puddings too! The owner Herbert Moedlinger made us feel very welcome and always found time to sit and chat with us, what a truly nice guy! Rooms very comfortable and the views fantastic! Would return here most definately, had great time walking, cycling, climbing and exploring the area with the FREE kaiser jet bus!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012 via mobile

Not much I can add to some of the damming reviews here except to echo them. Owner comes across as penny pinching, beds are also hard and they don't take cards so if you book independently as we did you will have to find a large amount of cash at the end of stay.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carshalton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

We booked very late and The Moedlinger was one of the few hotels still available. I've stayed in lots of Ski accommodation and was slightly worried about the reviews others had put on here. I stayed with my 9 year old and brother-in-law and all of the staff were friendly, helpful and made an effort to make sure everything we wanted or needed was supplied. (whether that was extra pillows to smaller portions or alternatives at dinner for my son) The food was more than satisfactory and the fondue night was a different option even if deep frying meat isn’t to everyone’s taste. It is about 10 mins to the bottom of the button lift to the gondola or the skibus stop was right outside. If you use Stoll Ski by the button lift they have a basement to keep your gear in for 8 euros a week to save you dragging it all back with you. The Skiwelt Area is great and my son & BIL both enjoyed Ski School (Hochsoll) I'd defiantly go back to Soll although maybe earlier in the season and if the Moedlinger was the only hotel left again I'd have no problem staying there.

Make the effort to get around the whole area, Its all very well linked & signed with chairs & gondolas so no crappy drags or T bars.

Room Tip: We had room 105 and although the bathroom may look a bit dated the size ect were fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

we stayed here March 2012 (4 adults) Met by the owner who greeted us with a smile and a laugh, he didn't managed to acknowledge us after that. The hotel looks traditional from outside, the rooms were warm, clean and comfortable (asked for extra pillows) no problem. The Lounge area is a little busy looking, (not with staff) lots of pictures on the walls even pictures hung over other pictures and a large one stood on the floor at the side of the piano - bit of a hoarder maybe! The food is poor, self service breakfast is basic european style, weak orange juice and boiled eggs (no hot choice or fresh fruit) what was more annoying was that there would be a small dish with individual pots of chocolate spread, honey etc (4 usually) and constantly running out and you had to attract a waitress for refills, same with the boiled eggs, we would usually go without (maybe this what the owner relied on). Evening meal - we had to ask when we could find the waitress. (too busy in and out of the kitchen for refills or making up tea and coffee pots) Evening Meals -If you like pork you might be ok as long as you don't mind it over cooked or deep fried or sliced in salty gravy. We were looking forward to the meal described as Roast Chicken, Roast Potatoes and veg. we took bets: would it be like the restaurants serve on the slopes or sliced (bernard matthews style) Wrong again! a roasted outstretched leg with wedged shaped soggy roasts in salty gravy. Alternative meals needed to be ordered at soup course, one alternative was goulash which i would expect to be the main dish, it arrived overcooked small lumps of pork in a goulash coloured sauce served with small pasta pieces and green beans. Deserts - we declined after a couple of nights never offered an alternative. We had to ask what we were eating once, it was homemade creme fraiche with 2 thinly sliced pieces of tinned pears and a 2mm slice of kiwi - awful. We attempted 5 nights out of 7. We did bump in to a rep on a night out and mentioned to her, she said she would have a word but we asked her not to mention it until we had left. At pickup she said she had mentioned it the next day maybe that's why buck fizz (wasn't sure it was for all guests) and tiny crossiants where out the next day.(she said she didn't mention who had commented on the food but we were the only four with her company lol) A good meal is what you need after a hard days skiing don't expect it here. We have stayed at other resorts in Austrian family run hotels so have compared this hotel to our other experiences. We are polite guests we use the hotel to shower and sleep, fill up on breakfast, stay out for apres of course return for a nice meal, pop out for another drink in bed for 11pm returning quietly and not distrubing other guests! unlike others.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

There really is nothing much to fault at the Modlinger. The hotel building is delightful. Mr Moedlinger is not the sort that suffers fools gladly so if you are the type that intends to roll in drunk and noisy after too much après ski then a different hotel may suit you better. The food in the restaurant is very good. Sarah the drinks waitress has a soft Irish lilt to her voice that sounds as if she’s gargled with honey, blessed by St. Patrick himself, five minutes before coming on duty. Kevin competently looks after the bar. The chamber maid missed her vocation as stunt-double for Acorn Antique’s Mrs Overall but keeps the rooms spick and span and the linens nice and clean. The ski bus stops outside the door. Five busses go out every day but only two come back (a taxi doesn’t cost much though). The nights were the quietest of any hotel we’ve ever stayed at and our sleep was sound. Altogether, we loved it and may well return.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moedlinger Hotel & Sport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moedlinger Hotel & Sport

Address: Dorfbichl 30, Soll 6306, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Soll
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Soll
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Moedlinger Hotel & Sport 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Moedlinger Hotel & Sport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moedlinger Hotel And Sport
Modlinger Hotel Soll
Modlinger Hotel Sport

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moedlinger Hotel & Sport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.