We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal hotel for a quiet skiing holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel & Restaurant Eggerwirt

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel & Restaurant Eggerwirt to your Saves list
Hotel & Restaurant Eggerwirt
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Dorf 14, Soll A-6306, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 33 Soll B&B and Inns
Orpington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Ideal hotel for a quiet skiing holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I travelled with my daughter, her friend and her friend's parents, who have stayed there before. They told me what a great hotel it is; I agree. I had a compact but comfortable single room on the second floor. My daughter and her friend had a good sized twin. Meals were delicious; breakfast a good, varied buffet and two choices for dinner, with some flexibility for the fussy eater (not me). The service was friendly and good, and they recognised my friends from previous years. The free Wi-Fi was a bit patchy, but it is not a priority for me.

The location can't be faulted; in a quiet part of the town, a 10 minute walk or short (free) bus journey to the main lifts. The Mirabel, a few metres down the road, is an ideal place for a post-skiing drink and slice of cake. Skiing seems most suitable for up to intermediate skiers, and the well tended nursery slopes and good instruction proved ideal for my beginner daughter.

All in all, a great hotel, and we are planning to return next year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    22
    6
    5
    1
See reviews for
18
42
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Skiing for first time in Austria what a great choice excellent resort and an absolute brilliant hotel - clean,warm,excellent food and very helpful staff. Location was ideal, stop outside for ski bus to gondola
We will be booking again soon for next year.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I am so surprised that there are any 'average' or 'poor' reviews on this hotel. Visited the Eggerwirt in February 2013 and really couldn't fault the place. Location was great, right in the centre of Soll but still on a quiet enought street that you were away from noise of the bars in the village.
Despite a very early arrival time, we were greeted by Claudia and shown straight to our roon. The room was a very good size with a lovely balcony and all facilities you would expect.
The hotel itself is modern yet very traditional Austrian decor and Claudia and her team could not have been more friendly or helpful.
There was a great atmosphere in the restaurant and a very sociable croud so most evenings a number of tables joined up for drinks or to head out.
The food served at the Eggerwirt was wonderful. Soup and a typical Austrian salad bar followed by a choice of main course and yummy desert. Very generous portions (of course with the option of even more salad if you wish).
We found that a number of the guests had been to Eggerwirt numerous time over the last few years and I can absolutely understand why. If we have the chace, we'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Hotel Eggerwirt was a comfortable, cosy, no-smoking hotel in a very quiet part of the village and was our home during a week's ski holiday in Soll.
The hotel was just a short walk to the village centre but was also a direct stop off on the free ski bus run.
We stayed in one of the venue’s family rooms which was spacious enough for four of us.
It was nicely furnished, pleasantly decorated and showed no signs of wear and tear and it was serviced every day.
There was a king size bed and large double sofa bed, ample wardrobe and storage space, a writing table, flat screen television, radio, and ample bathroom with a large bath and over the bath shower.
In terms of warming up or cooling the room down the room featured two thermostatic controlled radiators, two sets of opening windows each side of the room and door accessing the balcony.
The communal areas were clean and cosy.
A stube featured a flat screen television and a modern fire.
The bar was open all day for drinks (but it does not serve food) and there was a small sauna.
The restaurant was light and airey with separate booth style tables and built in seating areas as well as free standing chairs.
The food here was very good. Evening meals were four courses starting off with homemade soup and a salad bar, before a choice of either two to three, served main course choices – including grilled chicken breast with rucola risotto and Wiener schnitzel, with parsley potatoes - before a set, dessert option.
Children are served smaller portion of adult meal choices, and can be varied to suit children’s tastes – on one evening there was a dedicated child meal choice (spaghetti and meat sauce).
Breakfast was a hot and cold buffet choice, including cereal, fruit salad, yoghurt, meat and cheese, a choice of bread and jam as well as hot choice which varied every day, including poached eggs.
The hotel was welcoming and proved a good ski-ing base.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne England
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Our yearly visit to the Eggerwirt, was another good one. Still as good as the last years we have been, it's like going home. Looking forward to our visit in 2013, standards still high with cleanliness and good food. Staff are all the same as the last years and they are most welcoming. Claudia does a fantastic job.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stubbington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Couple in our late 40's

Late February 2013

Skiing novices but not absolue beginners

The hotel is situated in a great position past the pubs so no noise but close enough for everything you need. Shop (spar) 250 yards away. Nearest pub 150 yards away. Small and family run hotel. Very welcoming.

Skiing is excellent.

Do not bother with the points lift pass as you will use this up in one morning even if you are an absolute beginner.

Ski school was good but don't be affraid to speak up for what you need. We felt the group was advancing faster than us so moved to a lower group the following day. LINDSAY was excellent and a great instructor.

One criticism was that there was only a shower and no bath in the room which after a day on the slopes a soak in a bath would have been nice.

You can walk to the gondola in 15 minutes but the ski bus stops right outside the door and is very frequent.

The ski hire at the gondola (edinger) is the best but a little more expensive. It has a storage facility for your skis at a reasonable price.

enjoy

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We took a chance and chose the eggerwirt largely based on all the fairly good reviews.
Although the hotel was clean and reasonably comfortable, our 3rd floor room was very small..... the decor was bland..... the fittings, furniture & bedding were quite basic, and just not comfy enough for 3*
The food served was quite plain and nothing great; and the service was ok. The large choice at breakfast was probably the highlight in the restaurant.
The lounge area was tiny and right next to reception/the front door and so wasn't that cosy.
All in all, considering all the money we spent to stay here, I would expect a lot more.
I can't wait to return to Soll, though: the skiing was very good and varied.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel & Restaurant Eggerwirt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Restaurant Eggerwirt

Address: Dorf 14, Soll A-6306, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Soll
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Soll
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel & Restaurant Eggerwirt 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel & Restaurant Eggerwirt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel And Restaurant Eggerwirt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel & Restaurant Eggerwirt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.