We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ski trip long weekend” 3 of 5 stars
Review of AlpenSchloessl Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added AlpenSchloessl Hotel to your Saves list
AlpenSchloessl Hotel
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Reit 15, Soll 6306, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 33 Soll B&B and Inns
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“ski trip long weekend”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

We stayed for 4 days in Jan,The hotel is out of town ,which would be a nice summer walk
but at night in Winter the 8 euro taxi fare into town was the better option.Pleasant reception
staff on arrival and helpful with requests.The room was of good size and adequately furnished in typical Austrian style .(lots of Pine) The bar and restaurant was smokey and the service particularly slow,it being so slow we elected to eat in town each night as was quicker to get a taxi into town than to get served a round of drinks while seated.There was one pleasant member of bar staff who was Dutch who was there on the last night and made
no time to make you feel welcome with a smile on his face and his suggestions on wine were superb.The leisure facilities and general hotel condition are a little dated but adequate the breakfast ok but nothing special.Everything about the hotel was ok but we left not thinking that was great and lets book again next year, and I think the reason was we didn't get the usual warm family welcome from the owners that you normally get at Austrian ski Hotels.

Room Tip: one facing down the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    14
    8
    6
    3
See reviews for
13
22
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

The Alpenschlossl is situated in a wonderful quiet position above meadows in the valley just outside Söll. It is about 1 1/2 miles (3km) from the village and can be walked to along a quiet road.

The accomodation is superb with gorgeous views down the valley. The food is excellent too with a 4 course menu every night except Sundays when there is a Gala evening which has 5 courses. We even had a free picnic basket supplied on 1 day (you choose which day). We decided it would be the day we went to the Grossglockner High Road when the weather was perfect and we sat on the hillside to have it.

The staff are very friendly and helpful, even allowing me to use the reception internet when needing to check-in for my return flight.

The hotel has both an indoor and outdoor swimming pool, as well as a sauna, steam room and massage facilities. (As usual in Austria, the sauna is a completely clothes free environment).

the rooms have a free safe, TV and are very comfortable.

We would recommend the Alpenschlossl and would definately return, although we are not sure what it is like in the high winter period.

Room Tip: Always ask for a room with a view down the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

Spent a week skiing, the snow wasn't great but the hotel made up for it. The food is fantastic and the service is friendly and efficient. The only bad thing to say is that smoking is still allowed indoors in Austria, once you are used of the smoking ban it comes as a bit of a shock.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Petherton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

Just came back from this hotel after a week skiing, a real shame to leave. Fantastic staff, couldn't fault them. The food was superb, out of this world! We had five courses each night, including our 4 & 8 year olds. Ski busses door to door each morning & afternoon. Although it's a little far from the Villiage of Soll, taxis are alway's at hand & only a few euro's, well worth it, so to have the fantastic views. We would go back again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

We have spent a week in Alpenschloessl in December 2010 and left with very mixed feelings. On the positive side, our room was quite large with relatively comfortable beds. The food was plentiful and actually very good (particularly dinners which were 4 course affairs, but the scrambled eggs every single morning were cold and hard as a brick - although our 6 year old enjoyed them nevertheless). Post-skiing snacks were OK - tasty and hot.

Skiing room had a very efficient boot dryer and the general atmosphere was quite OK. Location is quite far from the village (good 30 minute walk through the empty fields - nice if the weather is good, but bound to be terrible in a blizzard) but that was expected. Taxi to the village is around EUR6 one way so that is not a problem. The swimming pool is quite large but we found the water on the cool side - OK for swimming but too cold for children to splash around.

The negative is that Wi-Fi is not free and quite expensive (something line EUR5 per hour)- which is mean in the age of flat rate broadband. One other thing which is ABSOLUTELY TERRIBLE and in my opinion unacceptable is that smoking is permitted in the lounge which is connected with restaurant and bar area. As early as 8 am you would see the cleaners finishing their breakfast and smoking away happily, with smoke permeating all parts of the open space. Then from 4 pm onwards, the curtain of smoke would get thicker and thicker, and by the dinner time you will have to hold your breath to get through. Why on earth can they invest in proper ventilation, or have a separate room for smokers?

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2010

Great hidden gem.. Great skiing, rodeln or nordic tracking, snow showing.. Outside of Soell, so you do not have the convenience of walking to shops or restaurants. Need a car for that. Small hotel with an annex that is connected to main hotel via tunnel.. Make sure you know were your room is at.. either way, great deal. small pool but enough to enjoy. Saunas are fantastic and quite when no kids are there.. they are very liberal with having kids in the sauna area, so it may get noisy... So if that bothers you, you need to let them know.. no problem. View we had with the odd numbered rooms in main hotel are fantastic.. small , cozy bar. Unbelievable dinners... You should get the all inclusive, it is worth it... because it can be pricy in town if you go out for every meal. We never had to eat out.. Great breakfast, ski and come back for the 3 pm snack (fantastic) and dinner after 630... loved it, loved it loved it.. NO GREAT INTERNET CONNECTION. It will cost you per minute if you use it in the lobby. Never saw a blackberry in anyones hand nor were any of the kids on their nintendo ... True European !! family time.. OH, sauna is nude, so get ready .. don't forget.. Europeans look at nudity as natural, it is only the americans that seem to be weirded out by that... True getaway.. will be back..

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2008

Hotel in nice setting, very clean. Dining room staff very rude and discurtious to none german speaking guests, food very fancy not traditional austrian fare. The hotel is a good walk from Soll , up hill all the way back ok if it's fine. Would advise a car. No way would we stay there again owing to the rudeness of the dining room staff , could have spoiled our holliday if we had taken any notice of there attitude.

  • Liked — Standard of room
  • Disliked — Rude staff in dining room
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AlpenSchloessl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AlpenSchloessl Hotel

Address: Reit 15, Soll 6306, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Soll
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Soll
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — AlpenSchloessl Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DER TRAUM VOM FEINEN LEBEN AUF DEM LANDE! Welcome. Relax, Enjoy. At Hotel AlpenSchlossl you will find tranquility and relaxation, invigorating mountain air and fresh alpine water. Experience comfort and holiday attractions and feel the spirit of the alps and their friendly and warm people.. The centre of Soll is only a 30-minute walk away A personally run family business, supported by a young and dynamic Team Reception, Lobby and Stub'n, Restaurant, Hotel bar, Lift, Free Wi-Fi around the bar area, Smoking area, Schlossl garden and terrace, Spa/Wellness area with indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam bath, infrared Cabin, Ski Storage, Ski boot warmer, Events for every occasion: Weddings, catering..... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your AlpenSchloessl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenschloessl Hotel Soll

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AlpenSchloessl Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.