We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thai Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lemongrass Bistro

Lemongrass Bistro
501 Main Street, Martinez, CA 94553
925.387.0388
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 83 Restaurants in Martinez
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Martinez, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Thai Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

My Son-in-Law insists that we go to this restaurant whenever he and my daughter visits. The Red Curry is excellent. Avocado rolls are one the dishes we always get for starters. The prices are reasonable and the service is excellent. I wish they were open on Sunday.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    18
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Moraga, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Impressive!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We joined 4 other couples for a dinner together on the way to a musical in Martinez. We were all impressed. Very good service and tasty curry. Our hosts had been there before and the staff knew their names. The "green curry" dish I had was excellent, with tofu added in. Yes, the avocado rolls were excellent, also. Lemongrass certainly raised my opinion of Martinez cuisine.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Excellent Southeast Asian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Lemongrass Bistro serves delicious, fresh and authentic Southeast Asian, primarily Thai, cuisine. It is family owned and run, and it is clear that the matriarch is in the kitchen either cooking or closely supervising. Everyone is friendly and welcoming, and once you've been there a few times they will remember how you like your food prepared. The flavors are bright and complex, wonderfully aromatic, as Thai food should be. I have travelled in Thailand and can say that the food at Lemongrass tastes just like in Thailand. We especially like the basil-curry stir fry, the red curry, the avocado rolls, and the Tom Kha and Tom Yum. But everything is superb. We probably visit twice a month. If you really like heat, ask them to make it "almost like you make it at home". It will be very spicy, but without overwhelming the rest of the flavors. We tried it "just like you make it at home" once, and spice lovers though we are couldn't quite take it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez, CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I was there for lunch with a couple of friends. The food was good as was the atmosphere. I will certainly go back and try dinner.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“fresh, healthy and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

This is our go to place when we don't feel like cooking, it is close enough to walk to. The food is asian fusion with a reliable menu and a few specials. Our favorites are the avocado rolls, salmon coconut soup and the seafood kabobs. My husband loves the lamb curry and daughter likes the Mango chicken. If you like it spicy ask for extra heat, otherwise it is medium. We have tried almost everything on the menu and have never had a bad dinner. The service is also friendly and attentive. Lemongrass has become a downtown Martinez destination.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lemongrass Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Lemongrass Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lemongrass Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.