We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden culinary treat worth the journey!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lemongrass Bistro

Lemongrass Bistro
501 Main Street, Martinez, CA 94553
925.387.0388
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 83 Restaurants in Martinez
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A hidden culinary treat worth the journey!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This restaurant is truly great! I have been there several times with family and friends and the food quality is always consistent. From their appetizers to the main dishes, it's all good.
The avocado rolls and crispy shrimp rolls are great appetizers, while the lemongrass fried rice is a family favorite along with the papaya salad and the filet mignon salad. All the curries are terrific as well. Did I mention that all the food here is great? The ambiance is great and parking is easy to find.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    18
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, California, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“I'd go back again”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I went to Lemongrass for the first time a couple of days ago with a couple of colleagues for lunch. Arrived just after noon and it was already packed- a good sign. They had 2 open tables- one of which was reserved- so we were seated right away. The wait staff was pleasant and professional.
Started with the avocado rolls- different but good. The sauce that comes with them is the star that steals the show.
Not being much of an Asian food fan, I went with something safe for my main- grilled beef. It was cooked perfectly and had a great flavor but again the accompanying sauce took it to another level. The sides were a small garden salad and some steamed rice... not very interesting and really too much food. I didn't come close to cleaning my plate. None of us did. So if I were to make a suggestion I'd say 'make it one side and more interesting'.
If I'm in that area again, I'd definitely give it another go.
Tip- try the iced tea. Yum!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Villa, Illinois
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Tasty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

The atmosphere is great and service was very good. We really enjoyed the food. At 6:30pm on a Friday night we were the only customers but by 7pm the place filled up. A very nice restaurant for a date.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benicia, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

The place has a good vibe to it the food is fantastic had the steak for lunch was delicious very lots of flavor the beet selection is great!! Must in martinez

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norcal
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A real Gem.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

My first visit exceeded my expectations. The food was excellent. I have traveled all over Asia and have eaten in countless Asian restaurants in the US. The Lemongrass Bistro ranks right up there with the best. I have two more dishes to try and can't wait.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lemongrass Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Lemongrass Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lemongrass Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.