We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must-Try in Solden!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gampe Thaya

Gampe Thaya
Ski Run 11, Solden 6450, Austria
(0)664 5250 498
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 37 restaurants in Solden
Cuisines: Austrian, Healthy, Organic
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Delft, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Must-Try in Solden!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Our experience at Gampe Thaya was the highlight of our recent trip to Austria. As others have said, it is truly a gem. We contacted Daniela a few weeks ahead of our visit and made a reservation for dinner (we visited in the summer); Gampe Thaya is usually not open for dinner, but Daniela opens the restaurant for dinner for small parties or special occasions. Daniela and Jakob were so hospitable - she made us feel right as though we were visiting her home. The food was absolutely delicious (everything is grown or raised locally - as in within a few hundred feet away from the restaurant), and Daniela was so nice in describing everything for us. The restaurant itself is operated out of an awesome 300 year old house; during our dinner, we watched a summer storm roll in and pass through the valley - beautiful! Note that it is a little tricky to get to Gampe Thaya, so you may want to contact Daniela and ask her in advance for directions. All in all, a not-to-miss experience in the Alps!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

96% Recommend
    25
    5
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vilnius, Lithuania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice attraction”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Nice attraction to have alpine breakfast there, but not very cheap. Not very easy accesible (25 min on foot, from the road) but thats a point of fun.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NL
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A delicious surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Gampe Thaya is a pure gem on the mountain. Located at the bottom of ski run #11, it is a traditional Austrian hut that serves traditional Austrian food. The prices are reasonable, food is homemade, and there is a nice drink list. It is a wonderful alternative to the massive commercial canteens that blanket the rest of the mountain. One thing you should be mindful of is that it is not a good place to go if you are looking for a “quick bite.” The stop will take at least an hour out of your ski day. That said, it is an hour that is well (and deliciously) spent!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Cosy, family owned restaurant in the mountains”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This place is amazing!
Fresh dairy produce from a herd of cattle owned by the family
Simple Austrian food at reasonable prices
The place is cosy and the service is friendly
We went back almost daily during our ski trip for the delicious apple strudel

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Only place to have lunch while skiing in Solden!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Read reviews on here before going skiing today, and because of bad weather and parts of the resort being closed, we stopped by at 11am for a coffee to scout it before lunch. A beautiful old building with a native and old fashion local style, it creates exactly the kind of relaxed authentic vibe you want having lunch on your skiing holiday. Coming back for lunch was an easy decision, and we didn't regret it. Local ingredients cooked to perfection served by a happy and cheerful staff. We had the house salad and home made sausage, both very tasty and served in a cool way. In terms of price it is roughly the same as the super stressed industrial canteens around the resort, but the quality of the food and the awesome venue makes it a must visit place while skiing in Solden. Going back everyday for the rest of our stay!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gampe Thaya also viewed

Solden, Tirol
Solden, Tirol
 

Been to Gampe Thaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gampe Thaya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.