We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dorfschmiede

Hotel Dorfschmiede
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Dorfschmiede to your Saves list
Hotel Dorfschmiede
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Speckbacherstrasse 24, St Johann in Tirol A-6380, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

We booked a lastminute trip via Inghams with accommodation allocated on arrival, and were absolutely delighted with the Dorfschmiede. Pool, gym, sauna, steam room, hot tub; all free to use. The breakfasts were good and hearty, the evening meals of excellent quality, and great value at 13 euros a head. Warm, friendly, family-run place, also offering the cheapest bike hire in St Johann (at 5 euros a day). The beds were comfortable, the rooms clean and pleasant. o

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peak District, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

It's not the prettiest hotel in St Johann by any means, but the family-run Dorfschmiede is a hidden gem in this picture-postcard town.

The interior is sturdily Austrian, with serviceable decor which is maintained to a high standard and kept impeccably clean. Our standard double room had dark wood furniture including the standard Austrian double bed made up of two (extra wide) single mattresses, a coffee table and two armchairs, plus a desk and chair. There was an old-fashioned TV which received 15 stations including one English language one (BBC Entertainment), and a small but well-equipped bathroom containing a shower and separate toilet. Extras included white terry-towelling bathrobes, hairdryer and a pull-out magnifying mirror over the sink. We also had a balcony complete with chairs and table. Bedding was changed every three days, and towels as often as you liked.

Facilities at the hotel included an outdoor swimming pool and a 'wellness centre' which included Nordic walking equipment, sauna, quiet room and an area offering a huge selection of different teas - all available to guests at no extra cost. There were also lots of books on shelves around the hotel, though most were, of course, in German.

Though we were on a bed and breakfast deal, we opted to eat at the Dorfschmiede most nights we were there. They left the menu for dinner on our breakfast table each day so we could decide whether or not to dine in - and also to pre-order our choice from the three main-course choices offered each day. The menu cost 13 Euros pp, and offered a great selection of local and international dishes, with main courses during our stay including lamb chops, Wiener Schnitzel, duck breast, Tirol-style steak, beef in burgundy, dumplings with bacon, turkey in a herb sauce, Tiroler Grostl (pieces of potato, ham and onion topped with a fried egg), rissotto, and roast pork. The first course was always salad followed by a different appetiser each night (vegetable strudel, russian egg salad, lovely soups etc) and the meal finished with a local-style dessert such as plum dumpling, an Austrian version of panna cotta, sweet omelette or ice cream. Portions were always on the generous side!

Talking of generous, the breakfast buffet made a great start to the day. In addition to a selection of fruit juices and cereal, there were bowls of fruit salad, prunes, wild bilberries and yoghurt to help yourself from. There were also Ryvita-style crackers, several freshly-baked loaves of white, brown or local fruit bread, rolls, croissants, butter, cream cheese, local honey and pots of home-made jam. And that's not counting the array of cheeses, cooked meats and boiled eggs (or bacon on alternating days), plus the large bowl of apples, oranges and nectarines from which you were invited to help yourself at any time during the day.

The hotel is situated on the main street in town, close to the railway crossing, and less than a five-minute walk to the main square. Some of our fellow guests said they found the noise of the trains kept them awake at night, but maybe that's because the weather was so hot (over 100 degrees one day!) we all had to sleep with our balcony doors open. Like many Austrian buildings, the Dorfschmiede is definitely built to retain heat!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

The hotel is nearing the point where it needs a little paintwork updating but having said that it had a shabby chic quality that might be ruined by a more sterile look, it has a great rustic alpine feel. All areas of the hotel were spottlessly clean and all the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast is continental style and there is enough for my wife to complain that 'I am eating too much'. We did have one evening meal in the hotel that was excellent value for money and would have had more, but we elected to have meals at different restaurants each evening. The swimming pool area is great for chilling out after a bit of hiking. The hotel is just a couple of minutes walk from the town centre and is perfectly located for the rail and bus station. Would we return to this hotel? Absolutely, yes.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

I stayed here on an allocation on arrival basis and whilst the hotel was alright overall and the staff friendly enough - the rooms in the main part of the hotel are in need of some serious redecoration. The public rooms are quite nice bit the bedrooms shabby. That said it seemed to be kept very clean and the pool looked nice although I didn't get to use it. I was somewhat offended though, that the travel cot that was supplied for my baby to sleep in was actually a hotel laundry trolley - that they would try and pass off something like that for a child's bed was quite poor.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltcoats, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

We were lucky enough to get this hotel through a last minute Inghams Summer Houses booking. Must admit I was a bit worried about where we'd end up. However, fears unfounded. Hotel was lovely and clean, with pool, jacuzzi, sauna. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Central location for centre of town, station, cable cars, bus station. We had booked b&b, but on arrival we were given a menu for the week and told that if we wished to have our meals any day just to let them know. On looking at the menu, three course meal plus salad buffet, priced at 13 euros each per day, we decided we would eat in the hotel. The meals were lovely, well presented and great value. Breakfast was also plentiful with bacon and eggs every second day, as well as breads, cheeses, meats, cereals etc.

We had a balcony and had lovely views of the mountains.

We have been going to Austria for the past ten years and although our first time in St. Johann I would highly recommend it. It is great for public transport and trips. We went to Kitzbuhel on the train (1 euro 40 cents) and walked back (3 hours walk) and went to Zell am See by train (16 euros each), also up cable car and walked back down.

For coffee and cake we went to a cafe called Picolo's, which is just round from the hotel. For two coffees and apple strudel and cream the cost was approximately 11 euros, a lot cheaper than some places we have visited in Austria.

A great holiday and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2010

Was a bit worried as this was our first allocation on arrival holiday via Lastminute and with Inghams.
Only just over an hour away from Salzburg Airport and a stunning scenic drive.
On arrival we were plesantly surprised at the quality of the Hotel.
The location is centrally located but not in the centre, the only down side is its proximity to the railway - take earplugs and you'll be fine!
The room was basic and dated but cosy and rustic...only thing missing for me really was coffee and tea making facility.
The Hotel was spotless, the room was cleaned every day and sheets changed daily, the cleaner even left extra pillows when we used cushions from the outside seats!!
The Breakfast was good and plenty of choice, cereal, rolls, cheese, meats, egg, cake, croissant etc.
Good places to eat nearby, especially the 'Rustica' about 50m away, ate there 4 times and never had a duff meal (the local Austrian Rose wine was super too!)
We paid £179 so it was belting value for money.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, England
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

we stayed here through an 'accommodation allocated on arrival' deal with a well known travel company at a discounted rate, the room was really very nice and we had a balcony which was an added bonus. We quickly discovered though that we were being treated differently from 'standard' half-board guests, at breakfast, the other guests were able to take unlimited amounts of food from the buffet with them for lunch, this meant fare for us was very limited. At dinner, the people on our rate were at least given 2 choices for dinner but it was a joke, the hotel just about met their contract with the travel company to provide a 3 crse meal, but this was really minimalistic, e.g. an obvious ready meal, supposed to be stroganoff, was served on the first night, 'pan-fried' mushrooms on our last night was in fact frozen bread-crumbed mushrooms that had been baked in the oven, alongside oven-ready potato croquettes, that said, the hotel is ideally located, is central but quiet at night, and, as said above, we got this at a really good discounted rate, but had we paid the full brochure price for this we would not have found this acceptable. The 'icing on the cake' I guess came when our 'early morning breakfast' on our last day was delivered 11 pm the night before, as you can imagine, cheese and ham had fused together in the heat rendering this inedible and contravened food hygiene standards (at least, those that operate in the UK).

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Dorfschmiede? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dorfschmiede

Address: Speckbacherstrasse 24, St Johann in Tirol A-6380, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > St Johann in Tirol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in St Johann in Tirol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dorfschmiede 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Dorfschmiede reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dorfschmiede, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.