We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, terrible service and catering” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Garni Pepi Gabl

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St. Anton am Arlberg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Garni Pepi Gabl
Save
You added Hotel Garni Pepi Gabl to your Saves list
Nassereinegasse 6, St. Anton am Arlberg 6580, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Cobham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, terrible service and catering”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

The Hotel Garni Pepi Gabl has absolutely fantastic location! It is located next to the main lift. You couldn't ask for more in that respect...
Otherwise everything else was very dissapointing for us. It was run by teenagers from Inghams. Our room was poorly furbished, most of the furniture broken... The hotel was occupied mostly by teenagers who decided to have a party every single night. Not only nobody from the staff told them to be quiet (even thought there is a policy of not being noisy after 10pm), but they also joined the party few times. There was never anybody available at the reception to talk to.
I guess this hotel is a real bargain for its location. It is a great place for young people to party. But if you prefere a nice hotel and peaceful sleep, try to look for something else...

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EspritHolidays, UK Head Office at Hotel Garni Pepi Gabl, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Since December 2011 the Hotel Pepi Gabl has been run by Esprit Holidays as a catered chalet with dedicated childcare services. This review comments upon the previous management of the hotel and does not relate to the current operations in any way at all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    16
    13
    13
    1
See reviews for
31
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northamptonshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

We've just got back from this hotel where we stayed with Esprit. Great snow conditions ensured a good break however we had a few gripes. I agree with CharisUK that the management of the hotel was poor. Porridge was the only hot option at breakfast and there was only sugared cereals available, not the best for an 18 month child. After the 4th day they did have a box of Wheatabix in the kitchen it seemed. The only milk available was also UHT so we had to go and buy it for our son. Food in the evening wasn't that great and it wasn't until day 3 that they started giving us chocolates after our meal! There are some very friendly members of staff who try to help but they need more direction.
The childcare was also situated in the basement of a property opposite, the rooms were quite dingy. Again the childcare needed more direction, with the nursery nurses being vague about what they were doing that day with the children.
We stayed in room 15 which was fine apart from the light switches for the bedside lights. These were situated behind our pillows which meant that you could inadvertently turn them on when turning over in bed. Although we can laugh about this now, it wasn't funny when we were mistakedly turning the lights on once or twice a night and were already being woken up by our son who wasn't very comfortable in his cot! The hotel needs to re-site these switches.
The location of the hotel is great, the whole place could have been a great holiday but unfortunately left a lot to be desired.

Room Tip: Don't choose room 15!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

Don't expect wall-to-wall luxury, but a great family hotel regardless.
Comfortable social areas, attractive dining room. Our bedroom was one of the ones not to have been refurbished so it was unfashionable but clean and tidy and most importantly large enough for two travel cots - rare in a ski resort. Refurbished bedrooms were more attractive.
Hotel warm and plenty of hot water. Food good but probably over-complicated for chalet tucker. Wine a bit toxic but free.
Hotel in a FANTASTIC location though, 30 seconds across car park to children's nursery for drop-off. 30 seconds in other direction to main Nasserein gondola and great ski shop and apres bar right next to hotel. If location is more important to you than decor then this is the pace to be.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

We been there during last Xmas. The hotel has the best location in St Anton if you are traveling with kids, just next to the gondola, ski rental and ski school, you could not ask for more, even is almost ski in and out.
The Esprit time is great with the kids, make your life a dream as if you want to be with your family, you could and if you just want to go for a full ski day out by yourself they have activities from 8.30am to 6pm. The night watch also works extremely well (from 7 to 10.30pm).

All good, except if you expect a decent (I am not talking of gourmet or even a nice fish&chips) meal... breakfast was too basic and not well presented. Diner want to be good but failed every night. My opinion is that there is not management!!!!!!!!!! No idea how to run a hotel... not even the basic things. With a minimum effort or expertise they could do 100 times better. Some tosts in the morning and a hot pot at night could be enought to get better.

I have a nice holidays, we have the great idea to order pizzas just from across the street (GREAT!) and visit some traditional Austrian restaurants with great food.

I wont be back to this hotel if I am holidaying just with my partner or bigger kids... I might consider other Esprit hotels just because is perfect for holidays with kids, but I will look for more advise and recommendations before booking. Going back to Pepi if thet have the child services and because the location is worth it!

Room Tip: We have suite 7, GREAT! for 5 people. Never have a bigger room during ski holidays. 2 rooms with nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

We stayed in one of the self catering apartments attached to the Pepi Gabl hotel which are just across the road. This had two separate bedrooms, one double and one twin, a spacious living/cooking area and shower room. Although being downstairs meant that there was no view, the apartment is ideal if you want more space than hotel rooms can offer and the flexibility to eat out or self cater. The position right next to the Nasserein gondola, ski hire shop (with storage) and ski school was ideal and it is a short 10-15 minute walk to the centre of town (and the Spar supermarket). If you go at the end of the season do check restaurants are open as some seemed to be open only on one or two days of the week.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011

Can not get any closer the ski lifts. The staff are amazing. The rooms and breakfast is nice but basic. Accommodation is kept very clean and is the best location in town for skiing and bars.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

I went with my teenage daughter... the hotel was pretty basic but them again it wasnt expensive. The location is brilliant, right next to the lifts and ski school. Just beware eating out in St Anton is pretty expensive and this hotel is just bed and breakfast. If you want to go skiing and just have a hotel to crash this hotel would suit !

Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Garni Pepi Gabl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garni Pepi Gabl

Address: Nassereinegasse 6, St. Anton am Arlberg 6580, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > St. Anton am Arlberg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 54 Hotels in St. Anton am Arlberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chalet Pepi Gabl location is unrivalled being right next to the Nasserein gondola for quick access to the slopes each morning and with St Anton’s charming centre only a short walk away.With a family games/reading room plus a newly furnished lounge there is space for everyone to relax. The lounge will provide an ideal area for parents to mingle before or after dinner and share their day’s experiences.The Wellness area, situated on the lower ground floor, will be a quiet haven for parents where the sauna and whirpool spa bath will ease aching muscles and the exercise machines can be used to maintain tip-top fitness. Children under 13 are not allowed in the Wellness area in order to maintain its relaxing atmosphere for parents. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Garni Pepi Gabl Austria/St. Anton Am Arlberg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Garni Pepi Gabl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.