We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply a little gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alte Post

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Alte Post to your Saves list
Hotel Alte Post
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Dorfstrasse 11, St. Anton am Arlberg A-6580, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Lugano, Switzerland
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Simply a little gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

I spent already a few summers in this little tiny village hiking the sorrounding mountains and I am pleased to recommend this hotel to everybody.
This establishment is located right at the beginning of the pedestrian area nevertheless you have car access to the underground parking lot, which makes things easier when checking-in or out. The hotel reflects the austrian and alpine flair with lots of wood, carpets and other typical touches. Do not expect a stain steel and glass modern building! After all you heading to a mountain village. The staff is very helpful, friendly but not overwhelming. The rooms varies in sizes but they all have a nice and genuine atmosphere. The cuisine is international with a nice Tyrolean touch and if you are not happy with the offerings the staff is always ready to satisfy your wishes. There is a big bar and a café to enjoy your evenings and afternoons.
The SPA area is located in the basement with a nice swimming pool, a jacuzzi, a working out room and a lovely sauna area with dry and herbal rooms, Turkish Bath and a a big resting area with headsets to enjoy some music while resting. And YES! the sauna area has a no bathing clothes policy and no children allowed (it is basically the very normal sauna etiquette) The SPA also provides massages and a different variety of treatments. Different kind of activities are offered during the week. Altogether is great place to relax and spend some quality time, pampered with great staff and lovely cuisine.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    17
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
11
30
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Walton on Thames
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

We have just returned from a weeks skiing in St Anton, Austria. (March 5th - 12th 2011) We stayed at the Alte Post Hotel and were very pleased with our stay. The hotel is excellently located 5 mins walk from the ski lifts and ski rental shops right in the centre of town. We travelled with Inghams and were also very pleased with their service during our stay.

We stayed in a large room on the 3rd floor and had views of the slopes from our room and balcony. We were guests on a half board basis and enjoyed the selection at the breakfast buffet each morning and the 6 course dinner each evening. They offer a set menu each evening consisting of a salad buffet, then starter, soup, main course, cheese board and desert. Each evening this is most welcome after a hard day on the slopes, but its not so good for the waistline! The food was exceptionally good fine dining, the staff were very attentive and if the menu was too much you could always swap out a course or ask for a simpler dinner such as wiener schnitzel. The food was of a very high standard and the chef does an exceptional job every day. The only thing you have to pay for is drinks, including water as they do not provide tap water but only bottled still water, and that was quite expensive at 5€ a pop for a litre bottle.

In the afternoon the hotel lays on a complementary Apres Ski snack which is in the hotel bar area. The menu is different every day and could be bread with ham and cheese, pork steaks with rice, sausage and noodle soup etc. Every day there is also a cake selectionl, so its well worth making your way back to the hotel if you want a more relaxing Apres Ski experience with free food.


There is a very large ski and boot room in the hotel, which has a side access slightly nearer the slopes than through the main entrance to the hotel. However, we chose to rent locker space at the ski hire shop as it was right at the bottom of the piste and prevented us having to walk 5 mins with our skis and boots at the end of every day!!



We used the sauna and spa area a couple of times. The sauna area is adults only (and the request is that you are naked under your hotel towel) and is good for relaxing. There was a steam room, sauna, ice room and another herbal steam room, but the latter was not working when we were there. There are a number of showers with different types of water jets and also a relaxation area which is very spacious. We also had a couple of massages in the beauty area which were good and reasonably priced. There is a swimming pool and jacuzzi but the jacuzzi is with cool water rather than hot, as seems to be the custom with other hotels we have stayed at in Austria. We didn't use the pool as it was completely taken over by families with kids during the pre dinner period so it was far too noisy for us, but there was no problem with the facility that I could see.

The only caution I would stress to anyone staying at the hotel is that the central location has its pro and cons. Our room overlooked the outside bar and during Apres Ski the music is very loud and can be clearly heard in your bedroom, so if you were planning a pre dinner nap or relaxation time it would be very difficult to do with the noise. Then in the evening/night time there are a number of night revellers out in the pedestrianised areas in the town that are very noisy and the sound does travel into the bedroom and can go on until 3 or 4 am on certain nights of the week. It did make it very difficult to sleep on a number of nights. Our room also overlooked the 'Funky Chicken' bar and restaurant and on certain nights of the week they have big evenings and the crowds outside in the queues to get in or smoking on the outside terrace again are very loud. None of this is within the control of the hotel and it is not the fault of the hotel, its just worth noting as the hotel is just a victim of being located in the Apres Ski capital of Austria.

If you go please visit the Krazy Kangaroo for Apres Ski. We had the most fun there and the ski back to town afterwards is very sobering, especially as night falls. Enjoy the Jagermeister shots, and if you have any energy left you can go to Piccadilly about 5 mins walk from the hotel. If you are indulging in the Apres ski the town night life noise will not bother you, but if you are hoping for quiet nights in your hotel room to rest and relax the outside street noise may be a problem for you.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

I had a terrible experience at this hotel, initially we booked 2 rooms for a crazy price of $350 per room per night, based on 4 people total, upon checkin they said they only had us down for 1 person per room or 2 total. they tried to charge us an additional $181 per person per night for the tiny studio style rooms! i spent 4 days arguing with the front desk, trying to get out of our contract, or trying to get them to honor thier initial booking. we ended up having to pay an additional $700 dollars at the end. the studio style rooms face the street and partiers walk past your room chanting and screeming until 6am, i got no sleep here! plus the staff was rude and our room smelled like pee. save your money stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HERTS
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

We arrived late afternoon on our motorbikes and were directed to the underground carpark where the bikes were warm and safe. Check in was efficient and we were asked if we needed any special arrangements for dinner as it was BBQ night. The room was lovely and we were provided with bathrobes, slippers and towels for the pool. After a quick walk we used the lovely pool and jacuzzi set in a conservatory overlooking the mountains as well as the sauna and steam room. It was lovely to have complimentary iced tea available as well as extra clean dry towels in the pool area. Dinner was delicious as was breakfast the next morning (my boiled eggs were perfect). The only area for improvement was that one of the waitresses was trying to serve dinner and do the bar so she was a bit stretched. However it looks like this is really the end of the summer season so the hotel was quiet so perfectly understandable and we didn't wait long. The room was comfortable and the shower was powerful and with loads of hot water. Would have loved to have stayed more than the one night but we had a lot of miles to cover and had to move on.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
israel
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2010

great location , in the center , near the ski lift, regular room is like room in 3 stars hotel .
diner served 6 courses decorated very nice but not so tasty.
the toilet paper - not soft at all....

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

Spent one week at that hotel with my husband and our 2 kids in August 2009.
We had been there already for a few days in July and wanted to return for the hotel is conveniently located in the village, offers comfortable and quiet pleasant suites, has a wonderfully dedicated staff and a great wellness area. Besides, the price-quality ratio is really worthwhile.
The region is a real nice one. We could either enjoy a few hours in the wellness area or have a walk in the surronding mountains. For kids, try the so-called "supersauser" (summer sledge) only 10 mns away by car in the valley.
Definitely, awonderful place for a holiday break!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2009

We stayed at the Alte Post for a week with Crystal Lakes and Mountains and realy enjoyed the trip.The galzig suites are exelent with realy nice views from the balconys well worth the extra. The wellness centre with the saunas and pool is also great after a good days walk in the exelent scenery around St Anton.We stayed half board the five coarse evening meals were exelent and so was the service from the waitresses who could not do enough to please the guests.We take a trip to the alps yearly and stay in 4* and 5* hotels and would put alte post in the exelent value rating.and at the time we traveled crystals are giving a free mountain lift pass which is worth £30 per peson.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Alte Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alte Post

Address: Dorfstrasse 11, St. Anton am Arlberg A-6580, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > St. Anton am Arlberg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
#5 Spa Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
#8 Luxury Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
#10 Romantic Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Alte Post 4.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Tingo and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Alte Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Alte Post Hotel St. Anton Am Arlberg
Best Western St. Anton Am Arlberg
St. Anton Am Arlberg Best Western
Alte Post Best Western
Hotel Alte Post Austria/St. Anton Am Arlberg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alte Post, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.