We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five star accomodations and food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gletscherblick

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Gletscherblick to your Saves list
Hotel Gletscherblick
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St. Jakober Dorfstr. 35 | 6580 St. Anton Am Arlberg, St. Anton am Arlberg 6580, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“Five star accomodations and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Our ski group of 5 guys from Calgary, Alberta, Canada rented out the Chalet, which is in a separate building near the main hotel, for 6 days. We didn't know what to expect but we ended up extremely happy with this place. The accommodations were excellent. They included 3.5 modern bathrooms, 3 large size bedrooms, living room, dining room and kitchen. Also included was a sauna and foosball table in the basement. Breakfast had a wide variety of hot and cold selections including fresh fruit and juice. The afternoon snack after the ski lifts had closed was great. And the evening dinner menus each night were multi-course meals that were 5-star rated in our opinion. One area for improvement was that the fondue dinner with raw meat slices was a bit difficult to execute. Thank you for a pleasant surprise on our far away ski vacation.

Room Tip: For large groups of 5 or more, ask to rent the chalet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
28
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Our group of 6 rented the chalet connected with the hotel and found that the space was even more spacious and comfortable than we had expected based on our research before our trip. We stayed for 6 nights and ate dinner in the hotel two nights (the Gala menu on Sunday and the Italian evening on Thursday), and had breakfast every morning at the hotel. The things we loved about this place:

- The chalet was enormous (3 bedrooms, 2 full baths, 2 half baths, and a downstairs rec room with a sauna, shower, and another half bath)

- This place is CLEAN. I literally looked around every day and made note of just how clean everything was in both the chalet and the hotel. The bathrooms were spotless, the cleaning service was extremely thorough. Certainly no cleanliness problems here!

- The service is really beyond anything I have ever experienced at even the most expensive, upmarket business hotels. We dealt primarily with Sondra, who really was the one who made our stay extra special. Sondra was available to help us at every step of our trip- from answering a few emails before we arrived, to making sure our group was doing everything we wanted to be at all times. Sondra scheduled an off-piste guide for us and a ski instructor for one member of our group, she recommended great restaurants in the town, she made sure one of our group's skis were delivered straight to the chalet after the airline lost them on our way to Austria, and she even followed up with one of our guides who overcharged us, making it her mission to get our money back. We had a running joke in our group for any question or issue that came up- "Call Sondra!" Stuck in Dusseldorf on a plane? Call Sondra. Stuck in some trees during an off-piste run? Call Sondra! Of course, this isn't to also say that the rest of the team isn't fantastic: the front desk staff, Sondra's husband who greeted us all with a welcome toast at the beginning of the week, and our really really fabulous restaurant servers were all incredibly friendly, helpful, thoughtful- the list goes on. These people make our stay enjoyable.

- Food was excellent. The amazing breakfast each morning kept us from even needing lunch on the mountains most days, and the dinners were really superb. We tried a few restaurants in town, but ended up loving the hotel dinners so much because they were so friendly and cozy, that we ate here two times during our 6 night stay.

- Great location: Right next to a bus stop that will take you directly to the lift of your choice (3 minutes to Nasserein, 6 or 7 minutes to the main bus terminal and lift). Gletsherblick provided us with free passes to leave our skis and boots down at the lifts, so all we had to do was wear our ski clothes and shoes right to the bus and zip down to the place where our ski equipment was located. Very easy and right out our door.

I do plan on staying at Gletsherblick again, and will most definitely recommend this to others.

We saw families, couples, and groups of friends all traveling together- all seemed to be having a wonderful time.

Room Tip: We only stayed in the chalet- but absolutely recommendable for a group who wants to stay together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosvow
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

We were here with family and enjoyed the very friendly atmosphere - like a bigger family.
The rooms were nice and big enough for two grown ups and a kid.
The spa was nice and not crowded.
The buss to the ski lift system 50 m away and running every 15 min - we however toke the same every morning.
The food was above expectation - new year with 8 courses. We tested the wine list - the Austria part - and found it more than ok.
The overall impression very nice and as stated not the least very friendly.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

We stayed two nights and found it to be in every respect perfect - the food, the room, the cleanliness, the atmosphere, and even the owners and family staff. We thought the property was built in the last few months, but it has been there quite a while; it just has that "new hotel" feel and smell.
The family even have a quaint little hut out back in the snow where they serve warm spiced wine and snacks at sunset - what a great Alpine experience!
Couldn't have asked for a better all-around stay, and we'll definitely plan to stay there again.
Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for one on the top floor or with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I loved everything about Hotel Gletscherblick. The staff were very friendly, helpful and always ready to go the extra mile. On arrival I was picked up (for free) from the train station. I got a free room upgrade too which was very nice. It was very clean and tidy with a cable TV. Free Wifi internet was available throughout the hotel (although a bit temperamental at times but fast and was able to link many devices at the same time). The views from the room were breathtaking. Sandra, the hotel owner, was very helpful. She helped me to plan the hikes and activities during my stay particularly as some of the cable cables don’t operate all week.

Food: I was very impressed with the quality of the food. Breakfast was varied and delicious. The morning leaflet provided with breakfast included details about the weather, suggested activities and what is happening in town that day. Translating it from German was fun! The dinner menu was there too for you to decide on your choices. If you are hiking that day, Manuela (who is in charge of the restaurant) will hand you a free packed lunch (delicious sandwiches, fruits and cereal bars). Perfect!
Dinner was prepared by chef Wolfgang and team. The 3-course menu had a different theme each day. The quality was fantastic and delicious every single day.

Facilities: I hired a bike from the hotel (for free) and had a great time. The sun terrace (with amazing views across the valley) was perfect to relax after a whole day hiking and cycling. Free delicious cakes were available from 4pm too. There is a modern gym room and sauna/wellness rooms and were free to use.

The area: St Anton am Alberg is a nice town with shops (a lot of sports shops!) and restaurants nearby. It is very well linked by trains to Innsbruck, Vienna, and Zurich. There is a wide network of hiking and cycling paths and huts. The views are stunning.

I would like to thank all the staff at Hotel Gletscherblick for their great hospitality and for making my stay at the hotel so lovely.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberursel (Taunus), Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Our stay at the Hotel Gletscherblick in February 2013 was memorable. The hotel was in excellent conditions. The service and attention to details from the Jehle-Kathrein family and Gletscherblick staff was exceptional. The hotel location is a short 5 minute bus ride from the ski slopes, away from all the noise and 'craziness' of St. Anton. The food (and afternoon snacks) was superb. The kids loved the hotel, the friendliness and activities in and around the hotel. We are definitely going back and recommend this hotel without hesitation.

Room Tip: For the price difference, I recommend to get a suite if traveling with your family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Our family stayed at Hotel Gletscherblick for ski break February 2013. Our children summed it up in one word - AMAZING! It was definitely a 5 star experience. Excellent service, food, location and skiing. We loved it so much, we are going back. So glad we found this place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Gletscherblick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gletscherblick

Address: St. Jakober Dorfstr. 35 | 6580 St. Anton Am Arlberg, St. Anton am Arlberg 6580, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > St. Anton am Arlberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
#2 Spa Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
#3 Luxury Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
#3 Family Hotel in St. Anton am Arlberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gletscherblick 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello, and welcome to Hotel Gletscherblick!We are very pleased to welcome you to our homepage, and hope that you will enjoy exploring our wonderful hotel, culinary specialties, as well as all the fun summer and winter activities available in these beautiful parts of the Tyrolean Alps. Of course St Anton is mostly famous for its Alpine skiing, exciting apres ski, shopping and nightlife, but in addition to all that we offer our guests a peaceful, familiar and authentic Tyrolean home in the mountains. We have various types and combinations of rooms and suites, many of which are perfect for families with children. We are certain that you are looking forward to your holiday here in St. Anton am Arlberg, and honestly: we understand. We are the Jehle-Kathrein family, and we will be here for you with lots of personal commitment during your holiday - regardless whether you spend your summer or winter holiday at our hotel, the Landhaus cottage, or at the chalet. Sincerely yours, the Jehle-Kathrein family ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Gletscherblick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gletscherblick Austria/St. Anton Am Arlberg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gletscherblick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.