We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alpina Deluxe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Alpina Deluxe to your Saves list
Hotel Alpina Deluxe
Kressbrunnenweg 12 | 6456 Obergurgl, Obergurgl 6456, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 35 Hotels in Obergurgl
Tunbridge Wells
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We have just booked our fourth trip to the Alpina for our pre-Christmas ski. We first stayed at the hotel in 2005. The family Platzer and their staff are absolutely wonderful (although like other reviewers we did notice last year that the bar staff were not as friendly as in previous years). Warm welcome. Great bar area/lounge opening into the orangery type area when you can sit and soak up the sun during the day with a good book after the spa (if skiing isn't your thing). Exquisite modern (luxury) boot room - marble seating no less - with modern boot warmers and absolutely acres of space. Boots and skis having separate sections. You can walk straight from the bootroom onto the piste. Turn left and you ski down the the links into Hochgurgl; turn right and you can (with a bit of walking on the flat first) ski down into Obergurgl to catch the bubble. Lovely ski area and snowsure with it. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    17
    5
    6
    2
See reviews for
46
34
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Our third stay on consecutive Easters. The Alpina maintains as high a standard as ever. They were very understanding about the fact that one of our party had to cancel at short notice.

Another review commented that the run back to the hotel had changed and it is no longer possible to get as close. Perhaps this was just a temporary change in how the run was groomed, but at Easter I did not notice any difference from previous years. The only factor affecting how close I could get was how slushy the snow was and how much of it had melted (it was April!). And how much speed you dare build up on the slope down, so that you can carry the speed on the flat bit to the hotel.

Other reviews have commented on loud family groups in the restaurant at Easter. I did not notice this, so perhaps our group was in a quieter part of the restaurant (we were near where the owner's family sit). We did, however, notice some poorly behaved children and teenagers (sad to say they were my countrymen, English) in the pool/spa. As I said in my previous review, I do think the Alpina could do more to police this, so that a few families don't spoil things for everyone else.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Spent a lovely week at the Alpina with another family making a total group of 9. Spacious clean & comfortable rooms. Great facilities such as gym, spa and swimming pool which were all welcome after a good days skiing. Everything is done to make life easy from the ski hire to the boot room leading out to the slopes. If I had a niggle at all it was that our group craved some slightly simpler food in the evening. However it was delicious and we were never hungry! I agree with a previous review that there is a big difference between the fantastic dining room staff (special mention to the wonderful Ivana) and the slightly serious bar staff in the lounge area. Perhaps Ivana should spend some time with them?? On another note about there being large groups (earlier review) if you choose to go in the school holidays you are bound to find families wanting to ski together - try booking a week or 2 earlier!!
One more thing to add - my husband found his mattress (austrian twin) too hard and when he asked if there was any chance of changing it for a softer one it was done immediately - very impressed.

Room Tip: Jacuzzi suite E very spacious and great for family of 4 (not quite the same as interconnecting thoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leics.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Just back from a fantastic week at the Alpina. A lovely Austrian hotel that was clean and comfortable with an excellent range of facilities for skier and non-skier alike. The service in the restaurant was first class, the food truly exceptional. The waiter service on the terrace was occasionally a little slow but no real issue.
I would agree with a previous comment that there were many large family groups in the hotel but as we were staying over Easter, no real surprise. We'll definitely return again and would recommend to others

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Just got back from our 6th visit in 8 years to The Alpina. This has been based on the wonderful experiences we have enjoyed previously, despite a few reservations over small niggling issues. The overall impression of the hotel has not changed, but is getting a little tired in some areas. Still a good hotel however and the Platzers try very hard to make it a stay to remember. However we noticed that the general atmosphere has been getting a little too package holiday type, over the last few years. This year it reached it's peak. Staff outside the restaurant were not the most responsive, but the staff in the restaurant Antonio, Roland and Ivana were very very attentive and were working their hearts out. They are a great asset and we always look forward to seeing them. The dining experience was a little disappointing this year due the large number of groups who were very loud. Mainly British. Dining here is such a treat and I would suggest amongst some of the best you will get Skiing so the meal should be savoured. I think it would be best to put all the groups together in one room. The noise level and resulting ambience forced us to miss some meals and dine at another hotel just to get some peace. Obergurgl is a superb resort and we will be returning for many more years to come, but sadly next time it will be at another hotel. Sorry Alpina, but thanks for the previous years.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

This is the first time we have skied in Obergurgl and we couldn't have found a better hotel. The staff were friendly and couldn't do enough to help, the food was superb - Michelin star standard and the rooms were comfortable and clean. Our waitress Ivana was superb, looking after us and making our stay a very special one. We celebrated a birthday and anniversary within our group and it was a lovely touch that the owners also came out to the restaurant to offer their congratulations. When we checked out we were presented with a lovely signed cookbook with the chef's signature dishes in - all in all a fantastic holiday!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort, Netherlands
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

We've been to the Alpina a number of times now. Always in the winter to go skiing in Oberhurgl/Hochgurgl. And Alpina is still amazing.

Rooms: clean, big, well furnished, etc. We always have a room facing south, which has better views (in my opinion) and a lot more sun. We had a category D room and we just loved it. It is very spacy and has everything you need.

Wellness/Spa/Sauna: They have plenty of room in there: several different sauna, jacuzzi, steam room, enough room to relax, including a silent area, free tea, etc. Of course usage of the wellness area is included in your room price. If you want a massage or something, this is in a different area, but very affordable and certainly worth going to.

Restaurant: superb! Every day a 5 course dinner, with one 'gala' evening with a 7-course dinner. The quality of the food is amazing and the service is excellent. We've been to the Alpina a number of times, and the food is still amazing.
We never had lunch here, so I can't comment. Breakfast is very good: plenty of choice in terms of cereals, fruit, bread, meats, cheese, etc. etc. And you can also get eggs in any style you like.
More into hot breakfast? Also present :-)
The only problem we had this year was the kids. Normally dinner starts at 18:00 for families with children and at 19:00 dinner starts for the other guests. This year a number of families with kids had dinner at 19:00. In itself no problem, but a number of kids where loud, walking around, etc. That is something that should be different. I guess it was just the two families....

In general the personnel is very, very friendly and very helpful. E.g. I needed a large bathrobe. I called the reception, within 5 minutes someone showed up at our room with several bathrobes to choose from :-)

As far as skiing is concerned: very good! Not a very large ski area, but large enough to spend a week. And the alpine has a large ski locker room, with heated racks to store your ski booths.

All in all: you can not go wrong with the Alpina. Even tough it is a pretty expensive hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the south side
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Alpina Deluxe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alpina Deluxe

Address: Kressbrunnenweg 12 | 6456 Obergurgl, Obergurgl 6456, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Obergurgl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Obergurgl
#6 Family Hotel in Obergurgl
#7 Spa Hotel in Obergurgl
#9 Romantic Hotel in Obergurgl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Alpina Deluxe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpina Deluxe Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alpina Deluxe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.