We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gotthard-Zeit

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Gotthard-Zeit to your Saves list
Hotel Gotthard-Zeit
Obergurgl 6456, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 35 Hotels in Obergurgl
Frensham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Stayed for a week from 10th Jan 2014. This is our first time at this hotel and we have been completely won over! We have stayed at a number of different hotels in Obergurgl and now this is our favourite and we will be booking up again for next year.
The Hotel is ideally situated with ski in and ski out to the lifts below. The owners and staff are superb - very attentive and friendly which gives a great atmosphere throughout the hotel.
The Spa was a happy surprise as we hadn't really looked at it online as we prefer to ski most of the day. However, when we visited the spa we were delighted with the size and facilities available. You can relax in the relaxation area overlooking the run down to the village and watch people skiing back. Brilliant.
The restaurant and food was very good. An excellent breakfast buffet including hot and cold food. A six course dinner with a huge selection of wines.
The staff in the hotel bar and restaurant were very good at remembering your name and what you preferred to drink, etc which I find very impressive. Well done Hotel Gotthard.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    6
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
24
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

A smaller hotel in Obergurgl with an excellent ski in ski out location. Service was very good without being overbearing. The waitresses in the restaurant were superb, great with the kids and made every meal a delight. Breakfast and dinner were excellent, very varied, evening meal of 7 courses and wine and drinks not too expensive, relatively. Great views from the restaurant over the piste and the village. Boot room is a little tight but has enough heated boot racks etc and is very close to the piste without any stairs to climb. The Hotel sits just above the main Hohe Mut gondola and the Rosskarbahn 4 man chair so it is a short ski down to the ski school meeting point or either lift. Very convenient if you have kids. Great verandah overlooking the piste and village for apres ski drinks and they provide free snacks from 3 to 4:30ish to coincide with the lifts closing. Rooms were a good size, 2 west facing balcony rooms with 2 people in each with plenty of storage space. They can sleep 4 which would be a bit cosy. If you do share with the kids then there is a curtain you pull across to divide the room. The spa area is very modern and well laid out and you can sit in the sauna overlooking the slopes or in the large hot tub with snow falling on your head. It can get a little busy at "rush hour" between ski-ing and dinner but pick the right time and it is a delight. Obergurgl is an ideal resort for beginners and intermediates. Ski school was excellent, good english speaking and a lot of fun for the kids. Hochgurgl ski area easy to get to which adds a bit more area to ski. Not terribly challenging main slopes but there seemed to be a lot of off piste. A lot of people keep going back to Obergurgl and many keep returning to the Gotthard. We will be back!

Room Tip: Best rooms are the south facing balcony suites. The hotels own website has very clear descriptions o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

... if you are in search of a perfect hotel, stylish and elegant, yet cosy since rather small. The hotel has a personal touch, the owners are always around, always helpful and friendly. We usually spent our ski holidays in off season and were a bit overwhelmed with the additional noise and stress during the Easter schoolbreak. The elevator was constantly blocked by playing children, the hotel pool area was incredibly loud, occupied by youngsters playing watersports.
School holidays are definitely the time for children and even ourselves come with children. But is was unfortunate to see that parents did not control at all their youngsters, even driving the management mad.
Otherwise, we feel the hotel getting better and better by the years, and the extra 'SUPERIOR' is well-earned, indeed!

Thank you, dear Scheiber-Family, for a wonderful stay and we are already looking forward to see you again in 2014!

R.K.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We have just returned from having spent yet another most enjoyable week at the Hotel Gotthard - our 20th consecutive year in this wonderful hotel.

We have never stayed anywhere else in Obergurgl, as the Koll - Schieber family always look after us so well. They make us feel so welcome and nothing is too much trouble for them. The customer is king, and they really know what good cuistomer service is all about - all the staff are simply wonderful, after all these years we feel it`s like staying with friends.

We always stay in a south facing room with a balcony where we can enjoy the panoramic views, the cuisine for both breakfast and dinner is absolutely excellent, amazingly it gets better each year! The hotel is the perfect location for "door to door" skiiing, the best in Obergurgl, and we enjoy the delicious cakes provided on our return from a days skiing - a nice touch. The spa area is very well appointed, and the perfect place to relax following a day skiing on the magificent well pisted runs in the Hochgurgl/Obergurgl area.

The Hotel Gotthard is an enjoyable and memorable customer experience which is not to be missed. We look forward to returning for our annual skiing holiday for many years to come. We have already made our reservation for March 2014. Thank you family Koll-Schieber you have a class act!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

After visiting Obergurgl every year since 1987 and staying in several hotels in the resort, we found that the Hotel Gotthard was excellent in every respect. Friendly staff.
Excellent access for skiing, good food and public areas and accommodation. Excellent pool, sauna, relaxation, wellness salon and spa area.
Returning to this hotel in 2014 this being our third time at this hotel.
We are generally a party between 7 to 10 friends holidaying together.

Room Tip: Book Early to stand a chance of getting a room in this hotel at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We have been to Obergurgl 4 times now, but this was our first stay at the Gotthard. Well I don't think I will stay anywhere else. It is in a fantastic ski-in ski-out location with amazing views. The service and food are fantastic too, with great choices at breakfast and dinner. The rooms were spacious and very warm and comfortable. The spa is probably the best spa I have ever been to, it is just amazing with the outdoor jacuzzi overlooking the village.
I can now understand why they have so many returning guests, and I will hopefully be returning myself next year. Thank you to all staff at the wonderful Gotthard-Zeit.

Room Tip: We had a suite with a balcony, the balcony was great for airing clothes and of course keeping the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This was our first visit to Obergurgl and the Hotel Gotthard. We were not disappointed. From the incredible efficiency of all the staff to the spotless spa - it's amazing. A big 10/10. I understand why people return year on year and I hope to be amonst them.

Room Tip: I'd like to think they're all as good as ours!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Gotthard-Zeit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gotthard-Zeit

Address: Obergurgl 6456, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Obergurgl
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Obergurgl
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Gotthard-Zeit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gotthard Zeit

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gotthard-Zeit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.