We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hannes

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Niederau
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Hannes
Save
You added Hotel Hannes to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wiesweg | 226, Niederau 6314, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Niederau
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed here for the first two weeks in August. This was our 13th visit to Niederau, our 4th summer one but our first visit to the Hannes. We arrived quite late (9.30 pm ish) and Hannes (junior) provided us with a 3 course hot meal. He was very welcoming and it was nice after a long hot day travelling. Our room was a good size overlooking the front door but traffic/general noise was not an issue. The shower room was a good size too, towels are changed twice weekly and I think it was a Sunday that the rooms aren't serviced. There was loads of storage space and ample hangers in the wardrobe plus an electronic safe. The shower room was of adequate size too with a little bar of soap and mini shower gels plus a hairdryer. Bear in mind that an "Austria twin" room will be one solid double bed base but with two single mattresses and two single duvets. We found the beds comfy - we did mean to ask for extra pillows as Austrian ones tend to be very soft and flat but never got around to it. The balcony had a table and two chairs with fantastic views of the area - but you'll get that from any room. The reception area is nice as is the dining room which leads out to a sitting area. We had a walk downstairs around the spa area - there are toilets, showers, towels, big sitting/relaxing area, sauna and steam room. All looked very clean and tidy but we had no need to use it - better for winter as it was so hot. Breakfasts consisted of a choice of 3 cereals, different breads, toast, a selection of meats, cheese, yogurt, tinned fruit, orange juice, a variety of jams and we also asked for boiled eggs a few mornings. Dinner was served at 6.30 pm - for us this wasn't an issue as we were normally always out in the mornings for 9.00 am but we wouldn't like this restriction in winter because of the fun apres ski we have in Niederau! The starter was always soup and they were all delicious but sometimes after a day of walking in 35+ degree heat, maybe not the best thing to be eating lol! The main course was always hearty food such as wiener schnitzel, beef stew, pork chops, fish, chicken breast, pasta spag bol etc. We had a veggie at our table too and dinner for her was never a problem even though sometimes there was no veggie option on the menu. Accompaniments were usually boiled potatoes, chips, potato croquettes, peas, rice and/or salad. Desserts were usually fresh fruit salad (never tinned), ice cream, apple strudel, cake or chocolate mousse. Because we were there two weeks we did have most of the meals twice but this wasn't an issue for us. You will most likely be seated with other people at dinner which is the norm in Austria.

There is a bus stop across the road from the hotel at the petrol station and also one in front of the fire station. This is also the Bummelbahn stop which is a leisure train which runs every hour between the five villages in the valley. A weekly ticket is 15 euro. You will also be issued with the Wildschoenau Guest Card on arrival. This entitles you to free unlimited use of the gondolas in Niederau and Auffach and also the gondola in Alpbach. Oddly however the new gondola from Auffach's Schatzberg mountain down to Inneralpbachtal isn't open in summer. So, although you can walk from the top of the Schatzberg mountain in Auffach to Alpbach, you will have to get the train and bus back to the Wildschoenau or else climb back up the mountain!! You will get a little booklet which will advise you of other entitlements on your guest card such as free entry to the pool area and the farmers museum.

There is a Spar next door to the hotel which is handy for snacks, wine, beer, fruit etc. There's a pizza place here too - excellent massive pizzas but they do other hot food too. There's a larger supermarket about a 5 min walk away in the direction of Oberau. The open air pool is about half an hr's walk away mostly on a path away from the main road. The tennis courts are just another 2-3 min walk beyond the pool. The tourist info office is at the pool - you can pick up a leaflet which will tell you the events for the week. The Markbachjoch gondola is about a 10 min walk away, though you could prob do it in 5. The travel agent for booking trips (if you're not with a tour company) is just on the corner as you walk towards the gondola. There is only one shop in Niederau village apart from the supermarkets - Woergl is the nearest town so you can get a bus to there, about a 15 min ride from Niederau. If you are a serious walker get yourself a decent walking map in the Spar - the one the reps will give you isn't good enough. There's also a booklet that comes with the map with suggestions for walks from all the villages.

Oberau is prob about a 45 min walk from the hotel - if you do only one thing your entire holiday make sure its a visit to the Konditorei (cake/coffee shop) in Oberau. Walk out of the village in the direction of Auffach. You will pass a big Spar on the right and at the bottom of the hill is the Moorhof cafe - amazing cakes!! Another must-do is Schrofen on a Saturday. This is a mountain restaurant that the Bummelbahn train runs to. There is live Austrian music from 2-5pm which is free - just pay for your food and drink AND you fill in your own bill which the waitress will tot up at the end of the day. If you're very lucky there's a local lady who sometimes is there who will get up and yodel along with the band but she only does when the Sunshine Duo are playing, so I've been told. There is also free music by the Schatzberg Duo in the Dorfstub'n at the Schneeberger Hotel (on the road to Woergl) on a Tuesday night. Again about a 5 min walk from the hotel. Niederau village band also have a free concert every Wednesday night behind the church in the gondola car park and there are little food and drink stalls set up. Go reasonably early if you want a seat. About a 5-10 min walk from the hotel. The Simmelwirt Hotel (almost opposite the church) is a nice place to sit for a drink after a hard day's walk and watch the world go by. The Bichlwirt at the opposite end of the village to the hotel (past the Harfenwirt and Christoffel hotels) is a very old, traditional Austrian bar is nice for a quiet drink - the reps hold their quiz night (Mon?) in the back room which is fun and sometimes Herbert the owner will play the harp but this is a bit random - you might have to ask which night. Prob a good 20-30 min walk from the hotel. The Talfest (valley festival) is on every year in the Wildschoenau - the 2nd weekend in August and runs from a Thur-Sun. It's in Auffach next year and then Niederau the year after. There are free shuttle buses that run to it between the villages. Consists of a big tent, stalls, live bands, local brass bands and a parade on the Sunday. It's free entry on the Thursday night and Sunday afternoon.

We'll definitely stay in the Hannes again next summer as we found our hosts Reggie and Hannes very welcoming and chatty. The food was wholesome and the whole hotel very clean and tidy. The location is really good too. The only reason we wouldn't stay in winter is that the 6.30 pm dinner time would eat into our apres ski time but that is just a personal thing. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: I think the front of the hotel would have the better views though the rooms at the back get amazing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    26
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
36
64
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Prudhoe, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

although this small hotel does have a lot to offer i am afraid there are certain issues that future guests should be aware of if they are considering staying here.regarding the restaurant and food !! firstly there is only one sitting for the evening meal which is 6.30 pm there is no flexibility as everyone is expected to dine at the same time.this does impact on a day's walking or sightseeing as you have to be back early to prepare for your evening meal ie a shower or pre meal drink. secondly the food !! this is three courses, the first course is always soup, no other choice, you are not served or offered bread to go with the soup. i can appreciate that hot soup would be most welcome in the winter but not in hot summer months. there is a basic salad buffet which is only served twice a week, the second course is a choice of two meals, an example being a meat dish or an omelette.these are usually served with potatoe croquettes or similar and frozen vegetables we never had freshly cooked vegetables the whole week the sweet was fruit cocktail from a tin or cake or mousse.. we never saw any fresh fruit during our stay there is a small bar/lounge area which is supposed to open between the hours of 4.00 pm and 11.00 pm.we were enjoying a drink in the lounge one evening with some friends when the owner asked us to leave as he was shutting the bar at 10.00pm. this has never happened to us in a hotel before and we felt quite insulted. it appeares that the bar is only open when it is convenient to the owner and was never open after 10.00pm.for your information towels are only changed twice a week and bed linen was not changed during our weeks stay.it gives me no pleasure to be negative about this hotel because as stated it offers a lot regarding location, nice rooms etc. but i do get the impression that this hotel may be run for convenience of the owners rather than the paying guests.
on a positve note it is usual in austria to share a table at meal times and we were fortunate enough to meet a great couple from manchester.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2weeks at the end of June, we had 3 rooms at the front that had connecting balcony's which was great with amazing views over the valley. Cannot fault anything, breakfasts are great and plentiful, dinners are 3 course which you choose from a menu at breakfast and tasted great. Hannes senior is a fantastic chef, wife Reggie serves always with a smile and banter with our 2 little ones, Hannes junior is a legend! Will do anything for you to make your stay the best. Missing the place already. Cant wait to go back in Winter again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Beautiful location, short flight and transfer and value for money. I have been in France and Andorra before and this is the best place I have found for ski holidays. Warm friendly staff, nice food and the hotel decoration is definitely what you expect for a hotel like this...Nice views! I recommend Hotel Hannes and the beautiful town of Niederau.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Recently returned from a weeks stay in the hotel Hannes, booked last minute, first time in Austria so not sure what to expect however myself and family had a brilliant time in this lovely hotel.
Having skied and boarded in France and Andorra for 10 years thought we would try Austria for a change, also the first skiing trip since having my daughter a year ago.
The flight was short, only 1h 45, and th transfer only 1 hour so perfect for travelling with an infant. The resort of Niederau was lovely and picturesque. The staff upon arrival were friendly and helpful, they hadn't had request from the booking company regarding the cot, they quickly sorted this and there was one brought up within 10 minutes.
The rooms were spacious, clean, warm and comfortable. The food was plentiful, lots of choice at breakfast time. The family that own and run the hotel were all friendly and helpful. Reggie (the lady of the hotel) even took my daughter some mornings whilst I had breakfast! Even though this was the last week of the season, nothing was too much trouble, plenty of fresh snow into the bargain! Would recommend to anyone

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Things I wanted to know , first of all the flight is only 1 hr 20 mins from gatwick, the transfer by coach is just over an hour so all in all not to long a journey.
The hotel has an English no smoking rule which was nice for us non smokers, unfortunately the bars are not the same in town.
The rooms are cleaned every day, the tv is limited in English speaking channels, just two which was mostly the news. So ideal to take an iPad with movies if you have one. Our room had a fixed hair dryer so no need to take your own.
The food was lovely with a choice of two meals at tea time, the only downside to the evening meal was that you had to pay for your drinks , would of been nice to have a bottle of house wine on the table.
Our holiday was on the 16th march which was basically the last week of the season so most of the evening events was not on , the town was quiet empty of an evening, so maybe you should go a little bit earlier in the season. The slopes had plenty of snow and the ski lessons was really good .
The slopes at the bottom of the mountain are good for beginners, but once you go up the gondolas the slopes are mostly blues and reds, there are no easy green runs that you could come down from the top to the bottom.
Every body is very friendly and we had a fantastic time, the hosts were absolutely perfect.
I would highly recommend

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorks
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I noted - before we booked this hotel - that many people rated it quite highly. Frankly, having now stayed there, I'm a little puzzled as to why...

Yes, the owners are friendly and like a joke. But that's not enough to ignore some obvious flaws...

Breakfast is OK and there's a fair choice - and plenty of it. Finding bacon slices with some meat - rather than all fat - requires skill; especially if you want to avoid holding up others queueing at the self-service breakfast bar! Coffee can be in short supply...as you have to trail to the kitchen to ask for a top up...

However, it was the evening meals which really disappointed. For dinner we were offered such "delights" as chicken nuggets...followed by a yoghurt as sweet. One of our group doesn't like mushroom soup - but was offered no alternative.

So, although we'd paid for half-board we ended up eating out at a nearby hotel...which provided excellent quality, traditional, Austrian food...without any obvious signs of frozen veg or dried packet soup...

Our room was a reasonable size, warm, and had a balcony with seats and table. Downstairs there was a small bar which, had it been open for mid-afternoon tea/coffee and cakes, would have made a pleasant apre-ski stop off. Instead we had to head to our rooms - which lacked tea/coffee making facilities...

Now I appreciate hotels don't like skis to be kept in bedrooms. And the Hannes had a big sign informing residents of that fact. However, the ski room was outside the hotel - and several checks proved it was still unlocked at 9.30 pm. We have cable locks, but there was no way of securing our skis within the locker room. So, we kept ours on our balcony!

"Cheap and cheerful" is how I'd describe my experience of staying here. As we were on holiday it's fair to say we expected more and so were disappointed...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Hannes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hannes

Address: Wiesweg | 226, Niederau 6314, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Wildschonau > Niederau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Niederau
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Niederau
#2 Family Hotel in Niederau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hannes 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Hannes Hotel Niederau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hannes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.