We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly welcome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hannes

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Niederau
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Hannes
Save
You added Hotel Hannes to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wiesweg | 226, Niederau 6314, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Niederau
Rugby, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A friendly welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We chose this hotel and resort for our first skiing trip based on trip-advisor reviews and were not disappointed.

Good points:
Great location - close to village centre and the slopes, but far enough to avoid the noisier bars at night (although Niederau is fairly peaceful place anyway). Another great thing about the hotel is the location of the button lift across the road meaning you can ski to ski school and also ski home again afterwards
Hotel itself - Clean, warm and a nice layout with reasonably sized rooms for the price. Nice cosy bar with competitive prices. Wifi only works in the bar, but it is free
Rooms - spotlessly clean, warm, comfortable beds, good shower. Plenty of space for storage, but nowhere to hang clothes to dry
Staff - the family who run it are great hosts. Friendly and helpful all the way
Food - every night something which you want to eat. You get a choice of main course each morning for your return that evening. Everything was tasty and hot, just what you want after a day on the slopes. My only slight issue was everything was a bit too salty, but to be honest I'm being picky.

There really are no bad points, but don't expect luxury and top restaurant quality food. This is a great 3 star hotel though.

Facilities include:
Sauna
Steam Room
Bar
Hair dryer in room (a decent one according to my wife who is a bit of a connoisseur!)
Note there is no kettle and they are not available

Niederau itself is a lovely resort suitable for beginners and intermediates. It was child friendly and we'd certainly recommend the wildschonau ski school

We hope to return soon

Room Tip: Only selected rooms have a bath, but he showers are very good anyway
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    26
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
36
64
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

After reading the reviews for the Hannes we decided to stay there for our first skiing holiday to Austria. We were not disappointed! The hotel was in a great location near to everything & by day 2 we were skiing back to the hotel after a hard days skiing & back to ski school in the mornings.

The rooms were spacious, very clean & ideal after a hard day on the slopes. The food was fantastic! Buffet breakfast in the morning - cereal, fruit, yoghurt, eggs, bacon, hams, cheeses & bread & toast with hot tea & coffee. You chose what u wanted for dinner at breakfast & every night we had a hearty 3 course meal. Excellent fresh home cooked food. It was a good job we were burning off the calories skiing! Regina & Hannes were very friendly & made an effort to get to know everyone. They were lovely & made the holiday. We will definitely be returning to the Hannes. An amazing resort & an amazing hotel!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

This was our first trip to Austria skiing, this hotel made it very easy to enjoy. Food was basic but excellent, hotel was clean and tidy, warm and very friendly, we met some great people, which we sat with at breakfast and dinner, and also in the small bar at night.
Family run, hannes the owners son was great to chat to and for information around the ski resort, and Reggie was just lovely and very funny. Thank you all for a great stay. We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We had room 306 which had a bath and a shower so very very pleased.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here for a one-week skiing holiday and received a very warm welcome. It's an excellent hotel with spacious rooms and great facilities.

We booked half board. The breakfast buffet had bacon, eggs and toast as well as the usual cerial and continental stuff. The evening 3 course meals were so good that we didn't bother to eat out at all. The hotel bar is quiet and welcoming.

Ski and boot storage is very well organised and there's both a chair lift and drag lift just over the road allowing easy access to the piste. The room was excellent, spotlessly clean with plenty of space, had a great shower and bath, good water pressure, and there was a room safe.

All-in-all we were very impressed and I'd certainly choose this hotel on my next visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Reggie, Hannes and Family are so welcoming from the moment you walk in and will help where ever they can.
The room was clean and warm, the only problems were the pillows were too thin but we asked Reggie for another one which she sorted but the spare bed for my daughter was really hard.
The food was basic but wholesome but there was a choice of two main courses.
Reggie is very good at placing likeminded people on the same tables i.e. from the same country or a similar age, so that different families become friends.
Skies and boots can be stored at the Hannes and it is only a walk across the road to the nearest button pull lift.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gwyn@oriel.org.uk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Just returned from a great skiing holiday at Niederau. Stayed ay Hotel Hannes and so glad we did. Had considered Hotel Austria but after having lunch there one day found the staff to be rude and inefficient, so unlike Reggie and her son Hannes who were wonderful hosts. Hotel Hannes truly is a family hotel and you.are made to feel at home from the moment you walk in. OK, you may need to take a few statins before eating in Austria (they sure do like pork and frying food) but that's the way it is. We went with another family who had never skied before and Niederau was perfect for them. The ski school is very good and the nursery slope long, wide and not too steep. The only thing that is missing in Niederau is a nice easy blue through the trees from the top of the Gondola. That would make it a 10 out of 10. We loved it and the kids loved Reggie and hotel Hannes. (ps- beware of naked Sweedish people in the Sauna - takes some getting used to, especially when the kids are with you, but that's just the prudish way we are in Britain!)

Room Tip: 3rd floor has great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This was my first skiing holiday outside Bulgaria and I was impressed with Austria, and particularly impressed with this friendly hotel.
Our room was clean, with daily cleaning; the only slight criticism was that I took the sofa bed, which was not as comfortable as the two other beds in the room.
The staff were very friendly, with English spoken, but also appreciative of my attempts to improve my German.
The hotel has a room for skis/sticks, a warm boot room, and sauna and steam room facilities.
The food was in my opinion very good. self service breakfast including bacon, ham, eggs, breads, fruit, yogurt, cereals etc. Evening meal @ 6.30 was a choice from two 3 course menus. Plenty to fill you up after a day on the pistes. The staff were very accommodating with food requests, for example two of our party were vegetarian and were well catered for. Also, one member of the party requested fruit for dessert, and this request was granted happily.
Leave the hotel and walk to the main road (30m). Turn left and there is Spar shop for provisions 50m, the main village & gondola 5 mins walk. Turn right and it's 1 min to a blue run, 200m to a supermarkt with snack bar.
We skied in Niederau for 2 days, then caught the (free) bus to Auffach to try out their pistes for 2 days, (then I damaged my knee and rested for 2 days).
Overall I would give the Hannes the thumbs up and would recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Hannes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hannes

Address: Wiesweg | 226, Niederau 6314, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Wildschonau > Niederau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Niederau
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Niederau
#2 Family Hotel in Niederau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hannes 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Hannes Hotel Niederau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hannes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.