We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Harmony-Hotel Harfenwirt

Save Saved
You added Harmony-Hotel Harfenwirt to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harmony-Hotel Harfenwirt
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Grafenweg 325, Niederau 6314, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 11 hotels in Niederau
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Avoid this hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We chose this hotel after reading the mixed reviews on this website - what a mistake. Our room was really basic, the bathroom in very bad condition (see photos) and the owner Herbert one of the rudest people I've met. Our room seemed to be over the kitchen and as a light sleeper I was kept awake with machines working all night. The sauna/steam room was switched on only once during our stay, the food was mediocre and the service terrible. I asked herbert if we could move to a better room in the newer part of the hotel and he stated that I could but I would have to pay extra. Herbert's idea of grouping people on the same table didn't work for us.

Room Tip: The new wing seem to have better rooms but you need to ensure that you book one rather than arrive a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    109
    107
    59
    35
    16
See reviews for
122
130
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The owner of Harfenwirt hotel in Niedereau (Austria) was trying to accommodate us in a narrow single room with two beds attached at the head. Furthermore, the room was smelling like a public toilet and in terms of flooring looked like a common corridor of a council block in London. This was against our expectation, which was not unreasonable considering the amount we had paid (about 1150 pounds in total). The hotel manager/owner said he would put us to a different room if we didn't like it but that second room was in an adjacent small hotel which needed us to walk for breakfast and dinner and any other purpose such as swimming. Once we didn't agree with these terms he kept us from 9 pm to midnight (on 22nd Dec) to get accommodated finally in a an annex called Harfenwrit guesthouse, which was again five minutes walk to the main hotel. So for four days we had to walk to the main building in icy snow till finally he gave us a room in the hotel on 27th December. Please don't use this hotel because apart from this incident, the hotel manager, who happens to be the owner and receptionist and pretty much everything -including a horrible boss to workers, does not treat guests with respect. At one stage when we wanted extra pillows (other guests were complaining that the pliows were too small and thin) he kept saying there weren't any and he had to give us his!

Room Tip: If they say a small twin, don't be fooled. It's a smelly single with two beds attached at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccles, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Anyone who is a fan of Basil Fawlty or Victor Meldrew wil be able to see the humor of Herbert,who is a live cross version of both! The staff at the hotel were really genuinely kind and helpful.Very honest too,no money was taken from my purse even though I left it in my open bag all week in my room.The chaos in my room was magically transformed everyday,the staff were hardworking and very polite.The food was exellent,we could eat as much as we liked.We met people who came back year after year,they must be doing a lot right because after two days I miss the Harfenwirt already!The staff from Spain and New Zealand were happy to talk to us,there was a very good atmosphere in the hotel.Remember German translated into English may sound abrupt,when there is no intention of rudeness.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

We have just stayed at the harfenwirt for Christmas. It was an excellent choice. The food was fantastic and Herbert was a welcoming host. We would definitely stay here again. We did pay to upgrade to a superior room which we felt was well worth it as the room was one of the best we have ever stayed in. The swimmingpool was great too. In fact no complaints at all.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

This could be described as an interesting experience at best. I have never been prompted to leave a review before. in this case I felt I had to. The hotel owner is rude, unhelpful and his staff seemed to actually be scared of him. We were put in the 'guesthouse' away from the main building. the food was passable to poor and the staff are not good at accommodating any requests however basic without charging you or just refusing. We were given the wrong wine and were forced to pay for that bottle and the bottle we originally ordered on top of that! We were given no choice of where to sit - you MUST sit at the same table for every meal with the same people so hard luck if you don't get on with them. The staff are generally (apart from David the waiter) fairly rude and/ or down at heel. I paid half board and didn't go back to the hotel for anything other than to pick up my snowboard after the third day. The rooms are clean but they are very dated. There are no tea or coffee making facilities in the rooms. There is a TV but thats only any good if you speak fluent German or don't mind Sky News on loop. The sauna and spa pool were never on either in the time we were in. Unless you are only coming to the hotel to sleep and wash steer well clear of this place. We thought we booked at 4T hotel with Thompson but I would doubt it would achieve a 2 star in the UK. The only good thing I can say about the hotel is the stunning location and proximity to the ski lifts and blue runs - it's not a resort thats really geared up for boarders though. Would come to this area again as it is really beautiful - I would just never come to this hotel again. Awful!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We booked a family ski holiday and picked this hotel because of the Chrystal Ski kiddies club and facilities housed in this hotel. This was a delightful hotel very comfortable and clean with a lovely room in the newer wing towards the rear of the hotel. A large enough room for us and our son, lovely clean facilities. The meals were fine from their restaurant however they also had A la carte. The staff were very friendly and helpful and Herbert the owner had my son in fits of laughter with his rendition of old songs at a bar up the road. This hotel is just opposite the ski school meeting place so for young kids not far to go to the button lifts and blue slopes but also close to another lift to get you up to other higher runs. Lunch times we spent at the front of this hotel in beautiful sunshine overlooking the slopes. Ski instructors here were excellent for kids and we all had a fantastic trip. Would go to this hotel and resort again. Herbert is an amazing host.

Room Tip: There is a new wing overlooking the back of this hotel with spacious rooms. Very comfortable and qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

For second year running we came to this hotel, spacious and CLEAN room even if it wasin the old part. It had a fine balcony with plenty of space to sit and read, quiet with great views and good light. The bedding was always like new. Breakfast eat as much as you like, fruit salad,meusli, toast, tea, cheese, meat, marmalade, jam and different sorts of bread. A good four course evening meal with extensive buffet as well. Soups were excellent and vegetables top class.
It was always OK to ask for something different good for those on any sort of diet.
The other guests were good humoured pleasant people.
Location the best in the valley in my opinion very close to Gondola which took out 2000 feet of climb to the tops, para-gliding right opposite our balcony .
Hotel staff efficient pleasant and when I was walking to Worgl (I to choose a Sunday midday when there was a reduced bus service) I had not gone a mile before Herbert overtook me and gave me a lift.
We would not stay in any other hotel here the value for money is phenomenal and it delivers everything we want.
Peter and Olga

Room Tip: Does not matter really what rooms you have here all big enough quiet and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Harmony-Hotel Harfenwirt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harmony-Hotel Harfenwirt

Address: Grafenweg 325, Niederau 6314, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Wildschonau > Niederau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Niederau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Harmony-Hotel Harfenwirt 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tradition mixed with modern. Superb family hotel direct on the piste. Breathtaking views from all rooms. New large heated indoor pool (80m²) with sauna and steam bath overlooking the cross country tracks. Large sun terrace facing the Tennladen slopes Ski Arena race track and paragliders landing area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Harmony-Hotel Harfenwirt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harfenwirt Hotel Niederau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harmony-Hotel Harfenwirt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.