We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pension Diane, small and friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Diane

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Niederau
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Diane
Save
You added Hotel Diane to your Saves list
Niederau 6314, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Niederau
edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Pension Diane, small and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

Stayed at pension Diane for 1 week for Crystal ski holiday. This was a small friendly family run hotel.The rooms were clean and warm. We had nice views from the balcony. The ensuite shower room was dated but shower was hot and had good flow. There was a ski store room which was heated. Breakfast was continental style. Evening meal was chosen the night before, and consisted of salad,soup, choice of 2 main courses and desert. Drinks and tea or coffee were not included and charged to a tab. There was a bar area with wood burning stove. There was also a lounge area with sky news and DVD player. Hotel was not busy, which was nice. . Staff spoke good english and were very helpful providing information.The hotel was close to 4 man chair for black run, 8 min walk to main gondola, and the ski bus to Aufach ski area was very close. The resort had great snow. Runs were quiet, no real lift queues, There was a spar supermarket close by and a selection of pubs ,restaurants in main street. Many people seem to return to Niederau year after year.

Room Tip: rooms at front on 1st or 2nd floor have good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    11
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
2
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stockport
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

We like the good location which is within a five minutes walk of the centre of the village. Pension Diane has character and charm, the owners ensure that guests are made to feel individually welcome. Meals are of excellent quality, breakfast is a continental style self service buffet and in the evening there is a four course meal with choice of main course served at the table.
A cosy bar together with a west facing outdoor terrace makes a perfect venue for after dinner drinks and conversation, as the sun sets over a panorama of majestic scenery.
In Niederau life can be taken at a very slow pace or be as adventurous as one could wish. There is a cable car from the village which gives access the top of the nearest ridge, and from the top there are endless miles of paths and well marked trails.
We use Niederau as a base, there is a frequent tourist ‘Road train’ called the Bummelbahn, it operates between the valley’s villages and attractions. A regular bus service runs through the valley giving easy access to the other villages, and also to the nearby town of Worgl which is served by frequent trains.
The greatest recommendation I can offer is that my wife and I have stayed at the Pension Diane twice and are returning next year.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

We have just returned from our coach holiday in Niederau, Austria. We travelled with Shearings Holidays, spending seven nights in the family run Pension Diane which was excellent in every way, with a good standard of accommodation and food. Our room was very clean and spacious with a good sized en-suite containing a bath and shower. The room also had a balcony which overlooked the magnificent scenery of Niederau. The meals were different each evening with a choice of two options and were of ample portions. There was a continental breakfast each morning with a wide choice.

Roland, the owner and his daughter Sarah and indeed all the staff were most pleasant and helpful and looked after us very well. Nothing was too much trouble for them.

The evenings were spent in the cosy bar, which was well stocked and reasonably priced. Most evenings we were able to sit out on the terrace adjacent to the bar and enjoy the excellent company of our fellow travellers.

We have stayed at the Pension Diane before and would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south lincolnshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

We have just returned from a weeks stay at the Pension Diane in Niederau, and we thoroughly enjoyed every second.We travelled overnight with a well known coach company and arrived in time for dinner on Wednesday 7/9th to be met by Sarah the general everything.For the next week she would be at everybodies beck and call ready with a helping hand for all, no matter how small the problem.The food was cooked well and at dinner we never ate the same meal twice,breakfast was continental and was more than adequate.On an evening the bar was ran by Roland the owner and the prices were very reasonable and the company most enjoyable, we would certainly stay here again. The surrounding area has to be seen to be believed with walks,ski lifts and local buses all to hand,a most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

I travelled with a group of around 30 snowboarders and we pretty much took over the hotel. I found all the staff made you feel at home and welcome as you walked in through the door and throughout your stay.

I would agree the rooms are a bit basic, no WiFi, No tea and coffee making in the room, however most of the day I was out on the slopes, the evening in the bar and it was nice not to be checking emails!

Set menu for the the week, but they will make changes if there is something you dont like.

Niderau itself is quite small if your more than a learner so I would suggest going to some of the larger places by FREE ski bus about 30mins away

Overall the place is clean, warm and friendly - what more do you need?

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

My Husband, myself and 44 great friends took over the hotel for a week in Jan 2011 on a shop trip (--). The staff were very hospitable, having soup and bread ready on arrival. The rooms were very well kept, clean and a good size (I think we were lucky as we bagged the master suit!!). Helped us organise buses to different towns, were happy to amend meals if needed and generally very well mannered. I would recommend this hotel for its friendly atmosphere. Close to the lifts and local amenities i.e. spar shop, bars etc.

I would also recommend O'Mallies and the Cave Bar as they showed us a VERY good time!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

Having been skiing in France only and then coming to Austria the country is amazingly clean and scenic. The pension was a bit of a walk from the slopes, but you can leave your ski equipment by the lifts, which is right next to omalleys Irish bar. Which we visited after a hard days skiing . They have entertainment every night, ray was a very funny barman and made our holiday really. The slopes were a little bit steep at times but my instructor even got me down my first black run. They cater for everyone and I would thoroughly recommend you visit here. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Diane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diane

Address: Niederau 6314, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Wildschonau > Niederau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Niederau
Number of rooms: 23

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Diane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.