We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great Hotel run by lovely people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Wastlhof

Save Saved
You added Hotel Wastlhof to your Saves list
Hotel Wastlhof
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Wastlhof
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wildschonauerstrasse 206 A, Niederau 6314, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 hotels in Niederau
Cheshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A great Hotel run by lovely people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

An excellent all round experience. We have stayed several times now at this hotel, and have always been delighted with the top rate personal service from the owners and staff. Superb leisure facilties, and close to village centre and ski lifts. Food is always a delight. Rod & Leah Gibson.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Great hotel and location, very authentic austrian family run operation. Great facilities and beautifully decorated. Friendly family and staff. Magical christmas and new year parties. Lovley village with ample skiing and plenty of extended skiing very close by. we will go back again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

The Hotel Wastlhof provided first rate accommodation and service. Very close proximity to the ski nursery slopes with easy transit to the main gondola. Excellent food in a welcoming family atmosphere. Highly recommended.

PS Don't miss ELVIS!!! Great entertainment.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

Superb facilities, efficient friendly service, great position (adjacent to ski lift) cozy atmosphere, and very reasonable prices. Their own riding stables at the back of the hotel.
We will definitely visit this hotel again and again.

Room Tip: Take your pick. Single rooms, Double rooms with balcony, junior suites and suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

A really friendly family run hotel in the resort of Niederau. Charming service with comfortable clean rooms, excellent choice of food and a lovely swimming pool. A hotel to take pony mad girls to (95% of children were girls) who want to ride. We didn't ride as our son didn't want to. Walking in the alps in the beautiful "Widschonau" was easy via short walk to bubble lift. We also arranged to go canyoning via Hotel Apline which we all enjoyed although it was an hours drive. E bikes just arrived in the valley but be warned none for children. Can recommend summer toboganning and childrens adventure area in nearby Walchsee valley for all the family.

Room Tip: Very noisy road at the front which wole us up. Do request room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

We stayed at the Wastlhof for one week in early February, booked through Neilson.

The hotel is located opposite a button lift on a blue slope, but you can easily ski across via other lifts to the gondola from here. Otherwise, it's a five minute walk along the road to the gondola, ski schools, shops, bank (with ATM), restaurants, bars etc. The hotel has a ski/boot room in the basement.

The reception staff were super friendly and helpful; they spoke good English. Restaurant staff were also super friendly but spoke less English.

Our room was an Austrian double (so separate beds secured together with two single duvets and mattresses). Comfortable and clean, with a settee, TV and adequate sized bathroom. We also had a balcony which overlooked the town. There is wi-fi in the hotel, which you need to pay for at reception. The one downside was no tea/coffee making in your room.

We stayed on a half board basis and were really glad we did: the food was fantastic!!!! Breakfast was a huge buffet, with cereal, fruit, yogurt, various breads and pastries, cheese, cold meats and eggs, bacon etc. A great start to the day.

Apres-ski snacks were included: this varied everyday from a huge choice of cakes; soup and a hot "snack", usually sausages or meat.

Dinner was even better: each morning at breakfast you selected your main course from a menu left on your table. Usually three options, and usually including a veggie option although to be honest, the range of other things on offer meant that veggies were very well catered for regardless. Then at dinner, there was a huge salad buffet which changed every night and included smoked fish, meats etc; soup of the day; usually a hot dish such as lasagne and another huge array of puddings.

This was the first skiing holiday where I've actually put on weight!

Skiing in Niederau: we were lucky the week we were there, as fresh snow fell a couple of days before we arrived, but no more arrived that week and it was quite warm and sunny (average about 12C during the day, -12C at night); the slopes were icy in the morning. We had lessons with the blue ski school, which was friendly and had both Austrian and British teachers. All spoke good English. The resort attracts many nationalities from across Europe and the lifts were busy. I wouldn't want to be there during school holidays!

Niederau would also be a lovely base for a walking holiday in the summer months.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frodsham UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

We stayed here after an easy train ride from Munich and it was a lovely, good value for money hotel. The food was wonderful, fresh squeezed juice at breakfast, home cooking in the evening, all tasting exactly as it should. The people were lovely, and made lots of effort to make our stay enjoyable even doing some washing for us for nothing. It's a five minute walk from the cable car for great mountain walks and a short bus ride from Worgl, a pretty town with a good train station. We didn't have a car and didn't miss one. My children had riding lessons and one teacher (who did speak English) was far better than the other, even for the German holidaymakers. we were the only English people staying here but it didn't matter as there was always a good atmosphere and the children made some good friends. I'd definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Wastlhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wastlhof

Address: Wildschonauerstrasse 206 A, Niederau 6314, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Wildschonau > Niederau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 hotels in Niederau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Wastlhof 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Wastlhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Wastlhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.