We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly family Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Wastlhof

Save Saved
You added Hotel Wastlhof to your Saves list
Hotel Wastlhof
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Wastlhof
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wildschonauerstrasse 206 A, Niederau 6314, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 hotels in Niederau
Maldon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Friendly family Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

A really friendly family run hotel in the resort of Niederau. Charming service with comfortable clean rooms, excellent choice of food and a lovely swimming pool. A hotel to take pony mad girls to (95% of children were girls) who want to ride. We didn't ride as our son didn't want to. Walking in the alps in the beautiful "Widschonau" was easy via short walk to bubble lift. We also arranged to go canyoning via Hotel Apline which we all enjoyed although it was an hours drive. E bikes just arrived in the valley but be warned none for children. Can recommend summer toboganning and childrens adventure area in nearby Walchsee valley for all the family.

Room Tip: Very noisy road at the front which wole us up. Do request room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

We stayed at the Wastlhof for one week in early February, booked through Neilson.

The hotel is located opposite a button lift on a blue slope, but you can easily ski across via other lifts to the gondola from here. Otherwise, it's a five minute walk along the road to the gondola, ski schools, shops, bank (with ATM), restaurants, bars etc. The hotel has a ski/boot room in the basement.

The reception staff were super friendly and helpful; they spoke good English. Restaurant staff were also super friendly but spoke less English.

Our room was an Austrian double (so separate beds secured together with two single duvets and mattresses). Comfortable and clean, with a settee, TV and adequate sized bathroom. We also had a balcony which overlooked the town. There is wi-fi in the hotel, which you need to pay for at reception. The one downside was no tea/coffee making in your room.

We stayed on a half board basis and were really glad we did: the food was fantastic!!!! Breakfast was a huge buffet, with cereal, fruit, yogurt, various breads and pastries, cheese, cold meats and eggs, bacon etc. A great start to the day.

Apres-ski snacks were included: this varied everyday from a huge choice of cakes; soup and a hot "snack", usually sausages or meat.

Dinner was even better: each morning at breakfast you selected your main course from a menu left on your table. Usually three options, and usually including a veggie option although to be honest, the range of other things on offer meant that veggies were very well catered for regardless. Then at dinner, there was a huge salad buffet which changed every night and included smoked fish, meats etc; soup of the day; usually a hot dish such as lasagne and another huge array of puddings.

This was the first skiing holiday where I've actually put on weight!

Skiing in Niederau: we were lucky the week we were there, as fresh snow fell a couple of days before we arrived, but no more arrived that week and it was quite warm and sunny (average about 12C during the day, -12C at night); the slopes were icy in the morning. We had lessons with the blue ski school, which was friendly and had both Austrian and British teachers. All spoke good English. The resort attracts many nationalities from across Europe and the lifts were busy. I wouldn't want to be there during school holidays!

Niederau would also be a lovely base for a walking holiday in the summer months.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frodsham UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

We stayed here after an easy train ride from Munich and it was a lovely, good value for money hotel. The food was wonderful, fresh squeezed juice at breakfast, home cooking in the evening, all tasting exactly as it should. The people were lovely, and made lots of effort to make our stay enjoyable even doing some washing for us for nothing. It's a five minute walk from the cable car for great mountain walks and a short bus ride from Worgl, a pretty town with a good train station. We didn't have a car and didn't miss one. My children had riding lessons and one teacher (who did speak English) was far better than the other, even for the German holidaymakers. we were the only English people staying here but it didn't matter as there was always a good atmosphere and the children made some good friends. I'd definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

We stayed here as a family of three over the Xmas Holiday for a weeks skiing after booking through Thomas Cook. When we arrived we were met by the Nielson Representatives who were incredibly pleasant and knowledgable about the local area. From start to finish it was superb. The hotel is both welcoming and homely whilst remaining typically Austrian. It has an amazing ambience that is really calming. Nothing is to much trouble and we were treated like part of the famiy. On that note It is a true family run hotel and they couldn't do enough to ensure that our stay was a pleasant one, to which it was. From the minute you arrive to the minute you leave. The staff are incredibly attentive and deal with everything in the most professional manner. On the final night they had prepared a pack lunch for us for the following day as we were leaving early in the morning. I believe we were the only English family staying over the Xmas period and it was really gracious of all the staff to endeavour to speak a little English, because as English abroad we rarely muster up the nerve to endulge in the native language.
The rooms were comfortable and the main bed was big enough to sleep 3. We had a sofa bed for our son but this was a little uncomfortable so decided to all bed down in the double.
The Hotel has a swimming pool and vital area which was an absolute godsend after a hard days skiing. It was just the ticket as you calmed down ready for the evening meal. The food was absolutely faultess. We tried everything. Breakfast with the usual fruit, yoghurts, ham, cheeses, croissants and cereals which was plentiful and it was at breakfast that you ordered your evening meal. The evening meals were outstanding. From Beef and Turkey to Deer, Venison and Veal, you name it we had it. Absolutely gorgeous. The skiing was excellent especially for beginners which my wife and son were. The resort is really quiet and if you are looking for nightlife then you may want to try one of the busier resorts for a wider choice of Apres-Ski. Having said that I do definitely recommend the Tobogganing evening at Roggen Boden. Exhilerating stuff all under floodlight at night. We had a sleigh ride through the Austrian mountains and also attended an English Carol Service on Xmas Day evening which was held in the Neiderau Church. Just wonderful. All in all a magical time in a typically picture postcard Austrian resort.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2010

We visited this hotel for 4 nights. It is a lovley hotel. The staff are friendly, the foods great, the rooms are very comfortable - including beds my 6ft 4 husband can sleep in. The entertainment was good, and it's right opposite the chair lift.
For non-skier's the pool is a haven.
If we need to return to Niederau, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

Found this hotel by accident and it's really good. Wonderful food, friendly family run place, helpful staff and excellent accommodation. Will go again.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2009

Great hotel. Rooms were clean, warm and comfortable. Leisure facilities were perfect. Food was out of this world. Location brilliant. Staff lovely. Snow was plentiful and conditions perfect. Enough to do for non-skiers. We were a family group of eight and enjoyed our stay so much we have booked to go back next year. Cannot wait!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Wastlhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wastlhof

Address: Wildschonauerstrasse 206 A, Niederau 6314, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Wildschonau > Niederau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 hotels in Niederau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Wastlhof 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Wastlhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Wastlhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.