We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best we've been to in a long, long while” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alpbacherhof Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Alpbacherhof Hotel to your Saves list
Alpbacherhof Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Alpbach 279 | 6236 Alpbach, Alpbach 6236, Austria   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Alpbach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Oldham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“The best we've been to in a long, long while”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

The hotel has been upgraded over the last few years.
The spa facilities are second to none, an excellent way to relax after a days walking.
Alpbach is one of Austrias prettiest villages and this is an excellent hotel.
The professionalism and friendliness of the staff is superb. The food is to die for. The spa and Indoor/outdoor pool are heavenly.
My wife has gluten intolerance, after mentioning this on the first day all food provided had been amended to exclude any ingredients containing gluten. We'll have to return.

Room Tip: A south facing room has the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    29
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
39
82
4
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

My friend and I travelled to this hotel with and Ingham's package. In the past we have stayed at cheaper hotels in Niederau and Soll. We stayed in a south facing room with lounge and balcony and it was worth every penny. The room and hotel was welcoming and comfortable.

We stayed half board. Breakfast was amazing and there was a choice for the evening meal. The meals all felt very special and the service was efficient.

Alpbach is a lovely village with good access to other areas. The advantage staying in Alpbach is that a lift pass is included in the cost of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

Agree with all the great reviews on this hotel
We have stayed here 4 times in 2 yrs
Twice in each season
Everyone is so welcoming
Our last visit was to celebrate a 70th Birthday with our family
It was their 1st visit and cant wait to return, loved the new spa area
Well done Maria hope to see you all again soon.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

We have just returned from a wonderful weeks ski holiday staying at the outstanding Alpbacherhof Hotel. The food and staff were excellent and the spa facilities are unbelievable. After a hard day on the slopes it was so relaxing to swim in the outdoor heated pool looking out at the snow capped pistes. The only down side was as the weather was sunshine and blue skies every day the skiing was rather slushy in the afternoon! However it meant more time could be spent in the spa. We will definitely be returning next year.

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

I have visited Alpbach for the last 28 years but the last time I stayed here I would of been 5 or 6 years old. After a superb week the only question is why have we stayed away so long? The staff were exceptional and the service faultless all week, the rooms where large, clean and well decorated, the food was the best I have had in any Hotel across the alps. To top it off there is a new spa area which can only be described as 5 star. When we return to Alpbach we won't be staying any where else!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

Having booked this hotel very last minute we were certainly not disapointed.

The Hotel, facilities and staff were superb.

There really is nothing to fault, apart from the shower you cannot use without holding the head whilst showering and the poor quality hairdryer.

The spa and treatments are excellent, try the body scrub and facial - it was lovely.

It is the first time I have been skiing for 20 years and although I have come back with a few bumps and bruises we have just booked again for next year!

Try it - you wont be disapointed.

P.S Make sure you take enough ski socks with you - at €25 a pair they are cheaper in the uk!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

Well, what can I say? We just got back from a week away at Alpbacherhof hotel in Austria, and had a marvellous time! The hotel was excellent with a gorgeous Spa facilities, which included indoor and outdoor heated pools with jacuzzi, 2 saunas (the outside one had fantastic views) and steam rooms. They also had 2 relaxing rooms, one with water beds and the other one with slings and deckchairs!!! We both feel revitalised and refreshed, as we treated ourselves to a full body aromatherapy massage!

The hotel staff are very friendly and professional and have never seen any customer services like this anywhere else. They just could not do anymore.... Meals were excellent quality, which we had about 5 courses every night. On Sunday, we had a Gala night with 8 courses to go, which was to die for with a harp playing lady.... Romance was in the air :)

If anyone asks if I would recommend Alpbacherhof to anyone, my answer would be definitely! Also, we are definitely going back next year, as it was our best holiday ever...

Thank you Alpbacherhof for making us feel special!! :))))

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alpbacherhof Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpbacherhof Hotel

Address: Alpbach 279 | 6236 Alpbach, Alpbach 6236, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Alpbach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Alpbach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpbacherhof Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, seekda GmbH, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Alpbacherhof Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpbacherhof Hotel Alpbach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpbacherhof Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.