We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy hotel with welcoming hosts in Zell” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fischerwirt

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Fischerwirt to your Saves list
Hotel Fischerwirt
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Seegasse 5 | 5700 Zell Am See, Zell am See 5700, Austria   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 45 Hotels in Zell am See
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Munich, Germany
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Cosy hotel with welcoming hosts in Zell”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We recently spent 3 night at the Fisherwirt over New Year. This was our fourth visit and we will be returning there again for a week in February.
Our first visit was based on value for money but we keep returning due to the friendliness of the staff. It now feels like a real home from home.
The bar can be smoky, but this is Austria which does not have a smoking ban. We have not had a problem with street noise but we always visit in the winter and have the windows closed.
The food has always been delicious when we have visited.
The hotel is in the centre of Zell, close the lake and just over from the Grand Hotel. The Bus stop is a 10min walk with children and skis, the city express gondola is a few minutes further.
This year the Fisherwirt has opened a covered walkway to its sister hotel so it is now easier to enjoy the wellness facilities. The walkway also has some interesting paintings by a local artist to enjoy on the way over.
Also we noted that some of the room shave been renovated.
We are looking forward to the next visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiwiZell, Manager at Hotel Fischerwirt, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your nice words...we like to do our job and our staff members too..
Have a great day!
Family Hörl & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    39
    9
    10
    9
See reviews for
40
57
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
plymouth, UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Very attentative restaurant and bar staff with excellent five course evening meals. The hotel is very family orientated. Right in the middle of the town handy for all amenities bars and restaurants. There is a lot to do in zell am zee but you can't beat sitting on top of a snow covered mountain on a sunny Christmas Day drinking glauwein

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I stayed here with a mate on a mountain biking holiday around Zell am Zee in July 2011 (apologies for not being massively up-to-date). The location of the hotel was excellent for us - right in the heart of the town, close to the lake and easy to cycle to and from.

On arrival, we were greeted by a formidable hostess, who was extremely efficient and ran the place well. We stayed half-board, which, even though it was the height of summer, was very welcome, as the food was hearty, tasty and much-needed after some tough cycling during the day!

The rooms are pretty basic but served our needs quite well. It's not the quietest location (situated on a main pedestrian thoroughfare with street cleaners running by in the morning), but we thought the hotel was very good and would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alloa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

nice hotel friendly staff good food excellent location in cente of town close to lake and local cable cars which were included free with the zell am see card also the irish bar downstairs is well worth a visit

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I stayed at this hotel with my husband for 3 nights and loved it.
It is so central in Zell am See, most central hotel! We had a room overlooking the back of the street where there was an Irish bar so if you had the window open it was tough to sleep! So maybe request a room in a quiet area of the hotel!
The rooms are lovely- really clean.
The shower is amazing!!! Bathroom is spacious and so clean and modern.
The interiors of the hotel are lovely- really modern and crisp.
The staff are really lovely,especially the lady working at the breakfasts in the mornings. Front desk are lovely too.
We got the 'summer card' with this hotel which gave us free entrance to lots of things- cable cars, cruise on lake, sun bathing areas etc.
Breakfast is excellent. Fresh fruit and hot breakfasts- really brilliant.
Loved this hotel, will certainly be going back.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cramlington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This hotel is one of the worst we have ever stayed in. It fell down in so many different ways. Here are just a few examples of the incidents that occurred which spoilt our time there. On arrival just before 9 p.m., we received instructions to come straight to the table if we wanted to have a hot meal. On numerous occasions, there were no staff at the bar. On one evening, the receptionist informed us "it was not her job to go and find the barman" after we had been sitting at the bar for some time. A few nights later, there was no barman again but she was able to serve some drinks, however, no schnaps available as the barman had the key and he wasn't on site. The following evening, the key was there but they had run out of schnaps! Guests should be aware that the only spirit available on an "All inclusive" package is schnaps. Drinks on this package only available 10 a.m. to 10 p.m., however, we couldn't even purchase a drink after this time as the bar closed at 10 p.m. every night. The barman was generally unpolite and upset a few guests with his attitude. We were only there for a week but it took 4 days for them to inform us that there was a splendid roof terrace with wonderful views over the lake. This information wasn't available in any of the literature that we were given after our arrival which we had to ask for as there was no indication in our room about meal times etc. We were told at the Welcome Meeting that we would receive our departure instructions 48 hours before we left but we still hadn't received them on the morning of departure. Our tour rep confirmed she had left them at the reception which was unmanned at the time but the details were never passed on. Our room on the front was hot, stuffy and noisy. We had 2 choices - open the window for fresh air but not sleep because of the noise, or close the window and not sleep because it was too hot!

Room Tip: If you have to use this hotel, request a room on the back. It will be your only chance of a decent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Best hotel experience in our Austrian trip (7different locations). The new part of the hotel has very large, modern, elegant rooms. Garage is key if you are driving. I recommend booking with half board option. For very little extra you have a very good dinner with different choices. Breakfast is particularly rich. Location is perfect lake is 100m, bus station 200 m, everything you might need is within 2 min walk. The wellness area needs a little bit of extra care and attention.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Fischerwirt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fischerwirt

Address: Seegasse 5 | 5700 Zell Am See, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zell am See
#14 Romantic Hotel in Zell am See
#14 Spa Hotel in Zell am See
#16 Luxury Hotel in Zell am See
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Fischerwirt 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Fischerwirt at Zell am SeeDirectly in the centre of Zell am See, only a few steps to the lake! You have only to walk two minutes to the lake an five minutes to the cable car. Enjoy your day or visit the busy street in the front of the hotel were you will find the cafes- restaurants, bars and shops. The starting point for different walks-hiking- tours and excursions.For the balance of body and soul we recommend a visit in our head house the "Romantikhotel Metzgerwirt". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Fischerwirt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fischerwirt Hotel Zell Am See

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fischerwirt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.