We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Austrian Version of Fawlty Towers” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fischerwirt

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Fischerwirt to your Saves list
Hotel Fischerwirt
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Seegasse 5 | 5700 Zell Am See, Zell am See 5700, Austria   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 45 Hotels in Zell am See
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cramlington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Austrian Version of Fawlty Towers”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This hotel is one of the worst we have ever stayed in. It fell down in so many different ways. Here are just a few examples of the incidents that occurred which spoilt our time there. On arrival just before 9 p.m., we received instructions to come straight to the table if we wanted to have a hot meal. On numerous occasions, there were no staff at the bar. On one evening, the receptionist informed us "it was not her job to go and find the barman" after we had been sitting at the bar for some time. A few nights later, there was no barman again but she was able to serve some drinks, however, no schnaps available as the barman had the key and he wasn't on site. The following evening, the key was there but they had run out of schnaps! Guests should be aware that the only spirit available on an "All inclusive" package is schnaps. Drinks on this package only available 10 a.m. to 10 p.m., however, we couldn't even purchase a drink after this time as the bar closed at 10 p.m. every night. The barman was generally unpolite and upset a few guests with his attitude. We were only there for a week but it took 4 days for them to inform us that there was a splendid roof terrace with wonderful views over the lake. This information wasn't available in any of the literature that we were given after our arrival which we had to ask for as there was no indication in our room about meal times etc. We were told at the Welcome Meeting that we would receive our departure instructions 48 hours before we left but we still hadn't received them on the morning of departure. Our tour rep confirmed she had left them at the reception which was unmanned at the time but the details were never passed on. Our room on the front was hot, stuffy and noisy. We had 2 choices - open the window for fresh air but not sleep because of the noise, or close the window and not sleep because it was too hot!

Room Tip: If you have to use this hotel, request a room on the back. It will be your only chance of a decent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    39
    9
    10
    9
See reviews for
40
57
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Best hotel experience in our Austrian trip (7different locations). The new part of the hotel has very large, modern, elegant rooms. Garage is key if you are driving. I recommend booking with half board option. For very little extra you have a very good dinner with different choices. Breakfast is particularly rich. Location is perfect lake is 100m, bus station 200 m, everything you might need is within 2 min walk. The wellness area needs a little bit of extra care and attention.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed at the Fischerwirt as part of a Thomson Holiday Package. The staff were excellent and extremely helpful. My wife has a lactose intolerance and the chef went out of his way to make sure that she was fully catered for. Although it can be quite noisy on some nights it is not that bad,

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Forget any negative reviews you've read - this is a wonderful hotel. It's small, friendly and all the staff get to know you by name very quickly. Stephan, the friendly barman, royally entertains his customers by playing the guitar at ten o'clock a few times a week, when the all-inclusive drinks stop. Monika the owner, is a charming lady who actually rang us on our last morning to say goodbye because she could not be present in person.The vegetarian meals were the best and
most inventive my husband has ever had. I found the food excellent, plentiful and very well presented. It was always four courses except on festival nights when it was five. We were there for 2 weeks and at all times the standards were high, and the staff attentive.This is the best value for money we've ever had in Central Europe and we can't wait to get back. A.L. Bradford

Room Tip: Front rooms, and high rooms have a balcony and are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Very well apointed hotel right in the heart of the resort. Might be seen as noisy for some, but we liked being in the middle of the action! Food excellent, some minor difficulty on arrival with room temperature but very quickly rectified by hotel providing mobile fans. Lots to see in the area and the discount card provided gave us many opportunities to explore around at reasonable prices. Weather was excellent and resort had many special events going on.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

After arriving late in the pouring rain we recieved a less than welcome welcome. This was the only negative of the holiday! Our host Monica was more than helpful and ensured we wanted for nothing.
The room was great although the balcony was not really a balcony! The beds were really comfy and everything was spotless. The breakfast selection was great with fresh fruit, cereals, bread and cold meat and cheese and scrambled eggs, bacon and boiled eggs etc. The evening meals were really delicious and the service great. Stefan ran the bar and enjoyed entertaining the guests with his musical skills on guitar and singing.
We travelled on an all inclusive trip with Thomson and the in resort reps were fantastic. They were enthusiastic and very informative. They obviously enjoyed what they were doing.
The resort location was beautiful with the hotel being situated just two minutes from the lakeside. Wednesday evenings are a real treat with all the local entertainment taking to the streets in a real party atmosphere. As we were on the back of the hotel we didn't have any problem with noise though i did hear others comment on this.
A wonderful place to stay and somewher we would return to again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We have just spent a week at the Fischerwirt and were extremely impressed with the room, the quality and quantity of food served and most of all by the helpful and friendly staff who really did everything they could to make our stay enjoyable. The one downside would be the occasional noise from the street, but the hotel is located in the middle of a pedestrianised area and therefore you have to expect there will be some noise. Our room was located at the back of the hotel and was pretty quiet with the exception of one night when there was a street party which went on until 4am. We had booked a small double room but the room was large (huge double bed) with separate bathroom and toilet and was very clean and comfortable. The most memorable thing about our stay at the hotel will be the staff - Monika, the manageress who is a fantastic hostess and who really cares about the happiness of her guests, and Stefan the guitar-playing waiter who serenaded us all on our last night. We will certainly be visiting the Fischerwirt again and recommend the hotel which we found to be an above average 4* establishment.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel - they are much quieter than rooms at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Fischerwirt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fischerwirt

Address: Seegasse 5 | 5700 Zell Am See, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zell am See
#14 Spa Hotel in Zell am See
#14 Romantic Hotel in Zell am See
#16 Luxury Hotel in Zell am See
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Fischerwirt 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Fischerwirt at Zell am SeeDirectly in the centre of Zell am See, only a few steps to the lake! You have only to walk two minutes to the lake an five minutes to the cable car. Enjoy your day or visit the busy street in the front of the hotel were you will find the cafes- restaurants, bars and shops. The starting point for different walks-hiking- tours and excursions.For the balance of body and soul we recommend a visit in our head house the "Romantikhotel Metzgerwirt". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Fischerwirt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fischerwirt Hotel Zell Am See

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fischerwirt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.