We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel ever stayed in” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fischerwirt

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Fischerwirt to your Saves list
Hotel Fischerwirt
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Seegasse 5 | 5700 Zell Am See, Zell am See 5700, Austria   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 45 Hotels in Zell am See
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Worst hotel ever stayed in”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

We have just come back from a week at this hotel. Most reviews beforehand were good so we were looking forward to it. We got there at 7pm and was instructed to come straight down to an evening meal, which we did. We recieved a full 4 course meal but guests arriving later only received a main meal and that was it.

The meals are for the most part quite good, the rooms are cosy and most of the staff are friendly but that is it. It was advertised as All Inclusive but no lunch was provided except for a meagre lunch packet. (One roll with ham or cheese and a piece of fruit) Other All Inclusive hotel guests at other hotels received a buffet lunch and a more comprehensive lunch packet whch we feel is more appropriate for all inclusive board basis.

The room was above a local bar located on the precinct so was very noisy at night - people coming out at 2-3am and shouting their heads off, trains running at all hours of the night, a very noisy cleaning truck came round at 6am and then the church bells tolled at 7am. The room was also very, very hot so closing the window was not an option either.

The manageress there was very rude and abrupt and would speak to us like naughty school children rather than welcome guests and any requests e.g for an early breakfast so we could go on excursions was also met with disgust and were refused initially - but then she would say Ok , 7.15am but we could only have cereal and toast as other items were not available until after 7.30am. (our excursion was leaving at 8am and we had to be there 10 mins beforehand.) 'What, do we expect her to get up at 5am? ' was one response we recieved. This is just one example of this lady's attitude towards us.

This is the worst hotel we have ever stayed in and we would not recommend the Fischerwirt Hotel. Book a room elsewhere.

Room Tip: We had a room above the precinct which was both hot and noisy. Do not book a room at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    39
    9
    10
    9
See reviews for
40
57
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Stayed here for a wedding in February with about 20 other family and friends. Where do I start. Boring stuff first... Location is so central. Right on the main pedistrian street and so in the middle of everything. A short walk from the main ski station but there are lockers there for all your stuff. Food is amazing and so much of it. No need to eat out at all. The hostess Monika is great fun, personal and so helpful. She works hard and will do anything to keep you happy. the Staff have the same attitudes which is lovely after a long day on the mountain. Rooms are clean, large and very comfortable. I'd definately recommend this hotel and I've been skiing alot. Great resort and the best base for a week in Zell am See.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend on Sea, Essex
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

We travelled with Thomson to the Fizcherwirt and have no complaints with them at all. We would definately book with them again. However the hotel was very disappointing. First of all they gave us a room without a balcony which we'd paid for. Our rep was able to sort this out but couldn't change rooms until Monday when we arrived on a Saturday! Thomson did give us a refund for the days without correct room.

We'd also paid for all inclusive but upon arrival after being ordered into dinner immediately we found that the first meal was not good, however the meals did improve during the week. One night we had to be led over to a sister hotel promptly at 6.30 for dinner but this was actually much better. Do not turn up late for dinner as everything will be lined up in front of you on your table to eat as quick as possible as happened to one couple who misunderstood the timings. Drinks were supposed to be available until 10pm but it was very rare that someone was around to serve us. One evening we gave up completely. In the brochure it mentions an outside bar but we were told that this is a seperate business to the hotel and wasn't included in the all inclusive even though all the hotel staff seemed to work in there. Cake and coffee should have been served between 4 and 5 but at the beginning of the week the machine was broken and there was just a few crumbs of cake left on a very small plate. Packed lunch had to be ordered before 7pm for the next day but consisted of one roll with either a slice of ham or cheese, no butter, salad or anything, and one piece of fruit. We bought future lunches from Billa supermarket which were very good.

The rooms were unbearably hot with no air conditioning or fans available. If you left the door or window open all night you'd be woken with the sound of people singing and shouting until 4 or 5 in the morning. Also in need of refurbishment as a bit tired looking and wardrobes smelt musty, however rooms were kept very clean every day. Also the dining room has no air conditioning either and it's not enjoyable eating in there.

We loved Zell am See and would recommend going with Thomson as the trips and reps were brilliant, just don't stay at the Fischerwirt.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

very good location and frinedly staff and good breakfast

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

The Fischerwirt is located in the heart of Zell am See and is therefore convenient for everything. The rooms are comfortable, well equippped, and spotlessly clean, and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly during our stay.
Breakfasts took the form of a comprehensive buffet. The evening meal menu changed daily and always offered a vegetarian option, and all the food was of high quality and was well cooked and seasoned.
We were on the third floor, with a room overlooking the pedestrianised street (traffic is banned from many of the streets in Zell am See ), with a balcony and lake view. The only minor downside was the thoughtlessness of other holidaymakers returning to other hotels in the early hours. Thankfully, the double glazing was most effective!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

We stayed at this hotel at the beginning of April as part of a trip organised by Skiline for the Park Langley club and found the staff to be friendly and helpful. The food was good and lots of it, usually a five course evening meal and there was everything you could want for breakfast. Our bedroom was clean and fine for 2, although I think if you were using the additional pull down bed it would feel too crowded, it was a little dated though. I did see into a couple of other rooms and they looked a bit plusher. Good sauna.

A negative point for me was that smoking is allowed in the bar, as in almost all other bars and restaurants in the resort. Overall I think the hotel was good for its purpose and in the centre of the town so great for going out.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

I was here on the annual Parklangly Tennis club ski trip for 4 days. The staff were really helpful and very peasant.
I definitely ate too much, Fantastic buffet breakfast inc fruit,cereals egg and bacon etc.
5 course evening meals (ooohh). Rooms were pleasant and very comfy beds.
The hotel is slightly dated in some rooms but I also saw some of the newer bathrooms and they were first class. Yes it does get noisy in the early hours but only for a short time as people pass by.
Thanks to Sarah and Angus from SKILINE.co.uk who we booked with as they made the stay extra special. We had a great skiing holiday.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Fischerwirt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fischerwirt

Address: Seegasse 5 | 5700 Zell Am See, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zell am See
#14 Romantic Hotel in Zell am See
#14 Spa Hotel in Zell am See
#16 Luxury Hotel in Zell am See
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Fischerwirt 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Fischerwirt at Zell am SeeDirectly in the centre of Zell am See, only a few steps to the lake! You have only to walk two minutes to the lake an five minutes to the cable car. Enjoy your day or visit the busy street in the front of the hotel were you will find the cafes- restaurants, bars and shops. The starting point for different walks-hiking- tours and excursions.For the balance of body and soul we recommend a visit in our head house the "Romantikhotel Metzgerwirt". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Fischerwirt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fischerwirt Hotel Zell Am See

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fischerwirt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.