We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional hospitality and service in stunning location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seevilla Freiberg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Seevilla Freiberg to your Saves list
Seevilla Freiberg
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Esplanade 22, Zell am See A-5700, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 45 Hotels in Zell am See
Boston Spa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional hospitality and service in stunning location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

This hotel provides its guests with exceptional service and hospitality, great food, excellent facilities in a great location. The service provided by the staff cannot be faulted - it is provided with efficiency and friendliness that is exceptional. On the reception desk Astrid and Alexandra were unfailingly helpful, coping with our regular last minute changes to the times of the free taxi to the CityExpress lift in Zell or the bus station for the ski bus to Kaprun and even finding some suitable padding material to protect my new skis on the journey home. In the dining room the service from Nadja, Melita, Michael and the deservedly famous Berni were superbly friendly and efficient - personal preferences were catered for and remembered, needs were anticipated and met almost before you had thought of them.

The food both at breakfast and dinner was both plentiful and of a very high standard. For breakfast there was a range of cereals including superb museli - apparently soaked in cream - which was my choice accompanied by local wild honey. A great buffet of cold meats and cheeses, yoghurts, breads and pastries (including Swiss(?) roll!) was complemented by boiled and scrambled eggs - enough to set anyone up for a hard day on the slopes! When we arrived on Saturday lunchtime a meal was provided without notice. In the evening a buffet of hors d'oeuvres - artichoke hearts, smked salmon, salads, etc. , soup, a main course and desert accompanied by great local wine ensured a very enjoyable end to a hard day's skiiing. The poached sea trout and wild garlic risotto stood out from the consistenly high quality of dishes provided; the service provided by the chefs equalled that of the dining room staff.

Our room (18) was in the old part of the hotel and, in common with the others, had superb views over the lake and mountains beyond; there was a little veranda which that led to the lawn by the lake; we considered a swim in the lake but the water was on the painful side of cold!. The decor was simple and typically Austrian - as seen in the photo of the single room on the hotel's website. The decor in the bathroom is a little dated, but the facilities were clean and effective. The heating and ventilation were good. The beds were comfortable and there was sufficient storage for clothes, bags, etc. Additional pillows were provided immediately on request.

The sauna was very welcome after an intensive day on the slopes.The dedicated cold shower had the most vicious cold water - enough to keep even the hardiest Finn happy. In addition, the wellness suite has a steam room, solarium, massage suite and extremely comfortable upholstered sunbeds to unwind on, all looking out over the lake. Fresh, cold blackcurrent cordial was provided to rehydrate; more than sufficient clean towels, etc were also available. The facilities were modern and immaculately clean.

We had our lunch on the terrace overlooking the lake on our first day; In warmer weather it would have been great to sit out there in the evening. We didn't miss a loung area; this is not a hotel for boisterous nights in the bar - there are far better locations in town for convivial drinking, including the Ginhouse Bar. The heated boot room and ski store completed the facilities.

Outside the hotel at the front is a narrow road that appears to be part of the promenade stretching all along the lake; it is mainly used for jogging, cycling, walking, in-line skating etc. On the other side of the road is a railway line which did not impinge at all upon our enjoyment of the hotel - parly due to the lack of train traffic, partly due to the acoustic benefits of double glazing.

In summary, this is what all small family hotels should be like, comfortable, superb personal service, excellent food, very good facilities and a great location. We will be going back.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    36
    12
    4
    10
See reviews for
29
56
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

plus points - very pretty location - dining rooms and bedrooms right on the lake side.
spa area very nice.
Staff are all great.
Down side - rooms in the older wing are clean but very dated, and with poor bathrooms. No more than two star standard. As others have said, expect to be woken regularly by the trains passing behind the hotel. Also, the lakeside location means that the town centre, and in particular the ski lifts, are at least ten minutes walk away. Finally, the other strange weakness is the lack of a public area/bar. Apart from five or six chairs near reception, there is nowhere to sit in the evening and have a drink! In summer this is not an issue, as you can sit next to the lake, but in winter it is an issue.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire,UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

Great view of the frozen lake and a nice walk into the city centre to the other bars. We hired a locker for our ski gear at the main lift which is great as you can a just dump your gear after the day and have some apres drinking.
Breakfast in hotel is good, plenty of choice, dinner is fine also but fill your plate with the self service starters as some main dishes can be small portions.
Rooms are baisic but good, Staff are excellent and make up for any short fallings, In all, a good hotel and would stay again if price was good.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, Scotland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2010

Stayed here for a weeks skiing and couldn't fault the hotel in any way. Rooms were comfortable and cleaned to a high standard. Food was lovely, with a well-varied menu. The free shuttle bus to the cityexpress gondola worked well. Staff were helpful and friendly (especially Bernie!). The sauna was great for tired muscles at the end of the day. Every room faces onto the lake - a spectacular view! We had a great holiday and would definitely return here.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coventry
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

what a fab xmas skiing holiday booked with crystal hols...reps where amazing to...lovely hotel and amazing food

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goor
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

We had a very nice stay in Hotel Freiberg. The room we had was a little bit old but it was good enough. We had a Sauna in the room which worked very well. We had enough space. The breakfast and diner was very very good. There was more then enough food and the various was perfect.
Nice friendly people from the holte so a big 9 !!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2010

My partner and I stayed here on a recent Ski Trip (January 16 to 23rd). The staff of this lovely hotel are friendly and courteous. Our room was located in the newer part of the hotel with a fantastic view across the lake. The room was very spacious, cosy and kept absolutely spotless. Yes, it was a bit of a "trudge" to the lifts but the hotel organises taxi's to run their guests up to the first lift at "City West"; Which lift is which is a little confusing until you get the first day over as there are the lifts/gondola at "city west" (within the village) which is grand for the more competent skiers, and then there is the lift up where the Ski School(s) are located (the bear) - which is a bus ride up the hill. But there is a bus at the stop across from City West which departs up the hill every 20 minutes or so - and its a nice walk (in regular boots!) from the hotel to the bus stop. The food in this hotel was simply amazing. We had seen previous write ups about the food in the hotel but we really cannot understand given the high quality of the meals we had, what the problem was. There was a large selection of buffet salads to have as a starter every single evening, followed by soup, followed by your choice of main course (selected at breakfast from 3 - yes, three, options), followed by desert. Every single meal was absolutely delicious. The hotel holds quite a nice selection of wines too. The only only complaint that we would make and its not really a complaint, is that the Freiburg does not have a bar - you certainly can have a beer, drink, etc and sit quite happily in the comfortable foyer area, but its kinda nice to sometimes wander down to the bar in a hotel pre-dinner however, but don't let that stop you staying at this hotel as there are plenty of bars throughout the town!! (surprisingly still with smoking permitted) ... Zell am See, I do hope that there will be room in the Inn!! Thank you for a most memorable holiday.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seevilla Freiberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seevilla Freiberg

Address: Esplanade 22, Zell am See A-5700, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Zell am See
#14 Family Hotel in Zell am See
#16 Luxury Hotel in Zell am See
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Seevilla Freiberg 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Seevilla Freiberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seevilla Freiberg Hotel Zell Am See

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seevilla Freiberg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.