We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Schoenblick

Hotel Schoenblick
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Schoenblick to your Saves list
Hotel Schoenblick
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schoenblickstrasse 2, Zell am See 5700, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 45 Hotels in Zell am See
Shropshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

Just returned after a last minute one week stay at the Schonblick. Had a great hiking holiday. Excellent family run hotel. Food excellent. Buffet breakfasts, choice of menu for evening meal. Had a great New Year celebration.Staff very friendly and helpful. Only disappointment - not much smow. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    10
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
7
5
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Beirut, Lebanon
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2008

After spending a few days in Wien, and before continuing to Salzburg, we stopped for about a week at Schonblick Hotel, in Zell am See, the Austrian Alps.

What a pleasant surprise! The hotel owner welcomed us personally, asking about the trip, about our country, and whether we were hungry after the long train journey. The human touch is very strong at Schonblick, and you are made to feel at home immediately.

The rooms were fine, cozy, clean, and practical. The view from the balcony (with chaise longue and flower pots) was breathtaking, as the majestic mountains loomed in the distance. We also had a view on the garden/playground. The weather was superb, so the kids enjoyed playing on the lawn.

Dinner is served at the hotel, and is included in the room fee. A great selection, if on a buffet night, and great three-meal supper on the set dinner. The maitre d'hotel was great, and our kids sometimes got a double serving desert. One night we came later than dinner time, having been caught in a rainstorm in Germany. As we hurried back, hoping to catch dinner, we were royally served although the kitchen was closing down.

When we left, the owner bid us goodbye in person.

What can I say? Of the many hotels we tried in Austria, Schonblick will remain, for a very long time, a very personal, very friendly, and very memorable experience.

Thumbs up!

  • Liked — The human touch
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2007

We enjoyed a week long skiing holiday at this hotel in January 2007. Having booked directly through the hotel, based only upon their proximity to the slopes and price, we were extremely pleased with our experience.

Having booked cheap flights to Salzburg, we managed to catch a coach into Zell am See and got a taxi from Zell an See to the hotel - very hassle free and cheap! Would definitely recommend doing this!

The hotel rooms are basic but clean and as we spent all our time on the slopes, we spent little time in the room anyway. The food at the hotel comprises of a mixed selection with local Austrian dishes and was of a good standard.

The family run hotel had a friendly, welcoming atmosphere. This was our first skiing holiday and we didnt really know what to expect but we enjoyed the experience so much that we cant wait til next year. We would definitely stay at the schonblick again and would recommend it to anyone!

  • Liked — Proximity to the slopes, ski school, ski hire etc, food, friendly staff
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester, uk
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2006

Just returned from a weeks stay in the Hotel Schoenblick, Soll, Austria. Having done some digging on the internet we had our doubts about the quality, but on arrival we were pleasantly surprised. The staff were friendly and the checking in was quick and effortless. Our rooms were spacious, comfortable, very clean and well equipped, comprising of a king size bed, cable tv (mtv, cnn, and bbc news only english channels!), balcony, table and chairs and large wardrobe. The location is excellent for both access to the ski facilities and even better located for the local bars, restaurants and buses. Some other more expensive hotels are situated in the centre of Soll, too near some of the noisey bars! The breakfast provided was of a good standard and set us up well for the day! Our second floor room provided a spectacular view of the mountains. The hotels interior is dated, and it could probably do with a bar, but this is the only criticism we can offer. This hotel offers superb value for money when compared with other hotels in this resort given the choice of any other hotel in Soll, i would not hesitate in staying again.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Schoenblick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Schoenblick

Address: Schoenblickstrasse 2, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 45 Hotels in Zell am See
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Schoenblick 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Otel and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Schoenblick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Schoenblick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.