We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Hotel .... apart from.....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AlpineResort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added AlpineResort to your Saves list
AlpineResort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schmittenstrasse 125, Zell am See 5700, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 45 Hotels in Zell am See
Aberdeen, Scotland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous Hotel .... apart from.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

We stayed here in early March and had a super week's ski-ing. The hotel was very clean and welcoming. Wi-fi only available in the lobby/bar area and not in your room though. Quite a distance from the town, and the last bus is at 6pm, so you would need to take a taxi each time. Not the place to stay if you want to hit the village bars.

Drinks were very expensive in the hotel, so beware. They also charge for tap water!! However, the food was excellent with different choices and a huge effort made each evening - never boring.

The only shame of the holiday was a set of our skis was stolen from the ski/boot room on the last evening between us finishing ski-ing and packing our bags!! It was a keypad set up from the outside and the ski room was supposedly locked after 6pm from the hotel side. A collection of rental equipment was made on the last evening, (not that I am accusing anyone) but an ideal opportunity for someone to help themselves at that point. The skis had only been bought 6 weeks prior to the holiday. Another chap had his new board stolen also. The hotel said they hadn't had any theft for 5 yrs and had put up a camera and keypad. But the camera was false. The manager was less than helpful when we reported it and we had to call and ask our package rep to call the police to file the report for our insurance. Funnily enough his attitude changed when the Police arrived. But it was such a shame to what had been a good holiday.

I would recommend taking your skis to your room I'm afraid. Other staff very nice and helpful, but the Manager was shocking with his attitude.

Room Tip: Had an upgrade to a fabulous large room on the 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    27
    9
    14
    6
See reviews for
40
29
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

I had planned the trip of a lifetime with my daughter and grandson. Our first winter holiday away over Christmas and we wanted snow. I was NOT disappointed! The food was of a high quality with plenty of choice. The rooms were kept clean and beds made every day. Its interesting to read some of the other reviews because we found the prices were very reasonable and the service was really good. We weren't there to ski but that didn't matter - it was easy to get around either by taxi or on the buses that run frequently from the Schmitten. The atmosphere in the hotel was really welcoming as are the staff (thanks to you all) Because wi-fi was available my 16yr old grandson didn't get bored while my daughter and I enjoyed the apre-ski!! It was fabulous and we cant wait to get back. I can really recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: we had an apartment room which was ideal for 3 generations - no bed sharing necessary!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

My daughter and I went to this place for lunch. We were skiing and needed lunch near the nursery slope at the Schmitten.

We have had lunch several times on the mountains, usually having soup or spaghetti or similar. Always we had Apfelsaft, which up on the mountains is €3.50 for a large glass - about a litre.

After eating and asking for the bill, I was horrified to find that the price of the soft drink was €6.50 each, more than anything we had eaten (sausage and chips or a tomato soup)

When the price was queried, I ws referred to the drinks list where the Apfelsaft was not priced in the quantity served.

Upon complaint, I was referred the front desk. I asked for the manager, and was told that he was not available. The receptionist offered to help. I explained the issue, and was told that this was a 4star hotel and that I should have seen the prices before I ordered the drink. Fair enough, but as the drink was not on the drinks list, this was difficult to do. No offer of anything by the receptionist. When I mentioned this to another diner, his doleful expression said it all "Don´t tell me, I know all about their charging. I am staying here" His tone indicated "worse luck for me".

So, beware!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasterlee, Belgium
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

Hotel in general was ok BUT :

- Needed to wait a long time before we got our drink.
- Room cleaning can be better (there was still dust, papers and a waterbottle under the bed !!!). The glasses from our evening drinks where left in the hotel room until the last day ?!
- Service at the front desk was perfect and friendly !
- Food was good but some more fruit in a basket would be a plus.
- Kids could only get a kids meal in the kidsclub. Why not together with the parents in the evening ? We go on a family vacation so want to be together and not eat seperatly.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Super, calm and quite elegant all inclusive hotel.....great food served with great finesse and style. The staff are brilliant.Furthermore if you are an energetic sort there is a cable car really close by so you can literally step out of the hotel and be on top of a big mountain for the views and the walking ,all in a matter of minutes. Also the hotel has free mountain bikes.The sauna and pool are a welcome experience after a busy day.An all round brilliant hotel.......all you need is good weather !!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good but ask for a view.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

We stayed at the Schwebebahn from 6-17 August 2011. This was our second visit to the hotel, the first being 5 years ago, but not much had changed. The surroundings are spectacular, and you never tire of seeing the mountains when you wake up in the morning, however the weather can change several times a day. We stayed for 10 days and had 3 days of pouring rain, 4 days of wall to wall sunshine, and 3 days of a bit of both, but you don't go to Austria for the weather. The walks are excellent and although we are in our 50's, we are very fit, and walked for 3-4 hours most days. The 6 day lift/bus pass is a must, because although it is expensive(about £60, I think) it pays for itself over and over again, as it is very expensive to use the cablecars if you pay as you go. Talking of walking, there is a beautiful lake near the town which takes about 3 hours to walk around (it is14kms) and that's after you have walked downhill to the town, which takes another 30 minutes.There are regular buses, but they stop at about 6pm. Walking up the hill is very challenging, especially if you are a bit unfit. Taxis are about 10-12 euros from the town to the hotel, which soon adds up, so we didn't bother.
We only went on one trip as we have been there before, and that was to The Eagles Nest, which we thought was overpriced and not very interesting, to be honest. We went on a morning's (free) outing to a nearby farm, but our guide couldn't speak much English, and because everyone else was German, we couldn't understand it.
There is lots to do if you have children, but for couples, the evenings get boring as there is no entertainment, and once you have enough to drink in the bar, there is nothing else to do unless you meet up with other guests, but at the time we were there, almost everyone was German, so take plenty of books.
I would recommend the hotel and resort if you are fit, like walking, eating and drinking, and don't mind making your own entertainment in the evenings.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Schwebebahn at the end of June 2011 for really enjoyable week's holiday. The staff were very friendly, with good service and excellent facilities in a good mountain location with beautiful views. The rooms were clean and spacious with very good food and drink on offer. A great position for hiking and trekking. Facilities of the wellness centre include an indoor pool, sauna, steam room, jacuzzi and infra red room too. An elegant hotel and we would certainly recommend it. It is a quiet location, out of the town.

Room Tip: We had rooms with balconies at the front of the hotel with beautiful views, but there would also be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AlpineResort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AlpineResort

Address: Schmittenstrasse 125, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Zell am See
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — AlpineResort 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Booking.com so you can book your AlpineResort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schwebebahn Hotel Zell Am See

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AlpineResort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.