We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yet Again Awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Stadt Wien

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Stadt Wien to your Saves list
Hotel Stadt Wien
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schmittenstrasse 41, Zell am See 5700, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 45 Hotels in Zell am See
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bristol
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Yet Again Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed at the Stadt Wien for the 5th time now. The rooms are so clean and the spa is fantastic with its outside pool even though it could be a little warmer. The food is excellent small portions which is good as you have about 5 to 6 courses.The staff are SO friendly and they remember you. You can ski into the hotel weather permitting but for the last 5 times I have had no problems.I think Wi Fi should be free but its not, the charge is about 20 Euros for the week which upset my 15 year old Son who would have loved to live on his Ipad !! The hotel will sort out private Airport transfers it will also sort out your ski passes and you can even hire your boots and skis from them. We hire from Intersport who are extremely good.Nothing is ever too much trouble for the staff at Stadt Wien and I would recommend it to anyone

Room Tip: Some rooms are small but email them and they can tell you exactly what the rooms are like. room 315...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    41
    9
    6
    3
See reviews for
124
53
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kilkeel, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This was our first visit to the Stadt Wien hotel in Zell am see. We stayed from 19-26 January 13. We found the Stadt Wien to be a very friendly family run hotel. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The food was excellent, we had a wide variety of food for breakfast and a six course meal every evening which again had something to suit everyones taste. The ski bus stopped just outside the hotel which was great and it only takes approx ten minutes to get to the ski lifts. We enjoyed the apres ski snacks in the afternoon. We also went to the spa areas which were great and enjoyed the heated outdoor swimming pool. We would definitely stay in the Stadt Wien again if we returned to Zell am see.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

This is our second visit to the Stadt Wien in Zell am see, I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough, from the large rooms that easily accommodate 3 or more children to the wonderful staff who make you feel like friends not just guests to Klaus & Christine & baby Julius who make you feel like returning family. The fabulous heated pool keeps the kids entertained in the evening & the food is just fantastic. We are already planning next January's trip.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My wife & I took a late booking at the Stadt Wien through Cristal Ski. It was our first time in Austria and we were not disappointed. We too stayed in room 405 (we were given an upgrade on arrival) overlooking the pool. It was a brilliant week. The hotel was excellent, staff friendly and the food was superb. Many choices of salads & starters from the buffet, interesting and well cooked main courses and excellent desserts and cheeses to finish off. The breakfast selection was probably one of the best we have ever seen, and the apres ski offerings were brilliant, not just cakes but a hot dish as well.
Easy access to the slopes by bus stop outside hotel or a short walk to one of the many lifts, and you can ski back to the rear of the hotel if conditions allow.
The room was a good size , comfortable with a separate seating area with sofa, table and chair. Pleanty of cupboards, and an excellent shower with plenty of hot water.
The pool area was very good with the water steaming in the freezing air, but good fun. The steam rooms and rest rooms were very welcome after a hard day on the slopes.
All in all, a great holiday experience.
Hope we get to return one day.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

My Wife and I stayed at the Stadt Wein from the 15th December To 22nd December, this is a delightfull charming hotel,Claus and Christine and their team do provide a very warm welcome to all guests and as its a family run hotel it has that personal touch.
Great skiing ,great snow conditions! bus stop just outside hotel , Zell am See is a very charming and traditional Austrian Town. The hotel is spotlesly clean thoughout , the food was outstanding , 6 course fine dinning evening meals! great breakfasts!, the drinks prices were very reasonable only 4 euros for a large edleweiss beer ,.We do not usualy go back to the same resort and same hotel as the world is a big place but We will be returning here due to the fantastic experience we had, hopfully in Jan 2014!

Room Tip: we had a large room with terrace overlooking the pool and woodland views very quite and peacefull
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullingar, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed at the Stadt Wien Hotel from Dec 23 2012 to Jan 2 2013. It was our first time to stay in Winter and we were not disapointed. The hotel is beautiful, the staff could not be more helpful and the cuisine is excellent, all in all a memorable experience and we will return.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful week with my wife in room 405 at Stadt Wien. The hotel is just a short walk from the resort centre and is well located for the ski-hire shop, ski bus, and the City Express gondola. Snow permitting, skiing from the slopes to the door is possible.

On arrival in the warm and inviting foyer, we were greeted by friendly staff and checkin was swift. We had paid a little extra for a room with a balcony. It was a very good size and overlooked the small outdoor heated pool. The room was very warm, spotlessly clean and had lots of storage space. No bath but a good shower with lots of warm water.

We were on a half board basis and overall the food was excellent. At dinner there was in particular a huge selection of fresh salad. All of the other courses were equally as good and certainly no one could say that there was insufficient food on offer. There was also a great selection at breakfast. Drinks from the bar were well priced.

One of the great assets of this family run hotel is its staff. The owners were present on a daily basis and all staff went out of their way to see to the needs of the guests. Nothing was too much trouble for any of them.

Not the most luxurious hotel that I have ever stayed in but certainly one of the best. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Go for one of the larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Stadt Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stadt Wien

Address: Schmittenstrasse 41, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Zell am See
#2 Family Hotel in Zell am See
#2 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zell am See
#3 Luxury Hotel in Zell am See
#8 Romantic Hotel in Zell am See
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Stadt Wien 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lots of room for lots of vacationAt Hotel Stadt Wien in Zell am See, you will experience nature up close. Both inside and outside the hotel. Enjoy the Salzburg-style hospitality. Uncomplicated, sincere and relaxed.Step inside and feel completely at home from the moment you arrive. Our openness, natural charm and attentive service greet you right there at the reception and accompany you for the rest of your vacation. Natural materials, colors and forms radiate an atmosphere of warmth and seclusion throughout the hotel.The 57 rooms and suites are beautiful furnished for an utterly comfortable stay. Room categories "Zur Ruhe" and "Zum Frohsinn" are suitable for allergy sufferers and feature solid-wood furniture. Discover renewed sources of peace and strength in the Vitality Oasis of Hotel Stadt Wien. An open-air pool provides wonderful refreshment both summer and winter. In contrast, the sauna area will quickly have you working up a true sweat. And when you are ready for total relaxation, our masseuses Anna-Maria and Victoria will be right there at your side.Of course, any relaxing vacation also includes delicious things to eat and drink. These are skillfully conjured up on your plate by head chef Hans and his team. Meals include a nutritious breakfast, afternoon snacks along with a 5-course dinner menu. Aside from self-baked bread and home-cured bacon, cooking here always emphasizes use of regional products. We completely reject the use of any flavor enhancers or ready-made products.Amenities at Hotel Stadt Wien 57 rooms and suites Free WiFi throughout the hotel Hotel bar and lounge area Smoking lounge Free Vitality Oasis Playroom and playground Basement ski storage Free bike rentals Parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Stadt Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stadt Wien Zell Am See

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Stadt Wien, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.