We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel zum Hirschen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel zum Hirschen to your Saves list
Hotel zum Hirschen
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dreifaltigkeitsgasse 1, Zell am See 5700, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 45 Hotels in Zell am See
Blisworth England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2009

Firstly before commenting on the hotel I would like to mention that a group of 8 of us booked this skiing trip through Inghams. What a breath of fresh air this travel company is. Everything was so well organised. Chris their area rep took us on a days guided skiing tour of Zell Am See on our first day of skiing, then 2 days later took us to the glacier at Kaprun. All of this free of charge! Well done Inghams!

With regards to the hotel, I must have stayed at a different place to the previous reveiwers. I read their reveiws before we left for the trip and expected the worst.

Yes the hotel has a couple of issues which need addressing, being the noise in the early hours of the morning if you have a room at the front and the ski/boot room is not adequate for a hotel of this class. If not for these items I would have given it 5 out of 5

They were our only gripes and all 8 of our party thought everything else was great.

All of our 4 rooms had been recently renovated along with new spacious bathrooms. None of us had ever had so much cupboard space on a skiing trip before. Unbelievably we had 1 cupboard with nothing in it. Those of you that have skied will know that is not often the case.

The food was way above average and the drinks reasonably priced. The hotel has a new heated and cushioned outside apres bar right by the entance door to the restaurant, Great place to be between 3-7pm.

The staff without exception were friendly and helpfull and all of the public areas were extremely clean.

Well done to the hotels owners and staff.

  • Liked — spaciousness of bedrooms
  • Disliked — noise in the early hours
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    38
    14
    6
    6
See reviews for
29
43
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
north yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2009

We have just returned from a one week stay at this hotel and to say we were disappointed is an under statement!!! We were in Zell am See for a friends wedding and this hotel completely ruined what would have otherwise been a fantastic holiday. On arrival at the hotel the staff claimed that they had no record of us travelling with our baby son and they had therefore not provided a cot in our room. They provided a cot but told us that there would be a charge of 8 euro per night for this service. We disputed this as we had already been told by our agent in the UK that there would be no charge. My son would not sleep in the cot anyway and on closer inspection further into the week I was glad he hadn't. I brushed past the side of the cot and the whole thing almost collapsed, I found washers on the floor of the room that should have been holding it together but had clearly fallen off. There was also a sign underneath the mattress which said "do not leave child unattended" which indicates that this was infact a play pen with a mattress put into it to look like a cot! There were also tears in the fabric on the top and sides of the cot. I asked the hotel staff to remove the cot from the room on Monday evening and this was never done - the cot was still in the room when we left on Saturday.

The room was average to say the least. The bed was extremely uncomfortable and half the lights in the room did not work. Our friends who we were staying with also had problems with there room. The safety deposit box did not work and was never fixed despite them informing the reception staff about this on the first day. My friend also had the bathroom door fall off when she went to open it and was lucky not to be injured!!! The hotel lift also broke on one occasion. Fawlty Towers has nothing on this place!!!

We also had a major issue with getting boiled water to make my son's bottles. There was no kettle in the room and when we asked for one at reception we were told to go out and buy one. We then asked if we could have boiled water in a flask from the bar several times a day in order to make up feeds and sterilise bottles and were told that we could but that we would be charged 2 euros per flask!!! On speaking to the manageress about this we were told that there would be no charge as it was for making a baby's bottle. Despite this when we came to pay our room bill a 6 euro "service charge" for boiled water had been added to our bill. When we disputed this we were threatened that if we did not pay they would call the police!!! The manageress was rude, arrogant and unhelpfull just like the rest of her staff and proceeded to raise her voice towards my husband because he was querying this charge!!! The barman continually talked about us in German to other guests obviously assuming that we didn't understand him.

I have stayed in hotels all over the world and have never been treated so badly by hotel staff. Everything was too much effort for them and they were so arrogant and unhelpful! After speaking with our rep about all the problems he even agreed to write a letter of complaint to his head office regarding this hotel and the terrible attitude of the staff. I would recommend anyone travelling to this resort to steer well clear of this hotel unless you want to be treated like a second class citizen. We had friends staying in the Romantik which was 100% nicer with lovely rooms and friendly staff.

  • Liked — nice food
  • Disliked — arrogant, ignorant, rude and unhelpfull staff
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2009

We have just returned from the Zum Hirschen following a week's break in Zell am See. The resort itself is fantastic for skiers and non skiers alike. The hotel itself is ideally located for the slopes. The food in the hotel was fantastic and we had a lovely waiter and waitress each night who were very friendly. Each evening the restuarant was packed with locals, a sure sign of the high standard of the food. The rooms were comfortable but like most Austrian hotels did not provide tea and coffee making facilities.

The hotel itself was quite quaint but the attitude of the staff left alot to be desired. We can support comments made in other reports that overall the staff (excluding the waiter and waitress) were quite abrupt, unfriendly and often did not listen to reason when guests had an issue. We certainly wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone with small children. We travelled with freinds with a small child who were even charged for boiled water for the child's bottle! After trying to reason with staff and management they were threatened with the police unless the bill was paid. Other friends of ours stayed in the Romantik hotel and having spent several nights there for a wedding, this was by far a more superior and friendly hotel.

If you do not plan to spend a lot of time in your hotel, this hotel is fine but we found that unless you were a regular, the majority of staff were disinterested.

  • Liked — Food
  • Disliked — Fawlty Towers
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2009

We have stayed in Zell am See a number of times and returned this year for a week in late December to see in the New Year. We had previously dined in Zum Hirschen, found it excellent and were really looking forward to staying there.

The hotel is excellently situated for skiers. Unfortunately we found the service levels poor to say the least - picture Fawlty Towers in the snow. Maybe in our case it was because we were travelling on a package, but we were made feel very much like second class citizens. Any complaint was met with a take it or leave it attitude by management throughout the entire week. To add insult to injury, we also had to put up with our waiter constantly complaining with all that was wrong with the hotel.

The standard of accomodation is OK but is not 4 star, more akin to a 3 star in need of updating. The leisure facilities do appear attractive on the website but in reality are quite poor. In reality they bear no resemblance from the promotional literature or what you would expect from a 4 star hotel.

All in all a very disappointing experience. It would be hard to find anything to recommend this hotel apart from the location.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Service levels
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2008

We stopped here purley because it was convienient on a touring holiday. Its a family run hotel with spa (not used). easy to find.

Restuarant was excellant (staff and food) and it was good to see locals coming in for food as well as guests. Owner/chef helped us with the menu's as they were only available in German (English ones being already distributed) but this worked in our favour as we asked if he had any chicken dishes, he said no but then said he'd be happy to do us both a roast chicken dish if we wanted - this was fantatsic service.

Room was fine, large, nice bathroom but TV was domestic only.

Breakfast was also very good, plenty of things to choose from. Our German is poor and one or two of staff didn't speak English, but as long as you have a laugh about it we got through it fine.

If I was passing through the region again, I'd stop here for sure.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2008

We have just returned from the Zum Hirschen in Zell am See. We enjoyed this hotel.
We had a lovely room, very clean and very well appointed.
The staff were always friendly and helpful.
The food was of a very high quality. The food was described as Gourmet and it lived up to that description. We were particularly pleased that they served half-portions when requested.

There was some traffic noise when the windows were opened but not sufficient to keep us awake as it did lessen during the night.

The plus side of being Central was that public transport was very accessible.

Overall I would rate this hotel very highly.

  • Liked — The room was very well appointed and the food was exellent.
  • Disliked — The traffic noise and the hotel entrance which belied its excellent interior.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2008

I have just returned from a week's holiday staying at the delightful family run Zum Hirschen Hotel, Zell Am See as part of a well-known holiday company tour. I am very fussy where hotels are concerned but I cannot fault this hotel at all. Our room was well-equipped, clean and tidy. The beds were extremely comfortable and the bathroom spotless and luxurious. The food was excellent. I am a vegetarian and often end up with an omelette or salad! However, the chef came up with something new and exciting each night. There was also a good selection at the breakfast buffet bar. The restaurant staff remembered that I had a vegeteranian meal all through the week which was nice as i did not have to remind them. I and my friend found all the staff very friendly, helpful and ameniable and the owners came to greet their guests in the dining room most mornings which I think is lovely. The location of the hotel was very good also, close to shops, railway and bus station and a short walk from the lake. However, it was slightly noisy at night as it is close to a main road but don't let this put you off as I am sure you will enjoy your stay at this excellent hotel

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Near a noisy road
  • Stayed September 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel zum Hirschen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel zum Hirschen

Address: Dreifaltigkeitsgasse 1, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Zell am See
#13 Spa Hotel in Zell am See
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel zum Hirschen 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel zum Hirschen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zum Hirschen Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel zum Hirschen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.