We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nearly but not quite” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel zum Hirschen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel zum Hirschen to your Saves list
Hotel zum Hirschen
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dreifaltigkeitsgasse 1, Zell am See 5700, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 45 Hotels in Zell am See
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nearly but not quite”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I feel slightly harsh about giving this hotel 3 out of 5 but feel that 4 would have been generous. There are a lot of good points about this hotel. Location is excellent, right in the centre of town but pretty short walks to the nearest gondola (5 mins max) or to the ski bus stop (2 mins). The rooms are spacious for a ski resort with ample storage space, warm without being too hot and spotlessly clean. The staff in the hotel were also friendly, helpful and welcoming and spoke good English.

The less good points I would start with the restaurant. The standard of food was largely good but we stayed half board and found the menu for the half board customers was very limited and to be honest we felt a little like "second class" guests. You get a 5 course meal for dinner which you are asked to make your selections for at breakfast but there is actually very little choice to be made as a half board guest. The starter & second courses - each one item - no choice. The third course is a buffet salad bar - fairly uninspiring selection and on a couple of occasions the potato salad was a little "fizzy". Main course you got a choice of 3 things, one meat, one fish or one vegetarian and finally for dessert a choice of 3 options. On one occasion the kitchen had messed up the main course choices we had selected and we were asked whether we would mind eating what they had cooked for our main course rather than what we had chosen!

The restaurant also does a la carte with an extensive menu and that food was excellent. It is also possible as a half board customer to pay a supplement to go a la carte rather than have the half board menu but you are not told this (we only found out on our 3rd day) and they only give you a 10 euro concession against the menu price of the al la carte meal which we felt was a little low - are they saying the value of the 5 course meal is only 10 euros? Breakfast was ok - a pretty good selection but they are not very good at keeping especially the hot food re-stocked. We also found the bread and croissants to be stale on a few occasions.

The spa we thought was pretty good, spotlessly clean with plenty of fresh towels provided. A nice pool, an ice cold plunge pool and two saunas. There is no additional charge to get into the spa. If I was being picky I would suggest changing one of the saunas to a steam room and also putting a water machine in the spa somewhere.

All in all not a bad hotel. A little let down by the current food arrangements but I think by adding a little more choice to the half board menu or by making the al la carte alternative more available they would easily move to a 4 or 5 out of 5

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    38
    14
    6
    6
See reviews for
29
43
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed at this beautiful hotel for 5 nights. Everything was perfect. The service, meals, staff, location and the rooms are all of excellent standard. We hope to come back within the next 12 months, cannot fault this hotel at all. Very welcoming and very Austrian. Just wonderful.

Room Tip: This hotel is centrally located. We slept with the windows open and had no problem with outside noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

we stayed at the hotel over Christmas and New Year as a party of 6 with 2 more joining us after Christmas. We had nice rooms with 2 junior suites and a standard room, no complaints from anyone. We did not have any issues with noise, we were facing the road but a bit of early morning traffic was no problem for us.
The food in the evenings was superb, 5 course dinners, 7 course for Christmas and 9 courses for New Year's Eve. One of our party is a vegetarian, every day there were different and varied dishes for her and even her own 9 course menu on New Year's Eve!
The staff were all friendly and helpful, reception desk, barman and waiters.
The hotel location is just about perfect. Cross the road to the bus station for buses to the lifts and Kaprun and other resorts such as Saalbach. The City Express gondola is about 200m, the railway station for Kitzbuehel and other towns is a 7min walk.
All together we would thoroughly recommend it as a base in Zell am See for a great time with great food.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

The hotel is located in the center of the city, and is also near to the gondel that leads to the ski area. Also near to the hotel there are a lot of pubs and restaurants.
The rooms are ok, average, no special design, or comfort. I have been a little bit disappointed with the wellness area. There is one very very small pool, and two very small saunas. This is to less for the advertisement made.
The service is very good, and they are trying their best.
One problem is that there is no internet in most of the rooms!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sausalito, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Zell am See might be a great place in the winter and summer, but off-peak, it's dull, uninviting and mostly shuttered. Hotel zum Hishchen had exactly six guests during my stay in October and was preparing to close for six weeks. The hotel was managed by a ghost staff that was clearly hoping all guests would soon depart. Many of the city's other hotels were closed-- as were many restaurants and businesses that feed off of tourisms. In my experience, there are many better towns to visit in the off-peak seasons. My advice is to check with the hotel before going.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

During our ski holiday in Zell am See we found this restaurant and we visited them several times. In the high season we needed the reservation, in evening it was full with guests. We were very satisfied here, the food was delicious, wine selection and overall quality was really good. The waitors were busy but smiling and friendly. Children friendly atmosphere. I can recommend original goulash soup, perfect schnitzel, lamb different styles was very tasty, beefsteak, and also fish. Nice and clean toilets. Suitable also for groups of more people, they have here areas where the group feels together and a bit separated. The kitchen is well organized, because also when the restaurant was full, we did not wait long.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Lovely, old-style, family-run hotel with typical Austrian furnishings. Our bedroom was very spacious, well-appointed with a balcony, lovely bathroom with 2 washbasins, bath with shower and screened off toilet and bidet. Everything was very clean. The food was excellent, very well-presented. The restaurant has an award from Gault Millau which is why we chose it. But it has one major drawback - NOISE! Because there is no air conditioning, it's necessary to keep the windows open in summer. As the hotel is on a corner on a main road right in the middle of town, there is a lot of traffic noise which, on its own, would be bearable. However, there are groups of people going up and down the street talking loudly, even shouting, as well as lots of noise from the hotel's outside terrace and cellar bar, and this goes on every night until about 2 am or later! Then the rubbish collection starts at 5.30 am, again with maximum amount of noise. So there is very little chance to sleep and we were exhausted by the end of our 7 night stay. This is just about the noisiest place we've ever stayed in.

Room Tip: Essential to have a room in quietest part of hotel, NOT on top of restaurant terrace like ours was!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel zum Hirschen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel zum Hirschen

Address: Dreifaltigkeitsgasse 1, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Zell am See
#13 Spa Hotel in Zell am See
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel zum Hirschen 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel zum Hirschen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zum Hirschen Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel zum Hirschen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.