We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far from 4 star” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Heitzmann

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Heitzmann to your Saves list
Hotel Heitzmann
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Weissgerbergasse 1, Zell am See 5700, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 56 Zell am See B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Far from 4 star”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Noisy location, food pretty basic, especially breakfast. No atmostphere. shower head held up in both bedrooms with elastic bands. Even though water is drinkable you had to buy water at meals. We asked for glasses of ice going to bed and were not refused, then we had free water during the night. Broken fridge in daughters bedroom, was replaced when we asked but wasn't worth getting, no better than broken one. Disappointed overall. Rudy the owner and staff were very friendly and helpful. One positive thing at least.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    34
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
30
32
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
derbyshire
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The food is excellent , great chefs, very friendly waiting staff. On the regular staffs night off the service was disorganised. Owners wouldn't let you have a jug of tap water with dinner although we bought plenty of other drinks which is just profiteering and winds customers up charging 2euros 50 for a small bottle when the tap water is so lovely and enviromentally better than all the empty bottles. We weren't sure whether they refilled the glass bottles from the tap as they always came to the table with the top removed. Hotel is situated very close to all the amenties in the town centre, hence you do have to put up with some road noise. We stayed in July and the bedrooms were unbearably hot. . I asked the owner for a fan and she gave me a grumpy reply,but I did get a fan. Also due to this there is very little outdoor seating area but you do get a visitors card for free entry to the lido although a sunbed there will set you back 3euros 50 a day if you don't fancy sitting on the grass. Zell am zee is a lovely place with beautiful scenery, fantastic lake, lots of great restaurants, bars, there was usually some live music somewhere on an evening in the town centre. There is a main line train station and direct service to Salzburg which takes about 1 and a half hours.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Hotel Heitzmann is located approx 1 min from town center and 10 mins from lakeside,which is handy for all amenities.The down side is that it is also on the main 311 road,which is very busy and noisy.We found the traditional Austrian food excellent,dinner is waiter service with a choice of 3 main courses.Our bedroom was clean and comfortable if somewhat dated,not much in the way of views due to location.Rudi and his staff were very friendly and helpful throughout our stay.8-19th June 2013.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We have just returned from a week in Zell am See, we got married and stayed at the Hotel Heitzmann with over 20 of our family and friends.
The whole week was fantastic and completely beyond any of our expectations!
The hotel was brilliant and everyone had amazing rooms! The food was lovely and catered for everyone's needs from gluten free to the pickier eaters in our group! The staff were so friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble (special mention to Barbara and Thomas!) Our rooms were immaculately cleaned everyday! Reception staff were so helpful providing lots of information about the local area! We give Rudi and his team 10/10!

The wedding - we planned the wedding from the UK, so some details were difficult to plan until arriving in Austria! Rudi had a plan and a back-up plan for all aspects of the day and had obviously gone to a lot of effort to ensure we had the perfect day! The little extra touches made all the difference. Rudi took photos of the day and then provided us with the CD of the photos to take home! He also ensured that he walked all of our guests to each of the venues, so no one went missing!!! The hotel has obviously carried out a number of weddings over the years and their experience is apparent as the day went so smoothly! Corina did an excellent job on my hair and make-up and the bridesmaids! We got married at Castle Rosenberg, which is a stones throw away from the hotel, the building was beautiful and the registrar spoke excellent English and his readings were really special. The pictures were taken down by the lake, the photographer had a great eye for the perfect picture and was very patient with us! We then went back to the hotel Heitzmann to cut our traditional Austrian cake which was delicious, followed by speeches and a lovely 4 course meal, DJ Georg finished off our day playing all of our favourite songs and then one final drink in the Gin House (in my wedding dress) around the corner from the hotel!
This review does not even begin to do the hotel, our holiday or the wedding justice, its just simply a must visit place!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We recently had a brilliant holiday at the Heitzmann and would definitely recommend it to anyone thinking of visiting Zell am See. The location was perfect as the hotel is only a 3-5 min walk to the main City Xpress gondola. It is also right next to the shops and bars in the centre and near to the bus stop for those wanting to travel to Kaprun. Rudi and his whole team were excellent - so welcoming and friendly throughout the week. We all thought our main waiter, Hans, was a star, and the staff in the bar were lovely - gave us great advise on local schnapps! The food was fantastic and we all looked forward to our 5 courses each night. The accommodation itself was really clean, comfortable and spacious. The quirky decor added a really interesting touch too which we loved. Many thanks to everyone at the hotel for ensuring we had such a great trip. (Toni, Tommy, Dan, Victoria, Will and Andy)

Room Tip: We were on the second floor at the front of the hotel which had a lovely balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Had a fantastic holiday at The Heitzmann, stayed mid March, we had amazing weather conditions for late in the season. Brilliant welcome from the staff at the Hotel Heitzmann, they made sure we were able to have our first evening meal even though we arrived around 8.30pm-9pm, the food is of excellent quality, a little heavy on the garlic sometimes but well presented, a few odd dishes but nice to try something new! The only gripe is that the restaurant, in fact the entire hotel is so hot, I understand it is a Ski hotel and its snowing outside but it was late in the season so the outside temperatures were ok, the bedrooms and public rooms were unbearable sometimes, meaning we had to sleep with the window open - the road below (we were located to the front of the hotel almost abve the entrance door) was quite noisy and earplugs were required. The ski/boot storage room is great, with the lift going straight down to the cellar so you dont need your shoes! We didnt use the Sauna so cant comment on that. Our rooms (aside from the heat) we excellent, asked for more pillows and delivered, we had a bath and a shower which was lovely after a days skiing. The bath had jacuzzi jets but I dont think ours worked - we didnt complain as hadn't expected one anyway or paid any extra for it. The location is excellent, one of the closest hotels to the main lift in Zell am See - only a short walk up a slight incline, and accross the road from the bus stop to Kaprun or other areas (Kaprun is a must!) I would definately stay here again, I might just requist a room at the rear of the hotel instead.

Room Tip: Maybe a room at the rear as our room at the front was quite noisy from the road below
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for our honeymoon and it was made all the better for staying in this hotel. The staff were very friendly, with clear understanding and speech of basic English (all we needed). The food was good for a meat-eater, slightly less options for the vegetarian but he muddled through.
The room was always cleaned to perfection and we spoke to the hotel owner in the bar one evening too. A lovely man.
It is a great location - a short walk to the lake and to Zell centre. Very much enjoyed the evenings with the StadtFest, and Gin Haus!
A fantastic trip, and an area and hotel of Austria that we would recommend to others.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Heitzmann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Heitzmann

Address: Weissgerbergasse 1, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Zell am See
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Heitzmann 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Heitzmann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Heitzmann, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.