We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel shame about the weather” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tirolerhof

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Tirolerhof to your Saves list
Hotel Tirolerhof
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Auerspergstrasse 5, Zell am See 5700, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Zell am See
Norfolk
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Great hotel shame about the weather”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

We went to Zell as it is a great location to get some fine walking and great mountain roads to drive unfortunately the weather let us down but Hotel Tirolerhof certainly did not.

Our welcome could not have been more affable and the glass of secco went down a treat. It set the tone for a very high standard of service which was maintained throughout our stay. All the staff were attentive, friendly and professional.

The hotel is smart but not formal the atmosphere is relaxed, all the public rooms are very comfortably furnished with elegant decor.

The swmming pool is small but there is a separate jacuzzi. There are many saunas, steam rooms etc. as well as massage and therapy treatments.

Breakfast is a substantial buffet with eggs cooked to order (you will never need lunch)
Every night there was a fish option on the menu which is not always the case in Austria. Dining was a pleasure most particularily because of our splendid waitress Spomenka (apologies if I have spelt that wrong) She was superb, just the right tone to make you feel well looked after (if not spoilt) without any fuss.

Typical of the excellent service all round was the help given by the young lady on reception who helped us change our cable car tickets and checked the road conditions for our drive back through Germany.

Many thanks Tirolerhof

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    66
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
107
322
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Smogland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2009

We made our second visit to the Tirolerhof on the strength of our initial stay two years previously . A booking 1 month prior to departure afforded a significant saving on the brochure price .We found that all the features which made our first stay so enjoyable were still in place and if anything, improved.

The key staff are still there , delivering superb customer service in a relaxing, unstuffy atmosphere .

The food was possibly even better this time around . Our charming waitress asked if we were ready for our next course , so those that like to eat at a slower pace can be catered for. Yes, the water is expensive at E4-40 a bottle , but the house wine & beer were reasonably priced.

We used the leisure facilities quite a bit after coming back in from walks and found generally that we had enough room in the pool to do a decent 30 minute swim each day at around 6pm prior to dinner.

Perhaps tea & coffee making facilities in the rooms would be an area for improvement appreciated by some , but room service is available.

The weather was very wet for 5 out of the 7 days we were there in mid June ( same as last time!) , but we were fortunate to get up the Schmittenhoe via the cable car on a clear day. We found sufficient to do in & around Zell including train trips to Innsbruck & Mittersill as well as walks around the lake & to Kaprun.

I am sure we will return to the Tirolerfhof & next time we may even find the sun!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2009

We visited for a long weekend break on 13 June 2009. We have stayed at several hotels in Austria and this was good but not perfect. During our visit the majority of guests were British or Irish couples, mainly active pensioners, and they were delightful fellow guests. The hotel is ideally sited in the centre of Zell am See - handy for the lake, shops and train (for those fancying a day trip to Salzburg)
The public areas of the hotel are very attractive as was our room which, despite being in the cheapest category, was very well furnished. Food was as expected in a good 4 star but not exceptional . One thing that did let down the hotel was their petty policy on water at meals (as noted in other articles) i.e. the placing of a bottle of water on the table with a 4.40 euro price sticker on it and a refusal to provide tap water – on principle we had just had a glass of wine each, cheaper at 4 euro for both of us.
The weather was variable during our stay and we therefore made extensive use of the hotel pool. It is a H shape and felt full with 4 people in it – not an suitable pool for children to enjoy with adults. The sauna was pleasant and the sign on the door does explain the Austrian rule that swimming costumes are not allowed. A previous contributor found this unnerving and suggested visiting before 5.00 if you wanted to avoid naked people but the status does not change at 5.00 so you are better avoiding it altogether or, like, most people, obey the rules - it really is more natural and feels much better to be naked in a sauna or steam room than sitting in a wet swimming costume!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verwood, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2009

We stayed in the Tirolerhof for a week and found it to be excellent in every respect. The service throughout the hotel was extremely efficient and attentive and always accompanied by friendly smiles.The room was comfortable, modern and clean and the food was of a consistently high standard. The breakfast buffet was extensive and included cooked eggs, sausages and ham if preferred while the evening meals would rival some top restaurants in their quality. Our only small quibble is that the courses at dinner were delivered a bit too quickly one after the other for our liking - a little more time to pause between courses would have been welcome. That small point apart, we found the hotel difficult to fault. There is clearly a strong culture of good customer service which emanates from the top. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Durham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2009

We stayed at the Tirolerhof Hotel in May 2009. We had read the reviews on the Trip Advisor in advance and really liked the sound of the hotel and its facilities. However, with having to tighten our belts in these present times, the price to book 2 months in advance was a little out of reach so we decided to cross fingers toes and everything else and take the risk of waiting nearer to the departure date. We ended up booking one month before the holiday and although the price had considerably reduced we were just a little worried that we may get one of the 'leftover' rooms, plus we were going a little earlier in the month than we usually visited Austria so were not sure what to expect weather-wise. And I am pleased to say that thankfully our worries were unjustified on both counts!! The weather was fantastic and the hotel was most definitely the best I have ever stayed in.

On our arrival we were greeted by Mrs Posch with a glass of bubbly and our cases were taken away to our rooms while we relaxed for a little while in the lovely entrance lounge. We found our room to be lovely and clean with everything you needed. Also, our booking was in May when there were special extras and we found a lovely plate of fruit and a welcome message on our table, plus dressing gowns and slippers to use throughout our stay. The room was spotless and, although our balcony looked onto the wellness area to the right we could still see the lake and mountains and the gondola. We were also on the side of the little stream so it was so relaxing sitting listening to the water and hearing the birds sing!!

Food was a delight and the waitresses were superb. They always went out of their way to explain the menu you to (in english which they spoke very well) and catered for your every need in a pleasant and helpful manner. Unfortunately my only complaint was the size of my waistline by the end of the week!

The swimming pool was spotlessly clean and the changing area/shower room also. Although I did not use the other facilities in the leisure area I heard good reports from other guests staying at the hotel. Also included in our package was a free massage which we both enjoyed in the new wellness area on the top floor. There was also a lovely roof terrace with beds and seats which was a sun trap and nice place to relax to read a book and put your feet up. The hotel also had some other small balconies for communal use which were lovely to take your morning coffee to and ponder what to do that day.....

All in all this hotel was fab and I would recommend it to anyone wanting to visit Zell am See which was a lovely town. You could walk around the lake at your own pace and there were lidos which you could have free entry to with your hotel guest card. Excellent for both adults and children alike. There were plenty of varied shops, supermarkets, restaurants etc and the boat trip on the lake was lovely for a relatively small cost.

I cant actually think of any negative aspects of my stay at the Tirolerhof and Zell am See other than I wish my holiday had been longer than 7 days.....!! I would not hesitate to return again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2009

We chose this hotel for our honeymoon and we can't fault it.

We received a warm greeting upon arrival and were allocated the Junior Suite. The room was fantastic, great views and furnished to the highest standard.

As a gesture, the family Posch had arranged for a bottle of champagne to be delivered to our room and on my husbands Birthday, a cake was delivered - it is just this personal touch that makes this hotel stand out.

All the staff were very friendly, approachable and nothing was to much trouble. A special thanks to Hans for the guided walks which were fantastic!

The Wellness area is excellent and after a long walk the perfect place to unwind.

The evening meals were delicious and there was plenty of variety which was great as I thought I may struggle being vegetarian.

The hotel is central and only a short walk from the town centre and the Lake.

All in all an excellent hotel and resort, we would recommend it to anyone and shall be returning ourselves.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

I spent a week here with husband and in laws for my second ski holiday in March. I had picked the hotel so the pressure was most definitely on - my mother in law is dreadfully picky! But I couldn't have made a better choice - all of us were absolutely delighted, including my high maintenance MIL!!

If you're looking for a super chic design hotel then this place might be a little chintzy for you, but its beautifully done, immaculately clean and perfectly maintained. Its more 'pine lodge ski chalet' chic.
The rooms are simple but very comfortable with spacious top quality bathrooms.
The bar area downstairs is just lovely, with open fires and a lovely circular bar which must be the best in town.
The restaurant reminded me a little of a cross channel ferry lounge (thats me being snobby) but the service was wonderfully friendly and attentive, and the food was generous and of good quality. Breakfast was a real treat to get us all ready or a day on the slopes.
The pool and leisure complex was absolutely first class - although few of our party were slightly un-nevered by the nakedness. My tip is to get in the sauna's before 5 to avoid the nudists!
Location was perfect, a good sized boot room and only 5 mins walk to the lifts.

All in all I cant think of a better place for a weeks skiing. The slopes at Zell Am See are varied and the ski school is great. We're planning on heading back next year - cant wait!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tirolerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tirolerhof

Address: Auerspergstrasse 5, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Zell am See
#1 Spa Hotel in Zell am See
#1 Luxury Hotel in Zell am See
#1 Family Hotel in Zell am See
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Tirolerhof 4.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tirolerhof is a quietly located spa hotel in the centre of Zell am See, at the foot of the Schmittenhöhe mountain and only a few steps away from Lake Zell.The newly renovated Elements Panorama Spa on the fourth floor offers a wide range of wellness applications and beautiful views of the mountains and the lake.Bathing and sauna pleasures are also offered in the 1,000 m² Tirolerhof Aquarena, which features a swimming pool, a Jacuzzi, a relaxation room with water beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Escapio, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Tirolerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tirolerhof Hotel Zell Am See
Tirolerhof Zell Am See

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tirolerhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.