We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tirolerhof

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Tirolerhof to your Saves list
Hotel Tirolerhof
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Auerspergstrasse 5 | 5700, Zell am See 5700, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Zell am See
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

just back a ski trip to zell am see staying in the tirolerhof and found it really excellent. service was superb. food was by far the best in many trips to austria skiing (although that's probably not a high standard to compare against - maybe better to say it was the one of the top hotels we've ever stayed in. as others have pointed out, the food is 5 or 6 courses - probably the first ski holiday where we put on weight by not being able to ski off that many calories.

we got one of the newer rooms which was excellent. so can't comment on the older rooms that other have seemed disappointed by.

we looked at the next door hotel - the salbugerhof which is 5* and felt that the tirolerhof's lounge and bar area was much nicer. from our point of view, we wouldn't have quibbled with a 5* rating.
we loved it - can't remember ever getting as good (and as friendly) a service.
-ronan

Room Tip: we paid about 100-200 euros for a room upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    73
    13
    4
    4
See reviews for
130
350
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

Having been hospitalised on the first day of skiing (mangled knee), I'd like to share the exceptional level of service given by the staff of the Tirolerhof, in particular Herr Alexander (reception) and Herr Peter (driver).
I was taken to from the slopes without money or insurance details. My partner rang the Tirolerhof to ask for a taxi to ferry her around and sort things out.. Not a chance. Herr Alexander arranged for Herr Peter to come to the hospital and pay for the bills and wait to bring me back. I paid the money back after I was settled. Every day all the staff asked after me and helped in every way. Absolutely fantastic service.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Great Hotel, in a good location, with a very good spa. The hotel was warm and friendly and the reception and bar area was very inviting, nothing was too much trouble. The food was excellent, both breakfast and evening meal. This is the second time we have been to this hotel, albeit after an 18 year gap, but it was probably better than we remember it. Highly recommended.

For general information the trip was booked independently, we flew into Salzberg and caught the number 2 bus from the airport to the station, which takes about 20mins. The train is far cheaper than private transfers plus the station at Zell is only a few minutes from the hotel, from which the hotel kindly picked us up.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

I've just returned from my second visit to this hotel, for my parents, this was their third time (I skipped last year), the facilities at the hotel are really nice and have a luxurious feeling (the bar, pool and spa facilities for example). My parents had a suite on the first floor in the front of the hotel, which was very spacious and had an amazing bathroom. My room was on the fourth floor in the old part of the hotel which is not that easy to find at first (you have to take two elevators and the stairs in front of my room don't lead anywhere so it seems). It was fine, but not of the same standard as the rest of the hotel.

I have only two remarks to this hotel:
First, the WIFI connection: It was really slow. Also, the log in system posed limits to programs that use a internet connection, but no browser (Steam, Tradebox and online games for example). A normal WIFI network with just one password (optional) might be more simple and customer friendly at the same time.

Second, and this is more on my parents behalf: The dinner, although the presentation was more special than last years, had less taste to it. And the fondue was definitely not a success (soup instead of fat to boil your meat in, and serving pieces of sausage to a table with no children in a four star hotel is not done).

But those points aside, it is a great place to stay and Zell am See is also a good place to go for a skiing holiday! We will probably visit this hotel again next year!

Room Tip: Try to avoid the back of the hotel, that's the older part and the rooms over there are of less q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Hotel very good but watch out as your room may not be a 4star room . ie no special toiletries just cheap ones , small bathroom shower room ( in our case dirty shower mould) hair in bed , food service slow in evening average two hr service apart from this enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

have recently returned from a fantastic stay at this hotel, from the moment we arrived till the moment we left everything was spot on, the personal touches such as a handwritten card in the room wishing us a happy holiday to the leaving present of a cookbook written by the hotels chef all made it extra special and on the subject of food thank goodness it was a skiing holiday so there was a change to burn off all those extra calories the food was excellent. the staff were very friendly in fact we couldn,t find fault with anything. really hope to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Just returned from our annual holiday at the Tirolerhof. Wonderful food, service and rooms. Had great spa treatments. Nothing to much trouble. Each year feels like coming home. Already looking at next year. The hotel has so many guests who return each year its amazing that once you ve been you want to go back. Its a truly lovely hotel run by people who really care.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tirolerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tirolerhof

Address: Auerspergstrasse 5 | 5700, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Zell am See
#1 Spa Hotel in Zell am See
#1 Family Hotel in Zell am See
#1 Romantic Hotel in Zell am See
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zell am See
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Tirolerhof 4.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tirolerhof is a quietly located spa hotel in the centre of Zell am See, at the foot of the Schmittenhohe mountain and only a few steps away from Lake Zell.The newly renovated Elements Panorama Spa on the fourth floor offers a wide range of wellness applications and beautiful views of the mountains and the lake.Bathing and sauna pleasures are also offered in the 1,000 m² Tirolerhof Aquarena, which features a swimming pool, a Jacuzzi, a relaxation room with water beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Tirolerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tirolerhof Hotel Zell Am See
Tirolerhof Zell Am See

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tirolerhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.