We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great family holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tirolerhof

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Tirolerhof to your Saves list
Hotel Tirolerhof
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Auerspergstrasse 5, Zell am See 5700, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Zell am See
United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A great family holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2008

We have just returned from a super family holiday in Austria and would like to thank all the staff in the Tirolerhof for their contribution. We were a large group with quite a lot of children but everyone was very patient and obliging. Some of the non-skiers spent a couple of entertaining, enjoyable days out walking with Hans- the night porter, who never seemed to need to sleep! We all enjoyed the pool and spa! The reception staff were very helpful in arranging transport to and from the local hospital where one of the children in our party spent a couple of hours- no serious injuries sustained! We felt the food was very Austrian and not to the taste of some of our party but the chef was generally very flexible. One other minor gripe was the absence of tap water at meal-times- the bottled water ran up quite a bill over the course of the week!!

  • Liked — My teenage daughter says the spa! I enjoyed my walking trips with Hans
  • Disliked — The price of the water
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    66
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
107
323
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2008

We have just returned from a fabulous week at the family owned and run Tirolerhof Hotel.
From the moment of arrival we were impressed by the friendly courteous, never intrusive staff and cleanliness throughout. The food was varied plentiful and always welcome before and after a hard days skiing. We skied every day but one which we spent in the spa which was an added bonus - all free to use unless you decide to have a massage or other treatment.
The skiing in Zell am see and nearby Saalbach is excellent and the snow in plentiful supply.
We would highly recommend the Tirolerhof for your ski holiday/your walking holiday/your relaxing break/summer and winter it would be a joy to return.
It is so obviously a happy place to work and all the staff are a credit to the Family Posch - thank you everyone.
One final mention................
A lot of hotels in Zell am See mention the noise from the railway - this is not a problem for the Tirolerhof - it is far enough away for it to be no issue whatsoever hence us choosing the TIrolerhof - unlike the Grand Hotel which sits on the railway sidelines - must be a nightmare there.....................

  • Liked — Cleanliness and friendly staff
  • Disliked — Smoking in the bar although not allowed in restaurant
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish lass
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2008

We have just returned from a fabulous week at the Tirolerhof in Zell. My husband wanted a few days skiing and I wanted some rest and relaxation with the added benefit of walking on the level and swimming in the pool which I did for an hour daily...bliss ! The entire staff at this hotel are wonderful, helpful and very friendly. We stayed at this hotel last year and we were so impressed with the standard of everything that we decided to return this year...we were not disappointed. From the moment we arrived and were met by the very friendly reception staff to the moment we left and were bade farewell by the family Poche we enjoyed every minute of our stay. The only downside, was that smoking is allowed in the bar area. However, as it is open plan the smoke was normally not too bad, but as we have been living in a public smoke free environment for a couple of years now, smoking was noticable. The food was wonderful and we have to disagree with Donegal who inferred that it was bland...anything but ! I am able to state this as I am qualified in Nutrition and having stayed in numerous hotels throughout the world can compare standards and quality. This hotel ranks with the best ! We feel that it is not right to single out individuals, but there were some with whom we dealt on a daily basis who require mention....Stephanie our waitress was such a character in the restaurant, as was Andreas the barman as was his assistant, Stephan. Hans, the night reception staff / porter/ walking guide/bingo caller. Please do not be put off with bingo caller as he made it a very entertaining event ....only one game played during our stay and was the cause of much hilarity. Petra at reception has the most almost perfect accent we have heard from a non British person and she has never been in Britain, but her understanding and wit was good. There were two boys in the restaurant who looked like brothers but we have been assured that they are not, one is from Germany, the other Austrian, but what characters...friendly, helpful,witty and so young ! All in all we can say that we have just enjoyed the almost perfect holiday and even those who do not want to ski can have a most enjoyable stay, both within the hotel and in Zell itself as there are plenty of places to walk, eat, drink and shop. The train station is close to the hotel and from there you can visit Saltzburg and various other places within a couple of hours...think of the Sound of Music and you have Saltzburg and its environs ! The standard of cleanliness in the hotel ( and in Austria in general ) is magnificent and the chambermaids and cleaners we efficient and meticulous in their duties. We could easily mention everybody in this htoel, but suffice to say that the family run hotel comes across as a very friendly and happy place to work and certainly it is a very happy place to stay....evident as almost 50 per cent of guests are repeat guests, and that itself tells a tale. It certainly is a place for both young and old alike and a lovely place to visit all year round and to wake up in the morning with a view of the mountains was almost a dream come true. We had a room on the 4th floor with an open aspect which was lovely as we could stand on the balcony and view the snow capped mountains all around. Would we recommend this place to others ? YES !!

  • Liked — Staff, food, bed, shower, location....need we go on ??
  • Disliked — Smoking in public areas
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2008

Just back from a week in the Tirolerhof and it was excellent. We were a party of 11 and all our rooms were spacious and very nicely decorated. The food was superb, 5 courses each evening and all top quality. For children or plain eaters there were always a couple of additional options available. Our waitress for the week was friendly and professional and nothing was too much trouble.
The pool, sauna and relaxation areas were beautiful - just what you need after a hard days skiing. Prices for treatments and massages were very reasonable.
The Tirolerhof is probably the best hotel I have stayed in in Austria and is excellent value for money.

  • Liked — the food
  • Disliked — having to choose your dinner in the morning
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Town, Ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2008

Went here after reading the many glowing reports - stayed in the Grand Hotel last year. I stayed in a superior room but found the beds to be rock like although the bathroom was good size and Iliked the bath and seperate shower. The staff were friendly and helpfull but at the price we were paying I would expect that any way. The evening meals were bland and tastless and the breakfast was okay. I will not be returning here and intend to go back to the Grand next year

  • Liked — staff
  • Disliked — food
  • Stayed February 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2008

This was our second visit to the Tirolerhof, the first being in September 2004 and very little has changed, infact many of the staff were the same as our first visit. The hotel is situated in the middle of town and is well situated for all amenities, Zell am See is a beautiful place in both Summer and Winter.
The hotel itself can best be described with one word, fantastic! The deluxe room we stayed in was wonderful but if you require a nice view from the balcony then ask for a room on a high floor over the reception area. The leisure and spa facilities are very good (swimming pool, jacuzzi, solarium, gym, sauna's, massages, beauty treatments etc). All the public areas of the hotel including the bar and lounge are finished to a very high standard and the staff are all very efficient and helpful (a special thanks to Hans, we'll pop in to see you in June when we're back in Austria for a week in Hinterglemm). The food in the hotel was also of a very high standard with lots of variety for breakfast and evening meals.
For anyone planning a holiday to this beautiful country (winter or summer) i would thoroughly recommend the Tirolerhof which is one the very best hotels we have ever stayed in. We will definitely be back in the near future.

  • Liked — Everything.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivybridge, Devon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2007

I can't! It is only fair to let everyone know how good this hotel is.

We discovered the Tirolerhof on a snowboarding trip in Jan 2006 and have returned four times since. A holiday spent in the Tirolerhof is one to remember from the friendly welcome you receive at check in, through to the sincere thank you and fairwells on check out.

The Family Posch and all the staff provide typical Austrian hospitality and take hugh pride in their roles so any request is efficiently dealt with. Nothing is to much trouble.

The rooms are immaculate and serviced each morning. Each room we have stayed in has had plenty of space and been well presented. If you are looking to up grade, the suite is worth every penny, the alpine finish, bathroom and extra space is luxurious.

The wellnes suite and pool is extremely clean and is a great place to relax. The pool is cold but has various jets which massage your muscles and the treatment rooms are a treat. Two hours spent in here will make you feel a different person.

The food is fantastic! Any other description is unfair. Breakfast is provided via a buffet style with hot and cold options. You can eat as much as you wish which really sets you up for a day on the mountain. Evening dinner is usually five course with vegitarian and fish options. If you dislike the choices on the menu, your waitress is always willing to offer you alternatives and will have something cooked especially!

The bar area is warm and very comfortable, and is well serviced by the bar staff. Bingo with Hans is not what it seems!

If you are looking to book a hotel in Zell am See STOP now. You will not find a better one! It is such good value for money and is gauranteed to make your holiday special.

We are getting married in Zell in Feb 2008 because we love the place and we know that the Family Posch and every one at the Tirolerhof will ensure we have fantastic time.

  • Liked — The staff, rooms, pool, food............everything
  • Disliked — Having to leave to come home!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tirolerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tirolerhof

Address: Auerspergstrasse 5, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Zell am See
#1 Family Hotel in Zell am See
#1 Romantic Hotel in Zell am See
#1 Luxury Hotel in Zell am See
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Tirolerhof 4.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tirolerhof is a quietly located spa hotel in the centre of Zell am See, at the foot of the Schmittenhöhe mountain and only a few steps away from Lake Zell.The newly renovated Elements Panorama Spa on the fourth floor offers a wide range of wellness applications and beautiful views of the mountains and the lake.Bathing and sauna pleasures are also offered in the 1,000 m² Tirolerhof Aquarena, which features a swimming pool, a Jacuzzi, a relaxation room with water beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Tirolerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tirolerhof Hotel Zell Am See
Tirolerhof Zell Am See

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tirolerhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.