We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel, friendly staff, excellent service !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tirolerhof

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Tirolerhof to your Saves list
Hotel Tirolerhof
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Auerspergstrasse 5, Zell am See 5700, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 45 Hotels in Zell am See
Berkshire
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel, friendly staff, excellent service !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We have just returned from our first ever stay in the Tirolerhof in Zell Am See, and certainly hope to return soon. We cannot praise this hotel highly enough! Everything about it was superb - location, facilities, food and staff.

The hotel is well located, close to the lake and to the town centre, yet quiet and peaceful. We stayed in a standard double room on the stream side of the hotel, which we found relaxing. The room was clean and facilities were very good.

The restaurant was excellent, with great food and a good choice from the menu. They catered fantastically for my wife's Gluten Free diet at both breakfast and dinner. The restaurant staff were very attentive, and knowledgable of each evening's menu - always pointing out anything that wasn't suitable, and endeavouring to adapt whatever dish my wife chose if it wasn't originally Gluten Free. Oh, and the fresh GF rolls provided daily were the best my wife had tasted!

The staff throughout the hotel (owners, reception, restaurant, housekeeping etc.) were all extremely friendly, polite, helpful and attentive. Nothing was too much bother for anyone.

When my wife was unfortunately taken ill at the end of our stay (not through any fault of the hotel I hasten to add), the owners and staff did absolutely everything they possibly could to assist us. Fantastic service.

The Tirolerhof is very efficiently run yet feels calm with a friendly family atmosphere. Perfect!
All being well we'll be returning next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    66
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
107
323
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, D.C.
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
117 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I stayed for two nights in Zell am See at this property. The property does not have a view of the lake. My room was a junior suite and it had a small balcony that overlooked a parking lot and other hotels.

Breakfast was good with variety. Fresh fruit was limited to a fruit salad. Eggs were cooked to order and there was a selection of bacon and sausages in a hot plate. There was a good selection of meats, cheeses, sausages, and cereals.

I went on a guided hike with Wolfgang which was very nice. We hiked up a valley and then continued partway to a pass. Wolfgang was very personable and a good hiking companion.

I did not see much of Zell am See which was fine. It is an Austrian lake resort. Personally I preferred St. Wolfgang in this regard.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Again the Tirolerhof lived up to it's reputation. From arrival to departure, everything went smoothly, as usual. (9th visit). The food again was excellent, especially the buffet evenings. The choice available at each meal was also excellent. If you didn't like anything on the evening menu, just ask and they will make something else. Rooms were spacious and comfortable. We had a junior suite again and it was home from home with a large balcony. The staff again were very friendly and helpful. Many staff have been at the hotel for a few years, which is a good sign. Portions of food available at lunchtime are quite large, so be aware. Location of the hotel is very good and is fairly quiet. Zell-am-See is a wonderful destination with plenty on offer. One useful tip is to buy tickets for the Schmittenhohe cable car at the hotel as this can save queuing if busy at the cable car station. Local transport (either postbus or train) are excellent and run exactly on time. Worthy checking at the railway station for special deals on train journeys especially the one to Salzburg. We just spent the fortnight relaxing but if you go for the walking, our friends assure us the walks are certainly worth doing. You also feel perfectly safe walking round the town day or night, which can't be said for places in the UK.
At the Tirolerhof it is well worth the visit to the Elements Alps Panorama Spa on the top of the hotel for a treatment or two. They are not cheap but you pay for quality from either Barbara or Kathrin. Take a visit just to look around to put you in the mood. They will show you round with pleasure. In the bedroom you have plenty of storage space and a nice sitting area. A very good flat screen TV and DVD machine. Some British TV stations are available. They could do with more evening entertainment. Have a go a the "bingo night" Might sound a bit Blackpoolish, but take part, it is a good laugh run by the owners sons, Max and Philip. The evening with Fritz is also very good. Wellness area downstairs (swimming pool and sauna area) is very comfortable and pleasant along with the relaxing areas. The new restaurant is very nice and comfortable. It did take a bit of getting used to as the original was the same but when we got used to it, we enjoyed our time there. All the staff, especially Elisabeth and Oliver in the restaurant are very friendly and helpful. They always make sure you have had plenty to eat. The choice at breakfast time will suit everybody. Lubitta or the egg lady or flip will cook anything the way you want it. She is very nice and friendly.
I know we will be back again soon along with our many friends we have made over the years. Liz and Derek Imrie from Wetherby.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front may be slightly quieter due to stream at rear though this can be relaxing to some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoylake, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Our 3rd trip to the Hotel Tirolerhof, and pleased to say that it is as good as ever.
This was our honeymoon, and prior to our trip the hotel had been extremely helpful in sorting out a room upgrade to a full suite, arranging for a cot for our son and arranging a taxi for the journey back to the airport.

Our stay there was wonderful - the food was fantastic and the friendly staff were always on hand to help out.

Simply a fantastic place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel 29th Aug-5th September. It is a really lovely hotel. The room we had on the 4th floor was spacious, with a sitting area, a flat screen TV, plenty of storage space, a small fridge and a safe deposit box which was free of charge. We also had a fairly decent sized balcony with partial lake views and views of the mountains - really good.

The staff at the hotel were fantastic, so helpful and always happy to stop and have a chat and they really made you feel welcome and at home.

The big stand out for me at the hotel was the food. We have stayed half board at hotels many times and we would frequently go outside of the hotel to eat. Not so at this hotel. The food here was delicious. You only got 2 or 3 choices (and sometimes I had to ask what these were!) but when they arrived they were fabulous! You started with an extensive salad bar, then your chosen starter, then soup, the main and finished off with gorgeous desserts! I gained 5 pounds in 1 week! Sometimesthere would be themed evenings and one night a gala. Every evening meal was lovely. Breakfasts too were very good. All your usual cereals, meats, cheeses, lots of breads, lovely fresh fruit and bacon, sausages, tomatoes and your choice of cooked to order eggs. Everything we had was perfect.

Zell Am See itself is a lovely little town with plenty of bars and restaurants. The location is stunning and we walked around the entire lake 3 times - this only took about 2.5 hours without stops, having said that, it was lovely to stop in Thumerbach for an ice cold beer and a glass of wine, which were very reasonably priced (4 euro and 2.30 euro).

We visited Salzburg twice and this trip took 1hr 30 mins by train at a cost of 32 euros return for 2 people. Very reasonable and Salzburg is a fabulous city with so much to see.

Also worthy of mention was the trip we took to Krimmler Waterfall. Return train transfer was 40 euro for 2 and then you pay 5 euro for 2 to enter the waterfall area. You get off the train at Krimmler station and within a couple of minutes a bus arrives to take you up to the national park. The cost of the bus is included in your train ticket and the station and bus company obviously work together to ensure the bus arrives just minutes after the train. The same applies when you return. The bus takes you back down to the station and either the train is waiting for you or arrives within minutes, so it's a very stress free way to visit the waterfall. The waterfall itself is stunning. i would encourage you to walk up this if you are of reasonable fitness as the views you get at various stops on the way up are incredible. Once at the top if you continue walking for about 30 minutes you come to an area which to me was like Heidi meets Little House on the Prairie!!! It was beautiful! A stream, cows wandering around with bells around their necks, mountain views and just 2 tiny shacklike restaurants. t was one of the lovliest sights I have ever seen and i have travelled extensively. We stopped for 2 beers, a homemade apple strudel (divine!) and a traditional sausage sandwich and the total cost was 15 euro!

Overall we had a fantastic holiday and look forward to returning to Austriasoon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portadown
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

This was our second trip to Zell am Zee and our first to the Tirolerhof. We hope it won't be our last trip to this lovely hotel. The friendly staff, the superb food, the comfortable rooms, the magnificent views... we could go on and on. Zell am Zee is a wonderful destination for a holiday and there were many memorable moments - the unforgettable bicycles rides through unsurpassed scenery, the mountain walks and the treks along the towering peaks. Yes, we hope to return!

David and Barbara Armstrong, Portadown, Northern Ireland

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Just back from a week at the Hotel Tirolerhof and it definitely lived up to its great reviews. On arrival we were greeted with a glass of fizz and a warm welcome and then off to dinner for the first of some wonderful suppers. Our room was on the fifth floor and had fantastic views of the lake and mountains, I know that some people have commented on the noise of the stream but we found it relaxing rather than intrusive. All of the staff were wonderful and it was a lovely touch to have a postcard from them waiting for us on our arrival home. We knew we had made the right decision when talking to other guests who kept coming back year after year.

The hotel has a great location and is a very short walk from the lake and the town centre. The town itself is very busy with lots of lovely bars and restaurants and we very much enjoyed both the Wednesday night music festival and the Thursday light and music show. From the town its just a short bus ride away to explore the local mountains - we bought a hike and swim card which covered cable cars, buses and local swimming pools (highly recommend the indoor pool in Zell if only for the waterslide!). If you are feeling adventurous we really enjoyed white water rafting which we did through Outdo (just down from the bus station). If you like a drive, hire a car and go to the Grossglockner road and enjoy the views. We really liked Zell and loved this hotel and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tirolerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tirolerhof

Address: Auerspergstrasse 5, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Zell am See
#1 Spa Hotel in Zell am See
#1 Luxury Hotel in Zell am See
#1 Romantic Hotel in Zell am See
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Tirolerhof 4.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tirolerhof is a quietly located spa hotel in the centre of Zell am See, at the foot of the Schmittenhöhe mountain and only a few steps away from Lake Zell.The newly renovated Elements Panorama Spa on the fourth floor offers a wide range of wellness applications and beautiful views of the mountains and the lake.Bathing and sauna pleasures are also offered in the 1,000 m² Tirolerhof Aquarena, which features a swimming pool, a Jacuzzi, a relaxation room with water beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Tirolerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tirolerhof Hotel Zell Am See
Tirolerhof Zell Am See

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tirolerhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.