We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair.....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Feinschmeck

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Feinschmeck to your Saves list
Feinschmeck
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dreifaltigkeitsgasse 10, Zell am See 5700, Austria   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #13 of 45 Hotels in Zell am See
Cornwall
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fair.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

We went skiing last week and stayed here. We paid for an upgrade ( room with bath ) but didn't get it, but as the staff were so nice we didn't mention it. Room was quite spacious and right on the town square side so it was occasionally loud outside but if you book a hotel in the centre of town what do you expect! Especially in the ski season...... The food is average. I think comments about portion sizes are mildly correct, the difference with this hotel though is they don't have a salad bar. After many, many Austrian ski holidays, this is the first time one has been absent. Breakfast is OK. Staff however make up for any deficiencies. They were great. Would we stay there again? No. But would buy any member of staff a drink if we bumped into them.................

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    10
    8
    0
    2
See reviews for
23
17
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

1st time skiing and 1st time to Austria! Beautiful place Austria with stunning scenery, we stayed right in the heart of Zell am see, to noisey to sleep at nights. We arrived on new years eve , hotel full, but we booked 2months in advance and were put in an apartment a good distance from reception which was fine but no telephone in our apartment to contact anyone. Food - very small portions , staff very nice i must say. Jacuzzi didnt work all week , internet did not work in room but only in reception. Quite expensive for drinks in hotel. I would go back to Austria just not to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

A really nice little hotel in a great location with easy access to the ski bus station and local amenities. Be prepared to be woken every morning at 7 by the church bells which are very close by. Our room was above a noisy kitchen which wasn't the greatest but not to the extent it kept us awake. Service was generally good. I would recommend this to anyone as long as they were not staying as half board guests. Half board literally meant half measures and the dinner portions were so small they would not have fed a child. The food quality itself was great just a shame we had to go out for dinner afterwards as we were left so hungry after busy days on the slopes. Even the waiting staff looked kind of embarrassed when serving our food. Paying dinner guests on the night were treated very differently. No wifi either unless you wanted to pay 5 Euros a day. Shame as it really took the edge of an otherwise enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

While visiting friends in Zell we stayed at this hotel and found it well-kept with nice service, esp. the lady who served breakfast (Katrina?) who seemed unflappably pleasant, despite some imperious guests whose culture obviously allowed them to boss around "servants." Located right on the main (walking--no vehicles) street of Zell's tourist district--which is lovely--the hotel in midsummer was hot and noisy and had little privacy, since every window, including the bathroom, looked into another building close by. No air conditioning or fans (it was HOT in Zell at that time), but the rooms were comfortable and we had a tiny balcony overlooking the busy walking street. The town was flooded with Arab families looking for cool weather, and it was quite exotic and unexpected to have this Mideast flavor in this very Austrian ski town. Next time I'd choose a hotel more on the outskirts for more quiet (it was also World Cup week!), but the Feinschmeck was nice. Did not eat in restaurant other than the included breakfast, which was average. No wi-fi. Staff really tried to be helpful, but it did take an entire day to get an extra pillow or get the reading lamp bulb replaced--very annoying for a reader! Decent value for the price.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2010

We were a little worried by some of the reports on this hotel but we had a great time. The rooms were spacious very clean and towels and linen was changed regularly. All the staff from check in to check out were very helpful and friendly. We were there on half board and the food was excellent. The restuarant was popular with locals which is always a good sign. I would certainly want to stay here again when we return to Zell.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greece
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
271 helpful votes 271 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2009

We spent their our one night stop, during our trip in Austria. As Zell am See is well known and has many tourists during spring, I was searching many months beafaure to select a hotel. Feinschmeck was my final choice, as it had availability and I really liked their website, before visiting. The room was the most expensive from all I booked in Austria, as it wasover 100 Euros. This price was a little over by budget, but when we got there, I didn't regret. The room was big enough and had a perfect space like indoor balcony, where we could enjoy our coffee, watching the street, at our private in room table with two very confortable armchairs. Everything was very clean, it had a large bed and generally we really liked. The staff was friendly, but there was not all the time in the reception, but anyway we received any help we asked. We also took the half-board option (dinner meal) which was excellent, at their very warm and wellcoming restaurant, it was only for the price of 15 Euro per person (4 course/dishes menu we really enjoyed).
The Hotel locates at the center of the town, it's a 2 minutes walk to the lake side, and has all the shops and bars/cafes around. I would definately stay there again, and I have to say that it'a trully good choice, as Zell am See has probably much better Hotels but here you can get everything for a pleasant stay and you don't have to pay extraordinary ammounts as other places may ask for a double room

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cultra
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2007

A brilliant hotel, the rooms were great, clean, warm.....and after checking in hotel staff called to the room to see if we required any further assistence...that was a first. The restraunt is excellent and a great atmosphere...busy in the evenings. The hotel staff were very helpful and very friendly...no extra charges all facilities were there to be used.......apparently the hotel changed ownership back in summer 2006.....and this is why the views about the hotel have changed dramatically. The location could not be anymore central and very easy to access to the slopes and ski school.
It is a gem.....you will not be disappointed....and I am fussy believe me

  • Liked — Clean and warm
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Feinschmeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Feinschmeck

Address: Dreifaltigkeitsgasse 10, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Zell am See
#10 Luxury Hotel in Zell am See
#13 Family Hotel in Zell am See
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Feinschmeck 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel Feinschmeck is located in the center of the charming town of Zell am See. Indulge yourself in Austrian hospitality, authentic fine cuisine and enjoy relaxing in our beautiful rooms or modern apartements. In our spa you can take a break from everyday life. Our spa area includes a Finnish sauna, Bio-herbal-sauna, a Turkish steam bath, Jacuzzi (hot tub), raining showers and very relaxing beds. Massages and beauty treatments are charged separately. This is the perfect place for your holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, seekda GmbH, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Feinschmeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Feinschmeck Hotel Zell Am See
Feinschmeck Zell Am See

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Feinschmeck, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.