We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, best choice in Zell am See!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Neue Post

Save Saved
You added Hotel Neue Post to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Neue Post
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schlossplatz 2, Zell am See A-5700 , Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 46 hotels in Zell am See
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, best choice in Zell am See!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

As this was our third trip to Zell am See, we defintely found the right place for us to stay for now and the future. This hotel offered everything we were wishing for, with friendly staff, clean rooms, great atmosphere, directly in the center of zell am see, an amazingly beautiful pool area. We booked the honeymoon suite with breakfast, which was a big buffet with fruits, eggs, salmon, etc. We had a very nice time and can only recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    19
    18
    5
    1
See reviews for
30
22
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

Im the daughter of the family who went. We went with me, my bestfriend (teenager) my dad, my dad's girlfriend, my dads girlfriends son and his girlfriend. We found the hotel very plesent and would definately go again, to which infact we are thinking of going in 2011 and would definately be staying in the same hotel (neue post).
As for the food... We only ate in 1 night as we went self catering, but found that there was so many restraunts around that we ate out each night anyway. Although the one night we did eat in the hotel it was very nice. All german foods as for things like soup and salad, but nothing to complain about. It was my first time going on a skiing holiday as i have only been taught in England the year before. I had never eaten German food, but if you could buy the things in England, they would definately be on my shopping list. The staff at the hotel were excellent. The cleaners were quick, but one of the best staff had to be Wolfgang. I know wierd name and if I'm being honest doesnt look like the guy he is :). His job is the bar man but he is very helpful and is always there to get you your drink
:L He's forever working too as it seems. But enough of wolfgang, the hotel facilities... well the boot/ski - room... it was very handy. Its just down a corridor and there is a door from the bootroom with leads to outside. Although we only kept our boots in here as there are lockers up the mountain where we met each day and If I remember rightly they were very cheap and very safe. None of our stuff moved. We only did this for convinience as there are around 10 steps to carry them up and a small but slipy walk along the road to the bottom of the mountain, then a further 20 small steps unto the gondolar and as a first time skier at the resort didnt fancy having to do that ever morning.
The spa - is AMAZING. That is the only way to describe it! My and my bestfriend were in there every night after skiing. There is an age limit of 14 after 7 o clock unless with an adult but there is a steam room, a sauna, a jacuzi, sunbeds and showers. My and my friend found that there is a drink in there. We were abit wary of it at first and didnt know it was a drink as it looked to have pebbles in it, but we saw someone get a cup full and drink it so we decided to go and have a try. Im glad we did. It was a soft drink (water like), it was a pinky colour and tasted abit like flavoured water in England but much much better.
The swimming pool - Well... dont forget to take your shoes and a towel or clothes to come back in. We forgot the first time and had to make a run through the snow in just our bikini's. The pool is lovely and refreshing and considering its snowy outside, when your in the pool it definatly doesnt feel that way!
The rooms - Well there was 6 of us so had an apartment like suite. We had a double room with an ensuite with is where the parents stayed, and twin room in with there was a toilet room just across the suite landing, a double sofa bed in where me and my best friend stayed, a dining table, a small table and 2 armchairs and a kitchen. In the large open planed kichen/dining area the double sofa bed was placed just in the corner and even with the sofa bed out there was plenty of room. We had a full bathroom just outside on the end of the suite landing too!
The funniest part of our stay had to be the first ski morning where in out room there was afew windows. We hadent been around the town so didnt know there was going to be a church. The church bells woke us up in the morning, and as we tried to figure out what time it was they carried on to ring. We looked at a clock and it was 10 past 6 in the morning. Didnt bother us though we had to be up early that day anyway so we sat and waiting for everyone to get dressed and we were out in time! The next day we waited for the bells again and counted well over 30 but as the week goes by you forget all about them and sleep through! So dont worry!
I've read about a night club below... This is over rated. The noise isnt too loud and to be fair isnt on until to late. The livliest I would say is aroung 10 o clock. We were right above this and too look at it in the day it is actually just a larger outdoor but covered cafe looking place. There is a bit of music but with the windows closed its hardly noticable! Expesially after a full day 8am-5pm skiing. You sleep right through! Its very comfy and very cosy!
All in all this hotel is great! Lovely place to relax with fun going on around you too! Bars and clubs just round the corner and activites to take place in too! Such as Ice Hockey and Ice skating.
I would definately go again and as I said hope to go this year, and I would definatley recommend it to anyone. It suits all!
If your going have fun!
I cant wait to go back in 2011. Oh and just to say... Alot of people have wrote bad comments on here, but you cant believe everything you read and to be honest if I could write down the whole holiday I would, just havent got enough time as there was so many fun things!
Thanks for reading! :)

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mayo Irl
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2010

Food in this hotel is, being polite, terrible. Breakfast very basic, dinner, well, if u loaded up on salad you be fine. third time in zell am see and this hotel has little going for it. wont be returning to this hotel

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2010

Very noisy hotel. Did not deliver what promised - ordered a two bedroom suite in the hotel but was given a flat outside the hotel. Not a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

Ensure you ask for a quiet room! We were given a room above a disco bar that did not close until 3 am! The manager was very unhelpful but thankfully one of the staff found us a room in another hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2009

Very convenient for the express lifts. The hotel provides a warm, friendly and comfortable location for the local slopes. The staff couldn't do enough to help us, providing local knowledge and direction so that we could arrange our own trips. Rooms are clean and well appointed, spa busy and the food selection would be the only point that could receive further focus (in terms of variation and quality as a buffet is the norm). A great place to stay in this super town.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mina A Salam, Dubai
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2009

We stayed at this hotel in January 2009 and can't recommend it enough. We had one triple room which was really large with good amenities and a huge balcony.

After reading some reviews that the food was bad, we were a little wary to say the least. We were there to ski & snowboard so good food is important to us but I don't know whether these people stayed in a different place because the food was brilliant. A salad buffet & soup to start followed by a large main course and dessert each night.

The highlight of the hotel is the spa area! Indoor jacuzzi, two saunas, cold drench showers, steam room, infra-red cabin were great. The only thing which we only used once and didn't dare to return to was the outdoor pool which was FREEZING!!!

We paid a pretty good price (£430 each) through Neilson holidays for flights, transfers and half board accommodation at the Neue Post and think we got a really great deal. The hotel is one of the closest to the lifts so you don't have to wait for a bus unless you want to venture over to Kaprun.

We went to Saalbach by bus from Zell Am See (the bus station is just across the road) which took about 40 minutes and cost about 7 euros each - the ski area is huge over there and well worth a visit if you exhaust the Zell Am See & Kaprun area.

  • Liked — great size room, good food, great location - all good
  • Disliked — forgetting your key card for the main entrance at 1am!!
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Neue Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Neue Post

Address: Schlossplatz 2, Zell am See A-5700 , Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Zell am See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zell am See
#10 Spa Hotel in Zell am See
#16 Luxury Hotel in Zell am See
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Neue Post 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Neue Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neue Post Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Neue Post, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.