We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third year on the trot!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Zell am See

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Zell am See to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Zell am See
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Esplanade 4-6, Zell am See 5700, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 45 Hotels in Zell am See
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Third year on the trot!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

This is the third year in a row that we have stayed at the Grand and will probably return again next year. The staff, service, facilities, food combined all add up to a very pleasant and comfortable experience following a tiring day on the mountain. The staff are all very helpful and friendly throughout the hotel particularly reception, cleaning staff and the ski-bus drivers. The main restaurant is very well managed and our waiter looked after us very well
The hotel probably has the best location in Zell, certainly the best views and away from late night bizz. The spa is a wonderful place to relax after skiing although if you time it wrong it can get busy and noisy with excited children and their anxious parents making more noise than the cHildren in their attempts to keep them quiet! The sauna, however is a haven of tranquality.
Zell itself is a lovely village with lots of cake shops and bars for apres!

Room Tip: Lakeside rooms have fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    81
    27
    23
    14
See reviews for
97
125
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Westminster, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

My husband and I had always wanted to go to this spot as he had remembered it from his youth, growing up in Austria. What an absolute jewel of a place to visit in spring - the vivid colors of the gardens, augmented by the deep blue lake also protected by the snow capped mountains! We loved the hotel, the restaurant and the spa - and had wonderful service from all the staff that we encountered. The evening meals were magnificent and the breakfast buffet sumptuous!! We will definitely return again!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Lovely food, great spa facilities (watch out for nudity) daisies over the road do amazing pizza's! close to the sloped! YOU HAVE TO GO TO THE GINHOUSE while your there! amazing cocktails! we spent most night in here!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
5700grand, Marketing at Grand Hotel Zell am See, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Dear Roberts1308,
thank you very much for your entry. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your time and we hope to welcome you again soon.
Your entire GRAND HOTEL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalkwell, Essex
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Zell am See last week and really enjoyed our stay. The high marks are primarily for service from all of the staff from cleaners, waiting staff, reception and management and the quality of the public areas. The rooms were large but relatively basic, but when you are skiing you are generally after clean and basic rather than super luxury. I have stayed at some of the best hotels in the world, including Four Seasons in several places and the big name hotels in New York, Hong Kong, Tokyo and London, and to be frank, the service at the Grand was up there with the best. It is a four star hotel in a small resort, but for a family holiday on a relatively modest budget it was very good value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the railway are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
5700grand, Marketing at Grand Hotel Zell am See, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Dear family Chris W., thanks a lot for you feedback - we hope to welcome you again soon and are very happy that you enjoyed your stay here with us. Kind regards, Your entire GRAND HOTEL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

February Half Term in any ski resort is a daunting thought, but at The Grand and Zell am See in General, it paled into insignificance, The Hotel is amazing, the location, the food, the service inparticular, can't fault the place, mixed group of 10, adults and teenagers, we all had a magical time. Snow conditions where fanatastic which helps alot, I would recommend especially if you have children, the sleigh ride around the lake, especially in the evening and also skating on the lake, also afternoon tea in the hotel. Did miss a long bath at the end of the day, as we only had a shower, but on the scale of things, very minor detail, anyway would rather be enjoying the hotel bar, or bars, shops and cafes in Zell.

Room Tip: Our rooms where fabulous, but apparently there are some older rooms in need of refurbishment, so che...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
5700grand, Marketing at Grand Hotel Zell am See, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are very happy that you enjoyed your time here with us. We also would like to recommend that you request a room with bath upon booking next time, so we can guarantee the room you like best for you.
Kind regards, you entire GRAND HOTEL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

Grand hotel and well run ski resort , but would not recommend if you are not skiing as we were not , we were with family member who were though as there is not enough to do , food was not all to our personal taste as novo cuisine and not enough to eat and hard to find something on the menu we liked . We enjoyed a walking a mile across the frozen lake and back again next to the hotel .we took the train to Salzburg for €28 round trip where there are lots of shop and where the Sound of Music was filmed .The hotel does have a swimming pool and jacuzzi and sauna with steam room , there is music in the bar in the evenings to relax to listening .

Room Tip: Lakeview is very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
5700grand, Marketing at Grand Hotel Zell am See, responded to this review, February 20, 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are very happt that you enjoyed your stay with us at the GRAND HOTEL ZELL AM SEE. It's a pity, that you did not used more of our entertainment- and activity program (such as sleigh rides, torchlight walk, gymnastics, and much more).
We would be very happy to welcome you again!

Your entire GRAND HOTEL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

Last minute Crystal Finest holiday.Magnificent hotel, both externally and internally.Beautiful location.Large room with beautiful view over frozen lake, looking towards the mountains.Hotel very clean.Rooms cleaned every day.All staff, from manager to waiters, barmen, cleaners, all polite, friendly, helpful and efficient.Waiters Dean and Silvio particularly good.Food excellent, both choice and variety.Ideally situated also for quick access to shops, bars and ski lift, although hotel provides courtesy bus to the lifts if you don't want to walk the 7 minutes to the nearest lift.The train does pass beside one side of the hotel however as we were on the opposite, lakeside, this was not an issue.If you wish to ski in another resort eg Kitzbuhel, it is a 5 minute walk along the lakeside to the station, then a 45 minute journey by train.The lifts are situated on the opposite side of the track ie 3 minutes walk.

Room Tip: Lakeside room in any of the first three floors in the newer building. Rooms on the highest floors h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Zell am See? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Zell am See

Address: Esplanade 4-6, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Zell am See
#9 Spa Hotel in Zell am See
#12 Romantic Hotel in Zell am See
#13 Luxury Hotel in Zell am See
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hotel Zell am See 4.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zell am See and winter sports are like the sun and sky, great friends! Together with the GRAND HOTEL ZELL AM SEE, they form an unbeatable trio for the perfect winter vacation.Treat yourself to casual 4-star comfort, homely old Austrian tradition of hospitality, comfort and a touch of luxury alpine directly on the winter white lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Zell am See reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Zell Am See
Zell Am See Grand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Zell am See, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.