We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely skiing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Schmittenhohe

Schmittenhohe
Kitzbuhel Alps, Zell am See, Austria
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 13 things to do in Zell am See
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely skiing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Lots of easy and intermediate runs with fantasic views. Lift queues tend not to be too long. Fabulous place to go skiing and heading there Jan 14. Cannot wait!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    78
    14
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Walking the Schmittenhohe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

walked from the bottom in Zell to the top - approx 6500ft of accent - the views amazing. Had a bottle of champagne once we reached the top as thrilled with our acheivement!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Borders
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
“Top of the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

We had a great time on top of the Schmitten, the weather and views were fantastic. Spent most of the morning walking on the top then decided to walk down to Zell. About a three hour walk with some steep sections, legs knew all about it for the next few days. You can take the City Express lift which works its way about half way up giving the option of walking up or down.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great family day on the mountain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

We had a beautiful day on top of the mountain, nice temperatures, easy access to cable cars, and a pleasant walk on the mountain top. You can spend the day watching hand gliders. The food at the restaurant was decent .

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire England
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“My first Porsche”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

The first time I have ever had a ride in a Porsche...and it was a cable car, the Schmittenhöhebahn in Zell. Very new and very elegant. It's even slightly exciting, because it's so smooth that when it goes over the stanchions everyone really noticed the jolt. Well, trust a sports car maker to put some thrills into the experience. We chose this cable car for the ascent for two reasons.
Firstly, we had our car, and if you park at the Areitbahn and come down the Schmittenhöhebahn or the Sonnenalmbahn, you have a long walk or a bus trip back to find your car. If you use either of the latter two, they start at the same place, but diverge as they ascend, so you can walk from one to the other but still return to the same car park at the bottom. You can park there for free , assuming there is space, of course.
Secondly, the Schmittenhohebahn goes much higher, so, if you are lazy hikers, as we are. you can walk down to the Sonnenalmbahn, rather than make an ascent from it to the Schmittenhöhebahn
Note: free in summer if you are staying in Zell or Kaprun and have the summer card.
Once you reach the top the views are simply superb and there are well-signed walks of various length and difficulty. But apart, perhaps, from the Empress Sissi stroll, you need to carry/wear sensible walking kit - boots, waterproof etc etc. These are the Alps, however friendly on a summer's day. As others have noted, there is also paragliding and tandem paragliding on offer.
We set out, initially along the Erlebnis path which is designed for families and has lots to keep children amused (and, let's be honest, teach the rest of us about the flora and fauna of the region). There is even a human-sized model of a marmot and a dragonfly... Our path descended, zigzagging, and took us through woodland, eventually bringing us down to the upper station of the Sonnenalmbahn where there was a lovely cafe with a view.
During the descent I spotted a blue lupin and was amazed to see this solitary plant growing at over 1000m altitude. I hadn't realise there was an alpine species of this plant, but then we turned a corner in the path, and there was a whole field of lupins. Common as daisies in an English lawn.
Having reached the Sonnenalm, we enjoyed a coffee and then took the cable car down. It really is a pleasant walk for the able bodied. There is a handly website with plenty of details. This is the link to the English version
http://www.schmitten.at/en.html

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schmittenhohe also viewed

Zell am See, Salzburg Region
Zell am See, Salzburg Region
 
Zell am See, Salzburg Region
Zell am See, Salzburg Region
 

Been to Schmittenhohe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schmittenhohe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.