We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Romantik Hotel Zell am See

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Romantik Hotel Zell am See to your Saves list
Romantik Hotel Zell am See
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sebastian Horl Strasse 11, Zell am See 5700, Austria   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 45 Hotels in Zell am See
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Winchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Highly recommended.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

We stayed here and got married here. The hotel and Sabine could not have been more welcoming and helpful during our stay. The hotel is typical Alpine Austrian, all wood giving off a very warm and cosy feel. Sitting around the large fire after skiing with our friends was great. We saw all the room type when we viewed the hotel and all were good. The spa and pool area are very nice and the food was also very good. Try the Salzberger Knockle. We will definitely return here, may be for a summer stay this time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiwiZell, Leiter Front Office at Romantik Hotel Zell am See, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your Feedback!

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed wedding with us!
We wish you all the best for your future together and we are looking Forward to welcome you back in summer! Also the summer is beautiful for a Holiday in Zell am See!

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

Yours Family Hörl and stafff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    49
    13
    5
    4
See reviews for
37
128
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed here (room 106) from 18th to 25th September and haven't got one bad thing to say about it. All staff were friendly and helpful, our room was spacious with loads of storage. The bed was very comfortable, there was also a sofa, chair and table in the room with a balcony to chill out for an hour before dinner.
Great selection for breakfast and you could also make your own packed lunch. What can I say about dinner apart from the fact that a couple of times we felt we needed to be rolled out, there were that many courses. The food was top quality.
The Zell Am See card is also a brilliant bonus, with free access to cable cars and many attractions in the area, plus reduced bus fares too.
We had such a great holiday here and would happily return to Zell Am See and this hotel would be our first choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiwiZell, Leiter Front Office at Romantik Hotel Zell am See, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Sandra!

Thank you very much for your great Feedback!

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Zell am See - Kaprun!

We are looking Forward to welcome you back in future.

With kindest regards Family Hörl and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north of manchester
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Just returned from this hotel.28/9/13.The food and spa where fine,but to say this is classed as a crystal finest hotel,the room we where allocated,was by no means the finest.The only thing to see through the window was the roof of the hotels kitchen,storage space was very limited,and the room was very small.It seems there are some decent rooms in this hotel,but it's pot luck who gets them,unless you are willing to pay a large suppliment.

Room Tip: Avoid room 408!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiwiZell, Leiter Front Office at Romantik Hotel Zell am See, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Hello from Austria!

Thank you very much for your Feedback. It is very helpful for us because only when we know this things we can make it better!

We are looking forward to welcome you back in future.

With best regards Family Hörl and staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Andrews
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Just back from a week in this wonderful hotel, couldn't fault it. We had a large comfortable room with balcony. Staff were excellent in every way, meals were superb, lots of choices, one being to have a smaller portion, which I did, as we generally had five courses. I can thoroughly recommend the pool and spa, had a wonderful hot stone massage, best I've ever had. Hotel provides a Zell am See visitors card, the savings with this card are very worthwhile, giving free gondola passes, lake trips and much more.
Can definitely recommend this lovely hotel, and will definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiwiZell, Leiter Front Office at Romantik Hotel Zell am See, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your great reponse!
It is so nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Zell am See and in the Romantikhotel!

We are very happy to welcome you back!

With all the best regards yours Family Hörl and staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed here to celebrate our Ruby Wedding anniversary and we were very pleased with the way we were looked after. Our room was spacious and we had a paved and grassed area terrace. This was perfect to enjoy breakfast on our special day; the most enormous breakfast I'm surprised the waiter could manage the tray. All meals at the hotel were excellent with a choice of three options. There were five or six courses but all just the right size portions not to feel overwhelmed.
The hotel gardens were very pretty to relax and there were outdoor and indoor pools. The spa area was also aimed at couples again with a romantic feel.
The only negative with the hotel was the dining room was small and very warm. Windows were only opened once when we were there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiwiZell, Leiter Front Office at Romantik Hotel Zell am See, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your great Feedback!

We try to do always our best to make the wedding anniversary special for our guests!
It is really nice to hear that you enjoyed your Ruby anniversary in the Romantikhotel Zell am See
and everything was fine for you!

We are sorry that you are not so happy with the restaurant. We are looking forward to welcome you back for your next anniversary and we like to do our best for a other table in the restaurant that you feel more comfortable!

All the best wishes from Zell am See
Family Hörl and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Have just returned from a week in this excellent hotel. The rooms were comfortable and as we had a mini-suite lots of space. The staff at reception were very friendly and very helpful with information on train and bus timetables and local events. The meals we had in the hotel were very good and plenty of choice for buffet breakfast. Have been to Austria many times but really found this hotel to be excellent in all respects and hope to return again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiwiZell, Leiter Front Office at Romantik Hotel Zell am See, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Jenny!

Thank you very much for your great response - we are very thankful for your Feedback!

We are very happy to hear that you feel comfortable in the Romantikhotel!

Looking forward to welcome you back in Zell am See
and all the best wishes!

Family Hörl and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed, a family of six, in two rooms. One was a suite. The other was a room but had a separate sitting area. It's not a typical hotel. It's more like a family run guest house. Everything was fine but without the luxury. Front desk helpful. Breakfast was very good. Location is a street away from the lake. The Zell am see card that came with the booking turned out to be very important if you plan to go on trips around zell am see and kaprun. (Big saver $$). It's close to a solid 3 star hotel. Our toilet was giving bad smell. In general our stay was good.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FiwiZell, Leiter Front Office at Romantik Hotel Zell am See, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear guest!

Thank you for your response! It is good to hear that you are happy with your rooms but we are very sorry that you have a bad smell in your toilet, now in the season break we will check this in all our rooms - sorry for that!

We are looking forward to welcome you back in future!

With kindest regards Family Hörl and staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Romantik Hotel Zell am See? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romantik Hotel Zell am See

Address: Sebastian Horl Strasse 11, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 45 Hotels in Zell am See
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Romantik Hotel Zell am See 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the very centre of the small mountain village of Zell am See, you will find the Romantikhotel Zell am See lying in an oasis of tranquillity. Just a few steps away from Zell's lively centre, you can find relaxation and tranquillity in the rose garden, or in the romantic garden by the pool.Escape from the humdrum of everyday life and get into the holiday mood. The location of the hotel is ideal in both summer and winter alike. The hotel is only a couple of minutes from the lake and the hiking region, and only a 7 minute walk from the ski bus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Romantik Hotel Zell am See reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Romantik Hotel Zell am See, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.