We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picturesque on the outside with a warm welcome inside!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pension Alpenrose

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Zell am See
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pension Alpenrose
Save
You added Pension Alpenrose to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Schmittenstrasse 22 | 5700 Zell Am See, Zell am See A- 5700, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 56 Zell am See B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Picturesque on the outside with a warm welcome inside!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

Pension Alpenrose with its chalet style and wonderful flower boxes looks welcoming and is!
It is a typical family run Austrian Pension with good value accomodation. even in a single room there was all the things I need and even a small balcony to sit on and enjoy views ofteh mountains.
The breakfast buffet is excellent and sets you up nicely for a day of walking in the surrounding mountains or by the lake.
The host Anni Guber is very friendly and helpful and speaks good english.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    17
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
25
30
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

We spent 2 nights at Pension Alpenrose.

Anna Gruber is a pleasant and friendly person who speaks good English and was very helpful to us in settling us in and guiding us around town and neigbouring attractions.

Good location - walking distance from city centre.

The breakfast spread was good.

We enjoyed our stay and would recommend this B&B to anyone visiting Zell Am See.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2010

Very friendly, great location for ski bus and lifts, super breakfast, good price

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2009

The Pension Alpenrose is a nice B&B just 2 blocks from the pedestrian zone and just another few minutes walk to the lake. We were greeted by Mrs. Gruber (who doesn’t speak English) and we’re given the keys to a small room with a very small balcony. I have to say we’ve never seen a bathroom this tiny, but it was good enough for us. The furnishing is a bit sparse but we had everything we needed. What was a very pleasant surprise was breakfast... an excellent buffet with just about everything one could want, from eggs, rolls, breads, jams, cheeses, cold cuts, cereals, etc., etc. Excellent! The Alpenrose is a bit "rustic" (but charming) in atmosphere and for 62 Euros per night, we found it to be a terrific value. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pension Alpenrose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Alpenrose

Address: Schmittenstrasse 22 | 5700 Zell Am See, Zell am See A- 5700, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Zell am See
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension Alpenrose 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pension AlpenroseOur friendly family run Pension is located in a quiet central location just a few minutes walk from the centre of the beautiful old town and the lake. Forest and mountain walking trails start in close proximity to our house. Also the ski lift, City Xpress and the ski slopes can be reached in a few moments. A free car park is available at the Pension. We offer beautiful non smoking rooms, finished in natural wood, with a cozy atmosphere. All but a few rooms are fully en-suite and all are equipped with flat screen digital cable TV with over 100 channels, telephone, radio and hairdryer. Most rooms also have a balcony. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pension Alpenrose Hotel Zell Am See

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pension Alpenrose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.