We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great place in a beautiful town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gaestehaus Haffner

Gaestehaus Haffner
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Gaestehaus Haffner to your Saves list
Gaestehaus Haffner
Schmittenstrasse 29, Zell am See 5700, Austria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 56 Zell am See B&B and Inns
Washington DC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“a great place in a beautiful town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

We loved Zell am See, and the Haffner B&B was wonderful. It's in a nice location, walkable to the town but up on a quieter street. The owners were lovely. The breakfast was wonderful --a great selection of meats, cheeses, fruit, yogurt, poached eggs, pates, etc. The room was nice, with a nice balcony and a larger bed than in most European rooms.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

We had a lovely stay at this guesthouse. The owners are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good - fresh tasty food and lots of choice. Karl Haffner is a joiner and our room had lovely handmade wooden furniture in it. Our room had a small balcony from which we could see the lake (just about!). The guesthouse is a short walk from the centre of the town and not too far from the cable car stations. Overall it is great value for money.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

We stayed for 1 week and were made to feel very welcome by Karl Haffner and his wife. Lovely chalet, with traditional rooms. Kettle and TV in the rooms. All very clean. Great breakfast with a good choice of fresh food. Very filling. About 5-10 minutes walk from the town centre and bus terminal. On the bus route to the main Schmittenhohe lift and within walking distance of City Xpress lift. On the day we left we very given chocolates by the Haffner family as a gift. Would recommend staying here. There are quite a few steps so worth thinking about is you struggle on stairs.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shadowpuss
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2010

We have just returned from a trip to Zell am See, staying at Gaestehaus Haffner. I would recommend this B&B to anyone. The rooms were clean and very comfortable and, although we had shared bathroom facilities, we had no issues with this at all - there was no wait for either the toilet or shower, and the facilities were impeccable. The Gaestehaus is very centrally located, literally only 2 mins walk to the cityxpress gondola, and near plenty of shops/restaurants/pubs. The staff at the Gaestehaus were absolutely fantastic. They were friendly, helpful and very welcoming, and made us feel very much at home.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gaestehaus Haffner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaestehaus Haffner

Address: Schmittenstrasse 29, Zell am See 5700, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Zell am See
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Zell am See
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer rooms with breakfast or apartments for self-sufficiency. Location:to the center of Zell am See about 5 minutes, to city-Xpress 3 minutes to walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Gaestehaus Haffner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaestehaus Haffner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.