We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Restaurant in Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kupferkessel

Kupferkessel
Brucker Bundesstrasse 18, Zell am See 5700, Austria
+43 6542 72768
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 48 Restaurants in Zell am See
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Los Angeles, California, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant in Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

You have to try the Escargots there, even if you never had them, the way they make it is delicious, and you're out of town anyways, so Try it :) , then their bathroom adds some comedy to the place, at least in the men's bathroom. you have to see it, specially if you had a few drinks :)

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    40
    8
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Used this restaurant twice while in Zell as very handy for accommodation, especially in a thunder storm. Food was good and service fast and friendly. They also did carry out food to take to our ill daughter.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zell am See, Austria
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Kupferkessel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Really good food with a lot of choice. Fresh and cooked well. Local and International dishes. Friendly efficient staff.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great steaks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We have been to the Kupferkessel quite a few times now, mainly as always open (many hotels and restaurants close at quiet times of the year) and very close to the railway station. We have had steaks a couple of times and they have always been lovely. We tried pizza last time and too soggy for our liking but it was very busy. Don't order the big sized Weiner Schnitzel as the normal one is already huge - very nice though.
In peak times would recommend booking table as can be extremely popular so might otherwise have to wait quite a while

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“Great (huge) food and atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Kupferkessel was recommended by our apartment agent and we ate there 4 evenings during the week. I can't compare it with others in the town because it was the only one we tried, but there was plenty of choice, massive portions and excellent friendly service. They also have English menus to help you choose. The interior decor is quirky to say the least, with items set in glass panels in the floor, table legs poking through the ceiling, various motoring and biking memorabilia, etc. the toilets are modern and clean.
In short, if you want good food and plenty of it, try Kupferkessel. It's on the main road on the right as you head towards Kaprun.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kupferkessel also viewed

Zell am See, Salzburg Region
Zell am See, Salzburg Region
 
Zell am See, Salzburg Region
Zell am See, Salzburg Region
 

Been to Kupferkessel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kupferkessel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.